Review: Breakaway

22400517

Title: Breakaway
Author: Kat Spears
Publication Date: September 15, 2015
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
GoodReads

Synopsis:

When Jason Marshall’s younger sister passes away, he knows he can count on his three best friends and soccer teammates—Mario, Jordie, and Chick—to be there for him. With a grief-crippled mother and a father who’s not in the picture, he needs them more than ever. But when Mario starts hanging out with a rough group of friends and Jordie finally lands the girl of his dreams, Jason is left to fend for himself while maintaining a strained relationship with troubled and quiet Chick. Then Jason meets Raine, a girl he thinks is out of his league but who sees him for everything he wants to be, and he finds himself pulled between building a healthy and stable relationship with a girl he might be falling in love with, grieving for his sister, and trying to hold onto the friendships he has always relied on.

This book was a surprise. I’m one of those “judge a book by their cover” type people. I did not expect this book to be as intense or as heartbreaking as it was, based on this cover. Honestly, I kind of wish they would change it a little, simply because I can’t see any of the guys I know, or knew, reading this in public. They probably wouldn’t even pick it up to see what it’s about, let alone purchase it and read it, even though this is a book that needs to be read.

When I first cracked the covers, I didn’t like it. The language at the beginning tried a little too hard to be “gangster” or “slang” filled, and it didn’t work well for me. It gave me the impression that the book would be a mission to read. I didn’t give up though, since I’m stubborn like that, and kept going. As the book went on, you could really see the characters starting to open up and reveal themselves to you.

The main character, Jason, really grows up throughout the novel. He starts out hating everything – the people at school who are “mourning” over his sister, his mother’s withdrawal, this one girl who thinks hooking up is the same as mourning – and it drives his character throughout the first bit of the book. As he slowly gets over his loss, he turns his thoughts to other things – his friends, a girl who’s caught his eye, his mother’s health, his need to distract himself.

While there is romance in this book, there’s also pain and loss, friendship and family, obligation and want. Even though there wasn’t really a climax in this novel, or any revelation that changes the world and the school, and how I look at the world, it was a wonderful read. It was just life, the nitty gritty parts of reality that we often forget about, or wish that we could forget about. It shows us that it’s the little things that change who we are and how we see one another and ourselves. This book is slow to develop, but once it starts the experience is 100% worth it. Honestly, I had no clue what I was getting myself into when I read this novel, but I loved it, and I think that people should give it a shot.

Plot: 4.5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 4/5
Writing: 5/5
Cover: 3/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.92/5

eARC obtained via St. Martin’s Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,029 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    Hiya @nerdyaddictionshop ! My name is Alicia and I'm from Canada 🍁 First off, I want to say how much I love your shop! I fell in love with your work from your It's the Nerdy Life box and I've been loving your new line of watercolour bookmarks. They're so unique and beautiful 😍 I have a slight obsession with your new designs so I'd love to rep them for you and help you share your beautiful art with the world!
.
As for posting, now that I'm done with my job and am back in school, I'll be posting everyday! Throughout the fall months I want to go and explore the city I'm now calling home and I would love to take your bookmarks with me (thus the inclusion of the image staring Five Ways to Fall). It would be a weekly endeavour where I'd walk around town and capture something that I love, with a book and your bookmark (or your bookmark alone). Further, I'll be taking photos similar to the others featured here and would be willing to promote only your bookmarks during the time I'm rep. I feel like my feed matches your bookmark aesthetic. I love vibrant colours and the most I adjust my photos is using sharpening and changing lighting. With the myriad of colours you use, I think your bookmarks would pop on my feed 😄 Lastly, I'm happy to host giveaways and post about sales on my feed, as well as my blog, Twitter, and Facebook page. My Instagram feed also shows up on my blog's homepage!
.
As Taheri Mafi is expanding her Shatter Me series, I would love to see bookmarks with quotes from her series, as well as symbolic representations of each character's ability (ex. A symbol of healing for the twins, or of invisibility for Kenji). I think your watercolour art would be a beautiful backdrop for these or can be incorporated within the designs themselves. I'd love to see your take on this series (it's one of my favourites 😜)
.
Thanks again for the wonderful opportunity and good luck to everyone who has entered!
.
Thanks all for reading! Wish me luck friends 😄🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #repsearch #nafall2017reps #nerdyaddiction #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan Good morning and happy Friday! I will be MIA the next few days as I pack and move out to school. I'm excited to get started with my program, but I'm also worried I won't have enough time to finish packing everything before Sunday 😅 I'll be back next week! Thanks for all the love 😘 Have a good weekend!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #orange #yellow #starwars #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog This is something I struggle with on a daily basis. What should I attribute value to? What should I invest my time and money in? I guess it's just the thoughts of a recent grad floating around me, but investments in the future are becoming more and more important to me and I'm at a loss. All I know is that I will always invest money and time into my book collection 😅
-
QOTD: Looking to the future, what are some of your greatest fears?
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookishrainbow #bookishheart #bookspines #bookstack #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #worldliness
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
