Day 24: A Book That You Wish More People Would’ve Read

71366

 

Title: Inkheart [Inkworld #1]
Author: Cornelia Funke
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: September 23, 2003

Synopsis:

12 year-old Meggie lives with her father, Mortimer, a bookbinder. Mo never reads stories aloud to Meggie because he has a special gift: when he reads a book aloud, the characters come out of the book and into the real world.

One night, when Meggie was a small child, Mortimer was reading aloud from a book named Inkheart when an evil villain named Capricorn, his aide Basta, and a fire-eater named Dustfinger escape from the book and into their living room. At the same time, Mo’s wife Resa gets trapped within the book .

Twelve years later, Capricorn is on a hunt to find and destroy all copies of Inkheart and use Mo’s abilities to gain more power for himself in the real world. Meggie discovers her father’s secret and, along with the help of Dustfinger and Meggie’s eccentric aunt Elinor, fights to free her father and destroy Capricorn.

I really loved this book as a child. Unfortunately, now a days, kids are still reading Harry Potter, but when they’re at a book store, their gaze just drifts over this. Also, the movie adoption sucked, so I wish more people had read the book first and would read the book more often now. It’s an amazing high fantasy, where they characters are taken into the world of literature. Inspiring and beautiful, this book is actually one of my favourites.

Great, now I want to read it again just thinking about it -stares at the CN Tower sized to-read pile-

4 Comments

Filed under 30 Day Challenge [2014]

4 responses to “Day 24: A Book That You Wish More People Would’ve Read

  1. Inkheart was one of my favourite series when I was younger! I always wanted to be a Silvertongue and bring books to life/read myself into my favourite literary worlds. (:

    • That would be so cool, and yet, I feel, so messy LOL
      My favourite character was Dustfinger, though it’s been so long, I can’t remember why… x.x

  2. I liked it too. Creative and fun. Although I would classify it as a mid-grade novel. That’s where you’d find it in a library and bookstore.

Leave a Reply

