Review: Virgin

18624367

 

Title: Virgin
Author: Radhika Sanghani
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: August 5, 2014
GoodReads

Synopsis:

Okay, I admit it…I didn’t do it.

Yet.

This is normal, right?  I mean, just because everyone I know has talked like they’ve already done it doesn’t mean that they’re telling the truth…right?

It’s not like I’m asking for that much. I don’t need the perfect guy. I don’t need candlelight or roses. Honestly, I don’t even need a real bed.

The guys I know complain that girls are always looking for Mr. Right—do I have to wear a sign that says I’m only looking for Mr. Right Now?

Sooooo…anyone out there want sex? Anyone? Hello? Just for fun?

I am not going to die a virgin. One way or another I am going to make this happen.

Hey, what have I got to lose? Besides the obvious.

I can honestly say, I didn’t love this book. I never understood why some girls are obsessed with losing their virginity. Why did I read this then? I was told it would be entertaining and humourous. It wasn’t, really.

Let’s pause that for a moment and start with the main character. She does have a sharp tongue and I was relatively entertained, at the beginning, by her and her awkward escapades. The got old really fast. She screamed desperation and self-pity about a quarter way through the book, and that didn’t really stop until the last 10 pages. She was so determined to lose something, which really makes no difference when it comes to the real world, that she was willing to sacrifice her friends, her marks, and her own health for it. As a twenty year old virgin, I really didn’t see where this was even coming from. Yes, she wants to fit in with a certain circle of people, but it never occurs to her that there was nothing wrong with her, but maybe something wrong with the people she surrounded herself with. That being said, there is nothing wrong with hanging out with people who have sex, who are happy to show off their experience, but when it makes you feel bad about yourself, or lesser, then I think you need to start reevaluating the kind of friends you want, versus the ones you need.

She goes on and on about how everyone she knows has done the deed. Yay? I mean really, about 90% of my friends are still virgins, half of us have never even had our first kiss yet. Honestly? The fact that I didn’t love this book may also stem from the fact that I can’t really relate. People are going on and on about how yes girls talk about their sex lives, their waxing/shaving incidents, their blowjob nightmares. I don’t think I’ve ever done that with my friends because our lives just don’t revolve around that kind of thing. Was I entertained by her horror stories? No, I actually wasn’t. If anything, it makes me more fearful for when I encounter those situations. That so doesn’t help.

Something that I also didn’t understand was how she could be so naiive about things. Yes, I understand that she’s inexperienced, but she’s been at this since high school. You mean to tell me that she’s never encountered a book that talked about these kinds of things, or saw magazine articles that describe what the chicka is doing when she’s going down on someone? I can go to my local grocery store and point out at least 5 to 10 magazines that will tell you “How to Pleasure Your Man”. I mean she’s an English major for crying out loud, she should be able to find literature about this in so many places. I can understand knowing everything in theory and still screwing up, but I just can’t believe that someone so determined and interested in all this hasn’t utilized these resources that the pop-culture world has given us.

It also bothers me that the whole ending was cut off abruptly. This happens, that happens, there’s some vague acceptance and then she goes back on it by STILL worrying about people thinking she’s a virgin, and it’s just like you are not the centre of the freaking world. Honestly, no one cares. She treats her friends like trash, and SHE KNOWS SHE’S BEING JEALOUS AND ANNOYING. Trust me, I know how hard it is to cut that off, but really, maybe if you stopped being so self-deprecating and realize that if a guy wants your friends attention more than yours, you should probably move on to find someone who actually LIKES YOU, then you’d be a little happier with life.

The world will knock you down whether you want it to or not. Don’t just sit there and pity yourself in a corner crying about it ’cause no one can help you except you. Love yourself before you try to get other people to love you. If you are not happy in your skin then change it, get up and actively change your lifestyle to something that suits you, ’cause getting a guy honestly will not help you fully feel comfortable in your skin (if anything it can make you even more self-conscious and it sucks).

I thought that some of the little anecdotes were odd, quirky, and relatively entertaining, but at the end of the day, I just couldn’t relate to this book, and that has greatly affected my views of this novel. Overall, well written, relatively interesting, but also frustrating, as there was a vague revelation and a half-assed attempt at saying that this kind of behaviour can get you into some big problems. All in all, I was not impressed.

Plot: 2/5
Characters: 2.5/5
World Building: 4/5
Writing: 4/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 2.5/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.43/5

eARC provided by Penguin Group via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. jodiellewellyn

     /  September 5, 2014

    I enjoyed this one. I thought it was funny :) I gave it 3 stars.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Any Avatar fans out there? The blue people, not the benders.
-
What luck! We're at Animal Kingdom today and Pandora is doing a surprise soft opening! The rides are A M A Z I N G and the world is so beautiful 🌍 Just went on the Flight of Passage and it was so cool! I'm so happy right now 😄😄😄😄
-
Follow my story for more pics of Pandora!
---
#avatar #disney #pandora #animalkingdom #worldofavatar #vacation #disneyworld #flightofpassage #waltdisneyworld A long time ago in a galaxy far far away...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #starwars #series #trilogy #yoda #disney #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #epcot #missionspace Where fairytales are born 👑👠🎆
---
#disney #cinderellascastle #happilyeverafter #wishuponastar
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
