Day 11: Name Three Absolutely Awful Film Adaptations of Books.

Worst films this time, let’s go:

TMI-City_of_bones_poster

The Mortal Instruments – City of Bones: I love, love, LOVE the cast. I also like some of the things they added and took away between the movie and the book. However, I hate their slogan of sorts “You Have Been Chosen.” No one was chosen. She was born like that so don’t go doing the whole “chosen one” thing. Harry Potter expended that entire concept for this generation. We’re kind of done with the whole “chosen one” thing. In addition, this movie could have been directed/written better. I loved that they kept some of the lines for the movie and I loved the way certain scenes played out. However, a lot of the lines that they did keep from the books were placed awkwardly in various scenes that just didn’t sit well with me (the whole shirt ripping thing, then the dog/wolf line, and Magnus’ part just was awkward (and I know he can act ’cause Godfrey was awesome in Queen of SOP)) and don’t get me started with the whole sprinkler system thing. That was so cliche. I did like various scenes though (the Hotel Dumort sequence was well done) so it wasn’t all bad, but it could have been so much better.

MV5BMTg5NTc2MDEwN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTA5ODQ5MQ@@._V1_SY667_SX450_

Inkheart: This movie just sucked in my opinion. I watched it 5-6 years ago so I can’t remember exactly what sucked, but it REALLY sucked. The characters were nothing like that expected (I remember that much) and the Ink world wasn’t as developed as I would have hoped (I remember that much as well), but aside from that I can’t pick out anything that really drove me insane, I just know that when I finished watching it, I regretted buying it.

eragon_ver4_xlg

Eragon: As a stand alone movie this would have been a little bit better, but because it was, in fact, based on a book, it just didn’t meet expectations. Again, it’s been years since I watched it, but I just remember wishing there was more to it, especially development in both story/plot and character.

Again, this isn’t an exhaustive list, I also wasn’t particular to Twilight, Percy Jackson the Lightning Thief (if we’re comparing the book to the movie. As a stand alone, it would’ve been pretty good), as well as the Series of Unfortunate events. The real live people version of Cat and the Hat just did not do it for me (and the Cat was really creepy…). However, because I recently watched City of Bones, I just wanted to blow off some steam. Eragon and Inkheart, on the other hand, really did not meet my expectations as film adaptions of such intricate stories.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. LY

     /  April 16, 2014

    I don’t know if his part was so much awkward as it was just his character. Godfrey had like 5 lines in the movie, so maybe he didn’t really get to show his potential, whereas with Queen of SOP, he was practically the main character.

    Reply
    • Touché. Though the fact that he was in his underwear probably didn’t help. I don’t know, throughout the movies all the lines were a little bit forced and out of place.
      I really want to see his 2013 drama, but I haven’t gotten the time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Ah! It was so good! I love the little guy who kept grabbing all the shiny things. I think it might be my spirit animal haha!
----
#fantasticbeasts #movie #harrypotter #fantasticbeastsandwheretofindthem #ticket I went out to support my friend at her fourth year Fine Arts exhibition today! The art was beautiful and I couldn't resist purchasing the catalogue containing all of their artist statements and pieces!
-
Check out her work @shairyourstory!
---
#uwaterloolife #uwaterlooarts #ignite #finearts #leaves #catalog #nailart #bookstagram #books #foilprint I've never actually lit a candle for fear of setting the house on fire. So my roommate lit this one.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #flowers #openbook #paper #candle #bookstagrammer #ballsy #scaredycat
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
