Review: Day One

17286760

Title: Day One
Author: Nate Kenyon
Release Date: October 1, 2013
Genre: Dystopian, Suspense

Synopsis:

Cloverfield  meets The Terminator  in this story of one man’s escape from New York City as technology becomes sentient

Scandal-plagued hacker journalist John Hawke is hot on the trail of the explosive story that might save his career. James Weller, the former CEO of giant technology company Eclipse, has founded a new start-up, and he’s agreed to let Hawke do a profile on him. Hawke knows something very big is in the works at Eclipse—and he wants to use the profile as a foot in the door to find out more.

After he arrives in Weller’s office in New York City, a seemingly normal day quickly turns into a nightmare as anything with an Internet connection begins to malfunction. Hawke receives a call from his frantic wife just before the phones go dead. Soon he and a small band of survivors are struggling for their very lives as they find themselves thrust into the middle of a war zone—with no obvious enemy in sight.

The bridges and tunnels have been destroyed. New York City is under attack from a deadly and brilliant enemy that can be anywhere and can occupy anything with a computer chip. Somehow Hawke must find a way back to his pregnant wife and young son. Their lives depend upon it . . . and so does the rest of the human race.

This review is a tad bit late, but better late than never.

I was not expecting what happened in this book. I thought maybe some dystopian world, the buildings fall and anarchy begins. If anything, it’d be kind of like The Day After Tomorrow. But the entire book spans over one day. While that should have been expected, given the title, I was shocked that so much could happen in a day, and yet it’s also done so realistically, it seem plausible that such a turn could occur in the span of 24 hours or less. It was extremely well done, freakishly realistic, and an eye opener to what can happen when technology gets a little too advanced.

Day One was extremely creepy at times. This one scene had me at the edge of my seat screaming, “NO DON’T GO IN THERE!” But they did. And they regretted it. The creepy and the freaky parts were all so realistically done that it fascinated me and had me shaking my head in horror at the same time. I have to say, once the story got started it was a page turner that I couldn’t get enough, until the end (but that’s ’cause the book ended). The description and execution of this story was written and orchestrated extremely well.

Earlier, I said “once the story got started.” It wasn’t that the beginning was slow (though it kind of was) it was the fact that I didn’t really know where everything was going. Character history blurbs that go on for pages get me down, especially when they’re placed at the beginning of the book. I understand that it  worked with what happened later but I would have preferred if we had gotten a little more minute to minute stuff over the info overload we got instead. Aside from that, I thoroughly enjoyed the novel and how detailed it was about everything. Throughout the meaty part of the novel, it was the details that really made a difference in what happened later.

I honestly enjoyed the characters and each of their individual personalities, faults and all. Admittedly, some of the people kind of, really sucked, but aside from that they kept the story interesting, as each character was unique and brought different information to the table, and very different attributes and values. Each of their voices made them memorable and if I were to ever forget their names, I’ll always remember the facts that defined them because they were revealed at such groundbreaking moments that really hit hard. Their team work (and lack there of) throughout the book really illustrated the conflict between staying together or maintaining the “every man for himself” attitude. The characters definitely made the book.

Overall, this book surprised me. It was creepy in ways I could have never imagined and I enjoyed (almost) every second of it. Extremely well written, Kenyon realistically illustrates the downfall of the world based on our dependence in technology. It’s a scary future, ladies and gents, and a darn good story.

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 4.5/5
Writing: 5/5
Cover: 4/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.44/5

eARC provided by St. Martin’s Press, Minotaur Books, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Scott Sewell

     /  January 3, 2014

    very helpful review i will get it thanks for the time put into your review

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,029 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    Hiya @nerdyaddictionshop ! My name is Alicia and I'm from Canada 🍁 First off, I want to say how much I love your shop! I fell in love with your work from your It's the Nerdy Life box and I've been loving your new line of watercolour bookmarks. They're so unique and beautiful 😍 I have a slight obsession with your new designs so I'd love to rep them for you and help you share your beautiful art with the world!
.
As for posting, now that I'm done with my job and am back in school, I'll be posting everyday! Throughout the fall months I want to go and explore the city I'm now calling home and I would love to take your bookmarks with me (thus the inclusion of the image staring Five Ways to Fall). It would be a weekly endeavour where I'd walk around town and capture something that I love, with a book and your bookmark (or your bookmark alone). Further, I'll be taking photos similar to the others featured here and would be willing to promote only your bookmarks during the time I'm rep. I feel like my feed matches your bookmark aesthetic. I love vibrant colours and the most I adjust my photos is using sharpening and changing lighting. With the myriad of colours you use, I think your bookmarks would pop on my feed 😄 Lastly, I'm happy to host giveaways and post about sales on my feed, as well as my blog, Twitter, and Facebook page. My Instagram feed also shows up on my blog's homepage!
.
As Taheri Mafi is expanding her Shatter Me series, I would love to see bookmarks with quotes from her series, as well as symbolic representations of each character's ability (ex. A symbol of healing for the twins, or of invisibility for Kenji). I think your watercolour art would be a beautiful backdrop for these or can be incorporated within the designs themselves. I'd love to see your take on this series (it's one of my favourites 😜)
.
Thanks again for the wonderful opportunity and good luck to everyone who has entered!
.
Thanks all for reading! Wish me luck friends 😄🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #repsearch #nafall2017reps #nerdyaddiction #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan Good morning and happy Friday! I will be MIA the next few days as I pack and move out to school. I'm excited to get started with my program, but I'm also worried I won't have enough time to finish packing everything before Sunday 😅 I'll be back next week! Thanks for all the love 😘 Have a good weekend!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #orange #yellow #starwars #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog This is something I struggle with on a daily basis. What should I attribute value to? What should I invest my time and money in? I guess it's just the thoughts of a recent grad floating around me, but investments in the future are becoming more and more important to me and I'm at a loss. All I know is that I will always invest money and time into my book collection 😅
-
QOTD: Looking to the future, what are some of your greatest fears?
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookishrainbow #bookishheart #bookspines #bookstack #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #worldliness
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
