Tour and Interview: Raven

RavenTourBanner

Welcome to the Raven Book Tour, hosted by Xpresso Book Tours !~

RavenTitle: Raven [The Legends Saga #2]
Author: Stacey Rourke
Publication Date: May 26, 2014
Genre: New Adult, Paranormal
GoodReads

Synopsis:

An infamous love, destined nevermore,
For death could not claim, the enchanting Lenore.

Cursed by the malevolent spirit of the Headless Horseman, Ireland Crane ventures to Manhattan in search of a way to break her soul crushing bond. Instead, she discovers the lines between fact and fiction are blurring once more. Croaking ravens. Telltale hearts. Could the works of Poe be coming to pass with handsome Wall Street Midas Ridley Peolte as their unwilling target?

She walks the Earth, a plague on mankind,
searching for he, her rotted heart doth pine.

Together, the two unknowingly release a dark force death itself could not tame. Surrounded by the unrelenting violence and mayhem they’ve unleashed, Ireland feels her control over the Horseman slipping. Before the beast within consumes her, she and her crew must follow the clues of the dead to right a centuries’ old wrong. Will it be enough to sate the Horseman’s appetite?

Hell hath no fury like a ghoul scorned.

Buy Link for Raven [#2]:
Amazon

Buy Link for Crane [#1]:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Interview:

I am SUPER excited introduce all of you to Stacey Rourke! Stacey Rourke is the author of the Gryphon Series and is now back, and here, to talk about her new series, The Legends Saga!

Hey, Stacey Rourke! Welcome to Between Printed Pages, we’re so happy to have you here today~

Thank you so much for having me here!

Before we start, could you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Gladly! I live in Michigan with my husband, two beautiful daughters, and two giant dogs. I love to travel, have an unhealthy shoe addiction, and consider myself blessed to make a career out of talking to the imaginary people that live in my head.

What inspired the story for The Legends Saga? Did you know you were going to write an entire series from the get-go?

My love of the classics inspired me! I have been obsessed with The Legend of Sleepy Hollow since childhood. The teenage years brought on my appreciation of Poe. Retellings are quite the craze right now and it was my honor to put a fresh spin on the amazing works of Irving, Poe, and the mystery author(s) that will appear in the final book. I’m also hoping that after reading my books people that may not be familiar with the classics may want to check them out! As to the series element, when I started Crane I contemplated making it a standalone, but I enjoyed it so much it demanded to be part of a series. Who was I to argue?

Depending on the author, sequels are either harder or easier to write than the first book. How was writing Raven for you? And how was writing this book similar or different from writing Crane?

It was completely different and proved quite a challenge. For Raven I had to submerge myself in all things Poe; his life, his works, his madness. Needless to say it was a ghoulish—and incredibly twisted—endeavor. Be that as it may, I enjoyed the entire process and am very proud of the end result—even if it is darker than any of my other books!

What was the publishing process like for this series? Any advice for aspiring writers and others who are trying to get their work published?

I publish all my works through Anchor Group Publishing, a small press. The crew there handles cover creation, editing, and formatting and ensure each of my book babies put their best foot forward. For aspiring authors I stress the importance of all those elements! Ask yourself, if I found this book on a shelf would I pick it up? If the answer is no, make the needed changes. You need to grab readers from the first time they gaze at that cover and engage them with a quality blurb.

When new ideas strike in the middle of a WIP, how do you deal with it?

Sometimes as I’m writing, the story will veer off in a direction that surprises even me. I love those moments, because that’s when my characters seem the most “alive” to me! As long as it works with the plot, I roll with it!

For all the readers out there, could you name the top three books you think everyone should take a chance on?

Crane and Raven- of course! LOL!

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion –I loved the movie, the book was even better. A zombie in love. How can you go wrong with that?

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn-this book blew my mind. I could NOT put it down!

Aside from reading and writing, what do you do in your free time? Any odd hobbies?

Odd hobbies? Is stalking pretty shoes on the Internet and ogling them in stores considered odd? Because I do both of those things—a lot.

 

My final question: What is your favourite word?

Persevere; it’s the only way to succeed in life.

 

Thank you so much, Stacey Rourke, for taking the time to answer our questions! Extremely excited to read Raven!

Thank you so much for having me! I hope you enjoy Raven!

Buy Link for Raven [#2]:
Amazon

Buy Link for Crane [#1]:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

About the Author:Stacey

RONE Award Winner for Best YA Paranormal Work of 2012 for Embrace, a Gryphon Series Novel
Young Adult and Teen Reader voted Author of the Year 2012
Turning Pages Magazine Winner for Best YA book of 2013 & Best Teen Book of 2013

Stacey Rourke lives in Michigan with her husband, two beautiful daughters, and two giant, dogs. She loves to travel, has an unhealthy shoe addiction  and considers herself blessed to make a career out of talking to the imaginary people that live in her head. Mark your calendars! Her latest literary adventure, Crane, will release May 26, 2014. She is currently hard at work on the continuations of this thrilling Legends Saga, as well as other literary projects.

Website | GoodReads | Facebook | Twitter

Tour Wide Giveaway:

1st prize: US only
  • $25 Amazon gift card
  • A signed copy of Raven
  • Ebook copies of the books 1 & 2 of The Legends Saga
2nd prize – INTL
  • eBook copies of all six of Stacey Rourke’s books

ENTER HERE !~

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Great interview, ladies! I watched Warm Bodies but I haven’t read the book yet. I heard the book wasn’t as humoristic as the movie. And omg yes, Gone Girl is one book I will never forget! I still want to burn that book for the pissed off ending (though it was a perfect ending for the story). I can’t wait to see what they do with the movie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,036 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I seem to have abandoned this month's challenge. I cannot adult and bookstagram simultaneously. It doesn't work for me. Luckily, I'm going back to school in a month!
---
#bookstagram #books #summer #flowers #outside #buryingwater #katucker #newadult #currentlyreading #bookishlove #goodreads Happy weekend everyone!
-
Oh man, I'm so not used to using my brain - two months of rest has made me soft. I come home from work everyday dead tired. I'm just going to put it out there that I will be pretty MIA the next two months thanks to my short term job, so sorry in advance!
-
QOTD: What was the weirdest thing that happened to you this week?
-
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookrainbow #bookishrainbow #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd One of my favourite series as a kid. Rereading it with my younger brother has been fun. The Heaps are just as chaotic as I remember haha 😄
-
#lyricallybookishjuly : Day 11
Paranormal books
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #blue #green #childhood #middlegrade #favourite #currentlyreading #series #openbook #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #julybookstagramchallenge #julyphotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
