Day 26: A Book That Changed Your Opinion About Something

This book changed my opinion about a lot of things, but I think the biggest impact it had upon me was the fact that it changed my view on reading. Back in first grade, I hated reading, I only did it ’cause my teacher was like “The more you read, the more stickers you get. The more stickers you get, the more free pizza you get from Pizza Hut.” Of course I had to comply. However, once grade one was over, I dropped books. I was a slow reader, I didn’t enjoy it, and my first Pokemon game was calling my name. However, when my class read Bridge to Terabithia, by Katherine Paterson, my whole stance changed. The book was so emotionally charged, third grade me was amazed. I read it again years later in 2007, when the movie came out, and felt like my childhood had just punched me in the gut. My first thought was, “How did this not scar me when I was a kid.” It may have not ruined me, but it had left its mark. I don’t know how into reading, or how much later I’d have gotten into it, if I hadn’t read this book. Definitely changed my opinion about books, writing, and reading.

2839

6 Comments

Filed under 30 Day Challenge [2013]

6 responses to “Day 26: A Book That Changed Your Opinion About Something

  1. MidnightPageTurners

    I haven’t actually read this book I’ve watched the movie (don’t tell anyone, the other bookworms will probably come running at me with pitchforks) but it was really beautiful and I cried, excessively. It’s great that it got you to keep reading! Emotional books are always the ones that are dearest :)

Leave a Reply

