Day 18: An Author You Wish Was More Well-Known.

This is hard because most of the smaller authors I was tooting about last year are pretty darn big now. I’ll go with what I had before though, because I honestly can’t think of anyone else – though I do have one name to add.

Colleen Hoover

I still love her books. All of them. And yes, I have read all of them. Each of her series is unique and love how her characters come alive and the plot keeps you at the edge of your seat. And 90% of the time, it will feel wrong rooting for the main couple, but that’s what she wants, and I love how she just strings readers along for the ride of their life. Her newest book, Maybe Someday, and the book before that, Losing Hope, were two amazing books that I’d recommend everyone look into.

Tammara Webber

She’s been one of my favourite authors since I read her book Easy. However, she really captured my heart with her Between the Lines series. The four book series had some of the best character development ever. I loved the characters, the plots, the romances. It was a great series that really change my perspective of the NA genre, as these fictional actors/actresses, ages 21-24, grew in front of my eyes. With each book, each character got better and I love the series to bits.

Rainbow Rowell

I’ve only read one book by her, but I plan on reading many more in the future (I own them and everything, now I just have to read them). I really enjoyed how the characters in Fangirl were so real and so utterly relatable. I think that’s the part that got me. This girl, so similar to me, got her happy ending. It makes everything seem more attainable. What I also loved was the fact that the book hadn’t been centered on romance. Sure, there was some, but the novel stepped away from all the hot and heavy, romantic, sex-filled novels that seem to make up most of the NA genre. In fact, it’s so tame, it’s often considered YA, even though the characters have finished the whole high school thing and are in university. I liked that, for once, it didn’t seem like I was living my university life wrong.

I’m sure there are more authors out there who are absolutely amazing, but these were the first to come to mind. Other notable authors, who I haven’t really looked in to, aside from just reading one book by them, was Beth Pond (author of Podium Finish), Jacqueline Garlick (author of Lumieré), Kara Taylor (author of Prep School Confidential), and Mia Sheridan (author of Archer’s Voice).

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Day Challenge [2014]

Leave a Reply

