Day 25: A Character Who You Can Relate to the Most

When  I saw this list, I couldn’t think of one character that I could relate well with. In the past month, I found 2.

The first is Cather, from Rainbow Rowell’s novel Fangirl. Cath is an English major who spends a lot of time on the Internet, enjoys writing, has a roommate (I have 2), and has this fear of screwing things up on the first try and looking like an idiot. That’s basically me, though I don’t usually get embarrassed easily (nor do I blush half the amount she does). Alike to Cath, I fangirl a lot. However, mine’s usually over k-pop groups (and sometimes books) and I don’t write fanfiction (I just don’t have that ability to adopt other people’s characters). I understand growing apart from my close friends (though I lack the twin sister part) and I feel for her with the English assignment issues. While I lack a boyfriend that I’ve met through my roommates, I can relate to her and her story pretty darn well.

16068905

The other character I relate well with is Rebecca, from Shelley Coriell’s novel Goodbye, Rebel Blue. Rebel speaks her mind, all the time, and she’s not always loved for it. She’s blunt and will tell you the honest truth, regardless of which way you try to tip her. She reads people easily and she hates math, mainly ’cause she just can’t do it. This is definitely me. My friends usually appreciate that I’m upfront and forthcoming, but often times strangers think I’m too much to handle (which I can understand…). I am pretty good with predicting what people are going to do, and I have this knack of seeing and gauging reactions easily, adjusting my behaviour respectively. If I can tell that someone can’t take the truth, then I’ll let it slide and move on to another topic. I also detest math. I can’t process numbers at all. The only math I can manage is addition and multiplication. All other math gives me anxiety and I usually take a LONG time to get an answer (which isn’t often right). You can see why I went for the writing gig over the engineering path most Asians take. Again, while I lack the beautiful football playing boyfriend, I can also relate really well with Rebel.

17290286

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. MidnightPageTurners

     /  December 3, 2013

    I haven’t read Fangirl yet, just a sample, but I felt the same way! Mainly because of the reasons she though she wrote for, I find myself thinking just like her, that it wasn’t about having something to say or being brave and telling the world something was wrong with it, but to be someone I wasn’t for a little while and jsut disapear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,029 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    Hiya @nerdyaddictionshop ! My name is Alicia and I'm from Canada 🍁 First off, I want to say how much I love your shop! I fell in love with your work from your It's the Nerdy Life box and I've been loving your new line of watercolour bookmarks. They're so unique and beautiful 😍 I have a slight obsession with your new designs so I'd love to rep them for you and help you share your beautiful art with the world!
.
As for posting, now that I'm done with my job and am back in school, I'll be posting everyday! Throughout the fall months I want to go and explore the city I'm now calling home and I would love to take your bookmarks with me (thus the inclusion of the image staring Five Ways to Fall). It would be a weekly endeavour where I'd walk around town and capture something that I love, with a book and your bookmark (or your bookmark alone). Further, I'll be taking photos similar to the others featured here and would be willing to promote only your bookmarks during the time I'm rep. I feel like my feed matches your bookmark aesthetic. I love vibrant colours and the most I adjust my photos is using sharpening and changing lighting. With the myriad of colours you use, I think your bookmarks would pop on my feed 😄 Lastly, I'm happy to host giveaways and post about sales on my feed, as well as my blog, Twitter, and Facebook page. My Instagram feed also shows up on my blog's homepage!
.
As Taheri Mafi is expanding her Shatter Me series, I would love to see bookmarks with quotes from her series, as well as symbolic representations of each character's ability (ex. A symbol of healing for the twins, or of invisibility for Kenji). I think your watercolour art would be a beautiful backdrop for these or can be incorporated within the designs themselves. I'd love to see your take on this series (it's one of my favourites 😜)
.
Thanks again for the wonderful opportunity and good luck to everyone who has entered!
.
Thanks all for reading! Wish me luck friends 😄🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #repsearch #nafall2017reps #nerdyaddiction #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan Good morning and happy Friday! I will be MIA the next few days as I pack and move out to school. I'm excited to get started with my program, but I'm also worried I won't have enough time to finish packing everything before Sunday 😅 I'll be back next week! Thanks for all the love 😘 Have a good weekend!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #orange #yellow #starwars #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog This is something I struggle with on a daily basis. What should I attribute value to? What should I invest my time and money in? I guess it's just the thoughts of a recent grad floating around me, but investments in the future are becoming more and more important to me and I'm at a loss. All I know is that I will always invest money and time into my book collection 😅
-
QOTD: Looking to the future, what are some of your greatest fears?
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookishrainbow #bookishheart #bookspines #bookstack #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #worldliness
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
