Guest Post: Alison Kemper

2014-debut-authors-bash-banner

Welcome to one of today’s stops for the 2014 Debut Authors Bash, hosted by YAReads!

I am EXTREMELY excited to introduce all of you to Alison Kemper! Alison Kemper debuted in March and she is here today to talk to us about her young adult novel Donna of the Dead and her favourite zombie movies!

25c960_1c7802487dd74323b6ad67ae4b9c9262.jpg_srz_p_242_385_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_

Title: Donna of the Dead
Author: Alison Kemper
Publication Date: March 4, 2014
Genre: Young Adult Dystopian Romance
GoodReads

Synopsis:

Donna Pierce might hear voices, but that doesn’t mean she’s crazy. Probably.

The voices do serve their purpose, though—whenever Donna hears them, she knows she’s in danger. So when they start yelling at the top of their proverbial lungs, it’s no surprise she and her best friend, Deke, end up narrowly escaping a zombie horde. Alone without their families, they take refuge at their high school with the super-helpful nerds, the bossy head cheerleader, and—best of all?—Liam, hottie extraordinaire and Donna’s long-time crush. When Liam is around, it’s easy to forget about the moaning zombies, her dad’s plight to reach them, and how weird Deke is suddenly acting toward her.

But as the teens’ numbers dwindle and their escape plans fall apart, Donna has to listen to the secrets those voices in her head have been hiding. It seems not all the zombies are shuffling idiots, and the half-undead aren’t really down with kids like Donna…

Zombies. I read about them, I write about them, and I’ll watch any movie that includes them. Here are my ten favorites, but I want to hear about yours! Leave a comment with the name of your favorite zombie film.

1. 28 Days Later

You’ll find a ton of online debates about how this isn’t a zombie movie because it’s about the Rage virus. In my opinion, zombies, but with a believable premise about how they got so fast. Best scene: in the tunnel, when teen girl Hannah (Megan Burns) has to change a flat tire while the zombies close in. All the adults are freaking out, but Hannah just concentrates on changing that tire. You go, Hannah.

2. Shaun of the Deadasd

I’ve always felt that if my friends and I were stuck in a zombie apocalypse, this is how we’d behave. We’d be ill-prepared, and do something stupid like try to hole up in a bar.

3. Zombieland

Jesse Eisenberg makes this movie. I tend to imagine an apocalypse survivor as a badass action hero, but in reality, it might be the neurotic kid who uses a lot of hand sanitizer and always wears his seatbelt. Best scene: Bill Murray pretending to be a zombie.

4. World War Z

There’s a lot of hate for this movie. People complain that it doesn’t have enough gore, doesn’t follow the book, ends too abruptly. All of this is true, but it still ranks up there as one of my favorites. Why? Intensity. There’s a few slow minutes at the start of the film, and then bam, non-stop action until the final moments. Best scene: the mountain of zombies scaling the wall in Israel.

dsa5. Warm Bodies

Zombies, romance, humor, Nicholas Hoult. *fans self*

6. I am Legend

You can go online and find lengthy debates about whether these are zombies or vampires. I won’t get into that here. Great pace, awesome acting, super scary monsters. The novella is totally different, but definitely worth a read.

7. Night of the Living Dead (original)s

The 1968 black and white Romero classic. Watch it late at night with the lights off.

8. Dawn of the Dead (2004 version)

There’s not a dull moment in this one. Even the end credits. Especially the end credits.

sd9. Night of the Comet

A fun, cheesy 80s movie about teens who survive the Zompocalypse by holing up in a mall. There’s a ton of campy humor and sweet romance.  This is certainly not one of the best zombie movies ever made, but it makes my top 10 for changing the way I thought about zombies—for making me realize they could be scary and hilarious at the same time. Best scene: Montage of teen girls’ shopping spree which is, of course, interrupted by zombies.

10. Cemetery Man (Dellamorte, Dellamore)

A strange Italian film in which Dellamorte (Rupert Evert) is the caretaker in a graveyard where the dead return after seven days. The second half of this film drifts into confusion, but the first half is so brilliant it has to go on my list. Best scene: Dellamorte falls for the beautiful young widow who hangs around the cemetery. They, er, consummate their relationship on her husband’s grave—who chooses that moment to return.

Now it’s your turn! What’s your favorite zombie movie?

Alison Kemper writes fun, nerdy romances set during the zombie apocalypse. Her first novel, DONNA OF THE DEAD (Entangled Teen), spent several weeks on the Kindle YA Humor bestseller list. DWIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD releases this September, followed by a third romantic comedy next year. Find her online at alisonkemper.com.

Author Links:
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Buy Link:
Amazon

Thank you Alison Kemper for your time!

Check out Donna of the Dead now, and get ready for Dwight of the Living Dead, out September 23, 2014!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for hosting me on your blog! I had a blast writing this post! :)

    Reply
  2. Yes to Bill Murray! That was my favorite scene too. And of course love Shaun of the Dead.

    Reply
  3. It’s not my favorite zombie movie (that honor goes to Shaun of the Dead), but I always feel the movie Fido deserves a mention. It’s weird and a little creepy, but ultimately quirky and has some sweet moments.

    Reply
  4. I’m not a huge zombie person, so I actually haven’t watched a single one of these movies. HBO is playing Warm Bodies this month, though, so maybe I’ll give it shot. MAYBE. Haha. Thanks for being on the Debut Authors Bash tour!!!

    Reply
    • Me too, to be honest, but it’s awesome learning about the movies people love! My pleasure, thanks for giving me the opportunity to be a part of it again :D

      Reply
  5. Angelica, the first 10 minutes of Fido are so brilliant! I *almost* put that one on my list! And Nichole, you should definitely give Warm Bodies a try. It’s heavy on sweet and funny, light on traditional zombie gore. And thanks for organizing the Debut Authors Bash!

    Reply
  6. I loved Warm Bodies! It was such a heart warming story :)

    Reply
  7. Johnd889

     /  September 15, 2014

    Because here is a list of multiplayer games is that the leave was asked dbgffdfafcdc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,024 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    When the weather is against you, and the lighting sucks...
-
So in love with this cover by the way. I need to put myself on a book ban. I don't have enough money for all these books... Either that or I need a job.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #thestrangecaseofthealchemistsdaughter #ebook #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #tea Check out this awesome giveaway by @thecaffeinatedbook #thecaffeinatedgiveaway 😄 I just dropped a puddle of water on this book, so here it is when it was still pretty 😫
-
Thanks everyone for entering my giveaway! It's closed now 😊 I'll tally up the entries and play the random number game. Good luck! 🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #theboneseason #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookstairs Two more days! Check out my original post for details!
---
#bookstagram #books #giveaway #bookishgiveaway #bookgiveaway #internationalgiveaway #withoutmerit #colleenhoover Our Dark Duet still remains on my TBR list. School makes reading for fun really hard...
-
QOTD: What's your favourite time of day?
AOTD: 7AM, though I'm rarely conscious at that time, when I am the world is so beautiful 🌅
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #ya #youngadult #dystopian #paranormal #ourdarkduet #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #thissavagesong #veschwab #victoriaschwab #reddoorstudio It's a gloomy day today, but I need to get stuff done. There's something about cold weather and fog that just makes me want to curl up in bed and never leave!
-
QOTD: What's your favourite bookstore?
AOTD: Mine is either Fanfare Books or BMV. I love Indigo too, but I enjoy supporting the smaller companies!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #asteptowardsfalling #cammiemcgovern #youngadult #ya #contemporaryromance #romance #contemporary #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #openbook I've never read anything by Samantha Young, but this cover strong armed me into buying the book 😋. I'm excited to get started! 📖📚
-
Also, happy Canadian Thanksgiving friends 😄🍁
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #playon #samanthayoung #candle #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookstairs #ebook #jojomoyes #rosamundhodge #nakedbooks #thanksgiving I'm excited for the next book in @coracarmack's Stormheart series! And this cover is so beautiful 😍😍
-
Less than a week left to enter my giveaway btw! Check my feed for the post!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #orange #rage #roar #stormheart #series #sequel #fall #giveaway #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #ebook I finished Passenger this weekend and I have to say that it surprised me. I enjoyed the adventure a lot and there was an interesting narrative concerning social structure and propriety in our current day and age and throughout history that really gave me something to think about. Excited to dive into Wayfarer now!
-
Overall rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
---
#bookstagram #books #read #colours #blue #passenger #alexandrabracken #hardcover #nakedbook #ya #youngadult #historicalfiction #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #openbook #bookstack
  • Twitterley-Do-Da

  • Facebook

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • Web
Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter
