Review: Golden Dunes of Renhala

17402412

Title: Golden Dunes of Renhala [Renhala #2]
Author: Amy Joy Lutchen
Publication Date: November 26, 2013
Genre: Paranormal Fantasy

Synopsis:

How do you live with a secret so dark and so deeply woven into your being that it threatens to smother your very existence, with no known way out? Use it to your advantage.

Kailey Rooke, karmelean, and now a possibly unethical karma-for-hire, has spent the past year jumping from project to project without any real hope for salvation. With repercussions from her actions at every turn, she discovers that as time goes on, she loses a bit more of herself to that which feeds on her anguish–that which is thriving inside her own body.

When a new contract to find a missing girl arises, Kailey attempts to put her past and its associated problems on the back burner, but she soon finds out that treachery and deceit lie shortly ahead in Golden Dunes, only giving face to new problems, with one leading right back to her childhood past.

She struggles to complete her contract as her own life teeters on a fulcrum, constantly tipping according to karmaโ€™s whim. How long will she keep her balance? Which way will she fall?

I have got to say that this is one of those few times where I actually liked the sequel MORE than the first book. Admittedly, it wasn’t perfect, but it was pretty darn addicting.

The new characters, while mildly creepy, really made the book. Inย Renhala, it was sometimes hard keeping up with the mass amount of characters, due to the fact the the book was fairly long and pushed a lot of info at you all at the same time. In this book, the character names and personalities are extremely diverse (that’s not to say that they weren’t in the previous novel, but these character were just somehow more memorable), and each personality brought something new to the table – whether it was a mystery or an action-packed scene, the story was made better with the introduction of each character. While the new characters are great, I loved the old cast of characters too. Kailey’s mind was constantly jumping (which led to a slight bit of confusion every now and then) which helped move the story forward during the really calm-before-the-storm type moments. There was a death or two that required me to flip a number of pages in a panic induced frenzy, and there was some romance between characters that pleased me beyond reason (love is in the air~)! As always, Bu was an adorable mass of stanky fur that made me smile throughout the book (dhsafdshla I’m in love with a 7-foot greble that smells like sewage water… yeah that sounds about right). Loved, loved, LOVED the characters in this book.

The plot was filled with a lot more action, and was fairly straight forward, making the book fairly easier to follow. Granted, there were moments here and there that I would have to pause and look back, but overall I got what was going on. Again, it helped that there were less characters, as well as the fact that there was only two focused missions. This book had a lot more mystery behind everything, as well as suspense and action. I did not expect the ending to go where it went, but once the truth was revealed, everything fell into place really well.

The only thing I can really complain about was the random mistake here and there throughout the novel, but overall, this book definitely surpassed Renhala.

But yeah, can I just gush over the end of the book? Ah ~~ While I’d be totally cool if there series ended there, I really hope it continues just ’cause I am truly curious as to what might come next for the Renhalian crew.

Golden Dunes of Renhala was full of action, plot twists, and riveting characters! Apart from deaths, violence, and all-consuming rage, this book made me laugh a lot too, and I definitely appreciated that. Well structured and well executed, this book will leave you at the edge of your seat, ready for more ~

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
Writing: 3.5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 4.5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.5/5

eBook obtained via the author, Amy Joy Lutchen, in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,029 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    All my textbooks have arrived and school is looming over me... I'm so excited for Friday because:
a. It's Friday
b. My school gave 12 people in our class tickets to Guys & Dolls! I've never been so this is huge for me ๐Ÿ˜†
-
QOTD: What's your favourite translated book?
-
Mine is The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon ๐Ÿ˜Š
-
Corner bookmark by @pages.remembered
Flower bookmark by @markingdreams
Candle by @novellyyours from @nerdyaddictionshop ACOTAR box
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #pink #openbook #paper #candle #translatedbooks #cinder #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan I got a library card today! I haven't had a library card in over ten years, so I'm super excited to finally get to borrow books for once (my wallet thanks me). They were selling off this beauty though for just a dollar! I'm so excited to read it.
-
Random question, I have a fly in my lamp right now... Anyone know how to get it out? The buzzing is giving me the creeps...
-
Side note, my phone camera is angry at me today. This was the best I could do...
-
Bookmark from @oriandle ๐Ÿ˜„
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #bookmarks #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #jojomoyes #shortstories My first day of "bootcamp" was pretty great. We did an escape room and my team actually managed to escape! It was a first for me, that's for sure. My first textbook arrived in the mail too. Less fun, but I think I'll try taking a crack at it tonight.
-
QOTD: What's your favourite subject / class?
-
My favourite class was in my undergrad. It was called Soundtracks in Films and for homework we had to watch Star Trek, Psycho, and Inception.
-
Candle by @wanderlightscandleco ft. in @nerdyaddictionshop 's summer sub box!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #purple #stationary #stationarylove #notebook #candle #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #succulent
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
