Review: Losing It

16034964

Title: Losing It [Losing It #1]
Author: Cora Carmack

Synopsis:

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible – a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

I tried guys. I TRIED -flails- I started this book with high hopes, and by the end of the novel, I wanted to just chuck it out a window.

What did I like about it? CADE. He was the only character that I liked due to his loyalty, his rationality, and the fact that he reacted to everything realistically and I never had the urge to throttle him.

What I didn’t like about the book:

1. Character Development… There wasn’t any. The character’s were very superficially done, to me. These characters, thinking of one night stands, end up falling for each other. That’s great and all, but sexual tension isn’t enough to base a relationship on, sorry. By the time I finished this 200 or so paged book, all I knew was that this girl didn’t like talking to her mother because of a very stupid reason and that Garrick was from Philly or something. That’s great, ANNNDDDDD ???

2. The writing. It was very cliche and over dramatic for such a superficial relationship. I don’t know, maybe I’m just tired of the insta-love but authors have got to stop doing this. Like her heart starts beating all fast and stuff ‘cause he’s looking at her, and her world’s spinning and falling into place perfectly from this one look. OKAY.

3. There’s a fair amount of drinking in this book. While that isn’t totally unexpected from a university student, even a high school student, Bliss barely ever changed when she was drunk. Based on the amount she kept knocking back, she should’ve been wobbling on her feet by the time she talks to Garrick the first time, but she’s perfect poised, maybe a little less nervous, but c’mon. She has only one scene where’s she REALLY drunk and like flopping around like a jellyfish. That’s drunk, but then she instantly becomes sober again when she sees Garrick, ‘cause that’s legit.

4. They’re actors/actresses and I understand that she had to draw on some experience to make her acting seem real, but simply drawing from some feelings about Garrick really didn’t help the whole lack of character development thing, just saying.

I can honestly say though, the acting and mind space that Bliss created was probably the best part of the book because people in the theatre actually do that and it was cool to look into it from a different point of view. Even though I didn’t really approve of the contents of that mind space, I did like seeing that.

While I REALLY didn’t enjoy this book, and felt like I had to DRAG myself through it, it wasn’t THAT bad of a book. Just not suited for my taste at all… I know a lot of people really enjoyed Cormack’s novels and I’m not saying they shouldn’t because it wasn’t toss out of your window worthy at least. But gawsh it took so much effort to get myself through it and I hate that I didn’t like this book…

Despite all that, I WILL be reading Faking It, the next book in the trilogy, because CADE. At least I enjoyed one character’s existence…

Plot: 3/5
Characters: 2/5
Writing: 3/5
Cover: 3/5
Overall: 2/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.83/5

Leave a comment

Filed under Trilogies

Leave a Reply

