Day 8: Your Favourite Quotes from Books

There are a fair amount of these, so here goes nothing (many of ’em are from the same books/series/authors, so bear with me).

1. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Words, I think, are such unpredictable creatures.

No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence. Swords may cut and kill, but words will stab and stay, burying themselves in our bones to become corpses we carry into the future, all the time digging and failing to rip their skeletons from our flesh.

2. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

And we are quotation marks, inverted and upside down, clinging to one another at the end of this life sentence. Trapped by lives we did not choose.

3. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Nothing in this life will ever make sense to me but I can’t help but try to collect the change and hope it’s enough to pay for our mistakes.

4. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

“. . .sometimes one feels freer speaking to a stranger than to people one knows. Why is that?”
“Probably because a stranger sees us the way we are, not as he wishes to think we are.”

5. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

“Every book, every volume you see here, has a soul. The soul of the person who wrote it and of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it. Every time a book changes hands, every time someone runs his eyes down its pages, its spirit grows and strengthens.”

6. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

“Tell me where the girl is, and I’ll go and find her.”
“I don’t know where she is.”
“I’m going to have to ask you to be more specific.”

5. Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

“I know how devastated you must be to miss me, but leave a message, and I’ll try to ease your agony.”

6. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

“I’m not going to wear a red dress,” she said.
“It would look stunning, My Lady,” she called.
She spoke to the bubbles gathered on the surface of the water. “If there’s anyone I wish to stun at dinner, I’ll hit him in the face.”

7. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

What a slut time is. She screws everybody.

8. The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket

“If you are allergic to a thing, it is best not to put that thing in your mouth, particularly if the thing is cats.”

9. Slammed by Colleen Hoover

“There are three questions every woman should be able to answer yes to before they commit to a man. If you answer no to any of the three questions, run like hell.”
[…]
“Does he treat you with respect at all times? That’s the first question. The second question is, if he is the exact same person twenty years from now that he is today, would you still want to marry him? And finally, does he inspire to be a better person? You find someone you can answer yes to all three, then you’ve found a good man.”

10. Slammed by Colleen Hoover

“I’ve never regretted it. Questioned it? Sure. But never regretted.”

“Is there a difference?” I ask.

“Absolutely. Regret is counterproductive. It’s looking back on a past that you can’t change. Questioning things as they occur can prevent regret in the future. I questioned a lot about my relationship with your father. People make spontaneous decisions based off of their hearts all the time. There’s so much more to relationships than just love.”

11. The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

“With great power… comes great need to take a nap. Wake me up later.”

I was going to stop at 10, but I really wanted to put in that last one. I have a bajillion more (I honestly have stick notes sticking out of half of my books marking quotes I liked), but I really have to start my report research.. See y’all Wednesday ~

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Day Challenge [2014]

Leave a Reply

