Review: Taking Chances

15739018

Title: Taking Chances [Taking Chances #1]
Author: Molly McAdams

Synopsis;

Her first year away is turning out to be nearly perfect, but one weekend of giving in to heated passion will change everything.

Eighteen-year-old Harper has grown up under the thumb of her career marine father. Ready to live life her own way and to experience things she’s only ever heard of from the jarheads in her father’s unit, she’s on her way to college at San Diego State University.

Thanks to her new roommate, Harper is introduced to a world of parties, gorgeous guys, family, and emotions. She finds herself being torn in two as she quickly falls in love with both her new boyfriend, Brandon, and her roommate’s brother, Chase. Despite their dangerous looks and histories, both men adore Harper and would do anything for her, including taking a step back if it would mean she’d be happy.

I am extremely hot an cold about this book. On one hand, I hated it, on the other, I couldn’t stop reading and I couldn’t help but feel for the characters. What does that even mean? I’ll tell you.

Harper is a special girl. She’s never had the opportunity to make female friends, she’s only ever been surrounded by guys (military guys), she’s never been kissed, and she’s never had a boyfriend. She is snarky, doesn’t take people’s shit, and somehow manages to fall for two guys at the same time AND THEY ALSO FALL FOR HER. OKAY.

I’m not saying that’s not possible, but honestly, let’s get a reality check. I’m pretty sure feminism and the such makes sure that if there are females in the army, they’d train with the male trainee’s ’cause equality. I’m pretty damn sure she’s not the only girl in the entire university that won’t put up with these guys’ garbage. Honestly, you don’t have to be raised by military dudes to be snarky and insulting. But of course, this female angel who comes stomping through their front door is AMAZING. Also, the fact that she falls for BOTH guys in the span of 5 minutes is entirely idiotic and fairly impossible ’cause you don’t know butterfly about either of them.

Again, maybe I’m just absolutely done novels and their insta-love-omg-he’s-hot-therefore-i-must-fall-in-love thing, but this bothered me beyond reason.

Also, the whole EVERYONE IS IN LOVE WITH HARPER thing is a no-no, too.

While we’re on things in the book that did not please me, I just want to take a second to talk about the author’s writing. A lot of the ultimatums were repeated over and over and over again, and I was so done with this girl by the middle of the book. The dialogue was awkward at times, and I REALLY did not like that these 20 something or another year olds would say “It’s kind of obvious friend” or responding to “Hey, Bree?” with “Yeah friend?”. I don’t know if it’s just me, but as a university student, I can attest that I’ve NEVER heard anyone say “friend” in that way, and it bothered me throughout the novel. I also do not understand the “saying” that I saw in this book, as well as Tammara Webber’s Easy. Again, might just be me, but since when was “Are you serious?” “As a heart attack” a thing? I just… does that seem as insensitive to you as it does to me?

That’s definitely not EVERYTHING that bothered me about this novel, but I honestly don’t think there’s enough internet space for me to nitpick. Moving onto what I actually enjoyed.

The intensity and the characters in this novel was done well. Although a little dramatic at points, this book really made me feel. Aside from the insta-love and the nagging/ultimatums, I really loved how these characters, and their feelings, played out. Of all the characters, Chase has to be the most well-developed. I think I was even in love with him by the end of the book., and because of that I REALLY want to read Stealing Harper, ’cause CHASE’S POINT OF VIEW. But then I don’t think I can go through all that again ’cause Harper’s character may just drive me off a cliff…

Bless Brandon’s patience, and the fact that he can tolerate Harper for more than twenty minutes. HOLY. And the fact that he’s so chill about the whole this and that thing that occurred somewhere in the book, makes him into a saint ’cause about 99.9% of the male population in this place called reality would’ve screwed the whole thing and moved on. Not like Harper was that great of a catch anyways.

One character development thing I wish I could’ve seen more of was of Harper’s father. He practically falls off the edge of the earth in the middle-ish of the book [spoiler] and then reincarnates at the end as some nice old man who learned his lesson. [end of spoiler]. OKAY BUDDY.

This book is flawed, in more ways than one. But the ratings on GoodReads are high, so maybe I’m wrong, but I really did not enjoy this book, and the parts I did enjoy fell to ashes. Check the book out though, it was good enough to get almost 4 stars on GoodReads, and tell me what you think of it.

Characters: 2/5
Plot: 2/5
Writing: 3/5
Cover: 4/5
Overall: 2/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.97/5

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Any Avatar fans out there? The blue people, not the benders.
-
What luck! We're at Animal Kingdom today and Pandora is doing a surprise soft opening! The rides are A M A Z I N G and the world is so beautiful 🌍 Just went on the Flight of Passage and it was so cool! I'm so happy right now 😄😄😄😄
-
Follow my story for more pics of Pandora!
---
#avatar #disney #pandora #animalkingdom #worldofavatar #vacation #disneyworld #flightofpassage #waltdisneyworld A long time ago in a galaxy far far away...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #starwars #series #trilogy #yoda #disney #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #epcot #missionspace Where fairytales are born 👑👠🎆
---
#disney #cinderellascastle #happilyeverafter #wishuponastar
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
