Review + Book Tour: Groupie

Welcome to the Groupie Book Tour, hosted by Xpresso Book Tours!~

Title: Groupie [Rock-Hard Beautiful #1]
Author: C.M. Stunich
Genre: New Adult Romance
Publication Date: March 21, 2017
GoodReads

Synopsis:

“Can one of these five rockstars fill the hole in my heart? Or will I stay broken forever?”

Young, dumb, and broke.

That’s what started everything. With five dollars in her pocket, and everything she owns stuffed in the back of her car, Lilith Goode’s life is over. Done. Destroyed.

Ten words. One text. That’s what it took to change the whole world.

A crumpled concert ticket. A chance encounter. That’s what it takes to start all over again.

Five rockstars. One girl. Six dark hearts, six withered souls.

But can one broken person really put another back together again?

Buy Links:
Amazon | Barnes & NobleiBooks | Kobo

Review:

First off, I should really start looking at the GoodReads synopsis too, ’cause it tells a VERY different story than the one here. This book is erotica, and I don’t know why I didn’t expect what I got based on the one given up there ^, but I didn’t… ’cause like “put another back together” usually indicates one person. No, she tries to fix all five.

Second, I really didn’t like the first half of this book. Lilith leads a sad life, as does every person in this band she encounters, and so they connect. But I mean, she does the didly-doo in the first 50 pages with like four guys, and it’s just like girl, what. And then she starts being sad again. LIKE ???

I mean, this girl’s world is crashing down, but it’s all seemingly fixed through sex – and it just baffles me. Sorry friends, but sex is definitely not the answer to your life problems.

However, I do love a book that has good character development, and I really saw that throughout the book – not really with Lilith to be honest (maybe that comes in the next book, I don’t know, but there wasn’t much here). I was really interested in the boys and I wish there was more focus on them (and Lilith) than all the sex. There’s a lot of heartbreak in each of their lives, and I feel like this book was really just skimming the surface of it all.

I liked that each boy had his own personality. I wouldn’t say there was much depth to them, but their habits made me curious about their lives, what got them there, what “messed” them up. I got a few answers, but it wasn’t satisfying enough. But I enjoyed reading about them and about their banter because their characters brought colour to the mess that was Lilith.

Lilith though was weird. Like I’ve lost family members before, but this girl is hella bipolar with her grief and it was simultaneously weird and annoying?? Like she’s screw everyone and then just be like wow, my grief busted open my lustful side! And then ten minutes later she’ll be curled up in a ball just like my dad is dead… -sobs-. LIKE okay… Aside from this though, Lilith was a strong, yet comforting female character, and her love for the band and the band’s love for her was healing in a way.

Last random fact – I found a few typos in this book, so I kind of wish it was given an extra edit or two.

As a whole, this book was way out of my comfort zone, but I think the characters made it for me – they really brought colour to the book (even if it was just dark colours).

Plot: 2.5/5
Characters: 4/5
World Buiding: 4/5
Writing: 3.5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 3.5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.3/5

eBook obtained via Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Buy Links:
Amazon | Barnes & NobleiBooks | Kobo

About the Author:

C.M. Stunich is a self-admitted bibliophile with a love for exotic teas and a whole host of characters who live full time inside the strange, swirling vortex of her thoughts. Some folks might call this crazy, but Caitlin Morgan doesn’t mind – especially considering she has to write biographies in the third person. Oh, and half the host of characters in her head are searing hot bad boys with dirty mouths and skillful hands (among other things). If being crazy means hanging out with them everyday, C.M. has decided to have herself committed.

She hates tapioca pudding, loves to binge on cheesy horror movies, and is a slave to many cats. When she’s not vacuuming fur off of her couch, C.M. can be found with her nose buried in a book or her eyes glued to a computer screen. She’s the author of over thirty novels – romance, new adult, fantasy, and young adult included. Please, come and join her inside her crazy. There’s a heck of a lot to do there.

Oh, and Caitlin loves to chat (incessantly), so feel free to e-mail her, send her a Facebook message, or put up smoke signals. She’s already looking forward to it.

Author Links:
Facebook | Twitter | Website | GoodReads

Giveaway:

Tour-wide giveaway | Open internationally | Ends June 1st

Enter to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card + a signed copy of Groupie.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,022 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    School is getting busy so no more exploring for me! I'll probably run around more later in the term, but for now it's time to hit the books!
-
QOTD: Which city has been your favourite to travel to?
-
Mine would be Stratford, haha, I'm having a blast here (despite the school aspect).
-
Postcard by @nerdy.post
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #openbook #art #handwritten #handlettering #postcard #illustration #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #gameofthrones #nerdypostbox I borrowed a camera from school and I have to say it's a vast improvement over my poor little phone.
-
QOTD: Plan's for the weekend?
-
I'll be reading my textbooks all weekend, so nothing fun for me 😅 I guess this is what happens when you fall behind in school...
-
Bookmark and cards by @nerdyaddictionshop
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #thecrownsgame #thecrownsfate #series #illume #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #openbook #bookmark This gazebo is beautiful 😍 I saw two wedding parties taking pictures as I walked past it haha so I guess they agree with me!
-
Bookmark by @littleinklingsdesign
---
#bookstagram #books #bookmark #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #explorestratford #stratford #shakespearegarden #garden
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
