Review: Unbreak Me

17841451

Title: Unbreak Me
Author: Lexi Ryan

Synopsis:

“If you’re broken, I’ll fix you…”

I’m only twenty-one and already damaged goods. A slut. A failure. A disappointment to my picture-perfect family as long as I can remember. I called off my wedding to William Bailey, the only man who thought I was worth fixing. A year later, he’s marrying my sister. Unless I ask him not to…

“If you shatter, I’ll find you…”

But now there’s Asher Logan, a broken man who sees the fractures in my façade and doesn’t want to fix me at all. Asher wants me to stop hiding, to stop pretending. Asher wants to break down my walls. But that means letting him see my ugly secrets and forgiving him for his.

With my past weighing down on me, do I want the man who holds me together or the man who gives me permission to break?

The characters in Unbreak Me are perfectly imperfect, all in their wildly differing ways. With their age as a factor, as well as their lifestyles and past mistakes, Unbreak Me makes something new of the old and tired ‘love triangle’ cliche. The entire novel is told from Maggie’s, Will’s, and Asher’s points of view at varying times. This choice, I think, made a BIG difference in the way we saw the characters and how the story panned out.

“You can only swallow ugly words about yourself so many times before they become part of your DNA. Some girls are told they’re important, so it becomes part of them. Some are told they’re talented or ugly or fat or special. It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy. Me? I’m a slut.”
-Maggie

Maggie is ashamed. Ashamed of her past, ashamed of her choices, and she holds her heart closer to her than anything else. When she’s asked to come back for her ex-fiance and sister’s wedding, she doesn’t really know how to deal with either of them because the secrets within her have built up an almost impenetrable wall… that is until Asher comes around.

Even though Maggie is broken in more ways than one, I really enjoyed reading her story. She wasn’t subdued or introverted by her secrets, if anything, it made her more fierce. Whenever she let down her walls for the world to see, her secrets helped create the world she grew up in, as well as made you understand those around her.

Some of her past memories BROKE MY HEART. I’m talking about SHATTERED into TINY LITTLE PIECES. Maggie’s life has NOT been easy. However, I kind of felt that alike to The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window (HOMG that’s like the longest title, someone really needs to shave that thing down a little), Maggie ran into the same issue over and over or tossed herself into the same mistakes again and again. While that wasn’t enough for me to flip butterflies, I think that it could’ve been toned down just a little. I don’t live in a small city like that, but MY GOD you would think that these people would have something else to do with their lives by now…

“Someday,” I say softly, “you’ll tell me the whole story. I’ll wait.”
“When you know the whole story, you won’t want me anymore. I’m that girl.”
“Don’t count on that.”
When I lift my eyes to her face, she’s watching me with something like wonder. “What?”
She shakes her head, “I can’t figure you out.”
“Good.” I cup her face in my palms and trace her bottom lip with my thumb. “Then maybe you won’t be able to figure out how to push me away.”
-Asher’s POV, talking to Maggie

Asher is awesome. You would’ve thought he would’ve thought out that last part just a LITTLE more… but otherwise, man did I love his character. He was gentle at times, and a total douche at others, but I think the thing that sold me was his trip to New York.

“I would have taken you however I could get you, Maggie.” I shove my hands in my pockets. “I still would.”
-Will

Will is irritating, but I understand him. That inability to get that one person out of your head, even though they’ve disappeared, moved on, or is even in a relationship with someone else (or just totally unattainable due to REASONS). It SUCKS and I really enjoyed reading about Will, how he dealt with the feelings (badly), and how in the end he really wasn’t a bad guy.

The only thing that really bothered me about this book was the odd jumps. I don’t know if it was missed in editing or was supposed to be that way, but often times, between chapters it felt like the characters had hopped back in time, or the events were in the same setting, and the event in itself was the same, but the overall timing or reaction was off, or different.

Overall. Unbreak Me was a beautiful read about growing up, and figuring out that sometimes it’s okay to fall apart. As long as you keep moving forward, you’ll never really be broken.

Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4.5/5
Writing: 4/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 3/5
Overall: 4/5
GoodReads: 4.14/5

Interested? Read an excerpt from the book here:

Unbreak Me

Goodreads.com

1 Comment

Filed under Novels

One response to “Review: Unbreak Me

  1. Sounds like this one’s definitely worth bearing with all the ‘odd jumps’ and luckily for me I adore the cover! :-) Awesome post, thanks.

Leave a Reply

