Author Interview: L.M. Augustine

debutauthorsbash-banner

Welcome to one of today’s stops for the 2013 Debut Authors Bash, hosted by YAReads!

I am SUPER excited introduce all of you to L.M. Augustine! L.M. Augustine debuted in May with his stand alone, young adult novel Click to Subscribe, while his second book, Two Roads, a new adult novel, was just released August 26th.

Hey, L.M. Augustine! Welcome to Between Printed Pages, we’re so happy to have you here today~

Thank you so much for having me!

Before we start, could you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m L.M. Augustine. I’m an Author 007, a professional dork, a twitter addict, a dessert lover, among other things. I’m a bit obsessed with writing and reading as well. :-)

17285743As a debut author, you must to extremely excited (and nervous) about getting your work out there. What/Who inspired you to start writing and what sparked the idea for Click to Subscribe?

I’m not exactly sure what inspired me to start writing. I always loved to read and consider myself to be a creative person, so I guess it sparked from there.

Click was actually inspired by… you guessed it… a YouTube video. I was watching one of John Green’s vlogs and he mentioned that two of his fans (one boy and one girl) met online and hit it off so much that they were organizing a real life meet up. At the time, I thought that was so cool. I mean, falling in love through YouTube videos? I didn’t even realized that happened.

Over time, the idea started to develop, and I kept thinking how plausible that could be. I wondered what those two people would have to be like to fall in love over the Internet, wondered what happened to them, wondered what will happen to them. I’m not sure how the rest came about, but the next thing I knew it was midnight and I was scribbling away the first chapter of what would eventually become Click To Subscribe.

What was the publishing process like for you? What advice do you have for aspiring writers and others trying to get their work published?

Two Roads FINAL COVER

I’d been querying agents with previous projects of mine for about a year and a half before I published Click To Subscribe, and I learned a lot about writing and publishing through it. Then one day I sat down and wrote Click To Subscribe and it sort of flowed out of me, and I decided I wanted to self-publish (I never queried this one) because I felt like for this book, it needed to be published my way. Self-publishing has been amazing so far. It’s a lot of work but so rewarding, and the awesome bloggers (like yourself!) and readers have been a great support. I wouldn’t have changed a thing.

I love self-publishing and I think much of the stigma against it is gone–plus money-wise, it’s the best option–but I also don’t think new writers should rush out and do it. I actually encourage you to get involved in the writing community, get on forums, and query agents when you write your first book, because that whole experience, whether it results in anything or not, teaches you so much about writing and publishing and developing thick skin that it’s almost needed if you want to make it in the industry. Then, once you feel like you know the ins and outs of publishing and that your writing is strong enough, I think it’s important to consider your options. There are so many ways to publish–small presses, Big Five publishers, self-publishing–that you have to remember what’s right for you. Do the research and know your goals and what you can and can’t achieve on your own. I don’t think any of these publishing methods is better than the other on their own, without your needs factored in. The playing field has been leveled and unless you’re a lead title with a Big Five, you have an even chance at success in all of these different publishing methods.

All that to say: take your time and develop your craft, then do what’s write for you.

As an aspiring writer, I often find myself with too many ideas and get sidetracked by them when I’m in the middle of a WIP. How do you stay on track with your WIPs when new ideas come knocking at your door?

Sometimes I don’t! I feel that way all the time too, but one thing that really helps is to write down the shiny new idea you’re having, maybe write the first page, and get it out of your head. Then finish your current project and go back to it later.

What’s next for you? Any new projects on the table?

I’m working on something now, actually. I’ve just started it and it’s NA, but I’m really excited about it. That’s all I can say for now. :-)

For all the readers out there, could you name a few books for us that you’ve read and absolutely loved?

The Sea of Tranquility, The Fault In Our Stars, Before I Fall, and Slammed are some of my favorites!

Apart from writing, reading, and being awesome, what do you do in your free time? Any unusual hobbies?

Besides spending my nights as a masked superhero saving the world from crime? I have a goal to eat as many different types of fruit out there as possible. (Don’t laugh! LOL)

Who are your top 3 favourite authors (dead or alive) and why?

I’m a huge fan of John Green, Colleen Hoover, and just recently, Lauren Oliver. :-) I love all of their characters and their voices. Plot isn’t as big of a deal to me; characterization, fun dialogue, and character development as the story progresses are the most important in my mind, and these authors have mastered it.

What about your top 3 musicians/bands/groups and why?

I’m a huge fan of Phillip Phillips, Maroon 5 (I know, I know), and Robin Thicke.

Last, but not least, what is your favourite word?

I love the word “inevitable.” I have no idea why.

Thank you so much, L.M. Augustine, for taking the time to answer our questions! Congratulations on your debut release, and we hope to see more for you soon!

Author Links:
Twitter
Facebook
Blog

To commemorate L.M. Augustine’s debut and success, we’re also hosting a giveaway!

Open internationally. We’re giving away 2 ebooks of Click to Subscribe by L.M. Augustine!

Contest ends September 30, 2013 at midnight EST!

Fill out the form below to enter!

Don’t miss the rest of the celebration! Follow the Debut Authors Bash throughout September !

September 1st
YaReads – Geoffrey Girard
Swoony Boys Podcast – Jane Nickerson
Kristi’s Book Readery – Page Morgan
September 2nd
Book Bandit – Laura Lam
The Word Mineur – Mindee Arnett
My Friends Are Fiction – Samantha Shannon
September 3rd
Nose Graze – Jessica Verdi
Between Printed Pages – L. M. Augustine
You’ve Been Blogged! – Jody Casella
September 4th
Skye’s Scribblings – Kasie West
Lose Time Reading – Emily Murdoch
The Eater of Books – Kelsey Sutton
September 5th
Book. Blog. Bake – Lauren Miller
Bookend 2 Bookend – Jennifer Salvato Doktorski
Musings of a Blogder – Heather Reid
September 6th
Magical Manuscripts – Shaunta Grimes
The Reading Vixens – Sarah Ashley Jones
September 7th
Books for Birds – April Genevieve Tucholke
Book Blather – Romily Bernard
September 8th
Inspiring Insomnia – Stephanie Kuehn
September 9th
Kissed by Ink – Ellen Oh
Sleeps on Tables – J.R. Johansson
Always YA at Heart – Amanda Sun
September 10th
Lisa Loves Lit – A.G. Howard
whYAnot Reviews – Liz Fichera
Samantha Clark – Claire M. Caterer
September 11th
Rampant Readers – Leah Miller
Emily’s Crammed Bookshelf – T. Michael Martin
September 12th
The Uninterrupted Reader – Cat Winters
The Book Beacon – Christina Mercer
September 13th
Read & Reviewed – Lindsay Ribar
Paranormal Book Club – Kit Grindstaff
September 14th
Books as You Know it – Mary Gray
Paranormal Reads – Elsie Chapman
Bibliophilia, Please – Helen Douglas
September 15th
The Book Cellar – Erin Bowman
Fantasy Book Addict – Miriam Forster
September 16th
Pond Across the Pond – Laurie Crompton
YaReads – Debra Driza
September 17th
Teen Librarian Toolbox – Mindy McGinnis
Le’Book Squirrel – Kimberly Ann Miller
Finding Bliss in Books – Lydia Kang
September 18th
Rachel Reads – Errica Lorraine Scheidt
Kentucky Geek Girl – Holly Smale
September 19th
Turning Pages – Amy Butler Greenfield
September 20th
Synchronized Reading – J.L Spelbring
Reading is My Treasure – Kristin Halbrook
A&C Book Junkies – Carey Corp
September 21st
Playing Jokers – Lenore Appelhans
Lizzie’s Dark Fiction – Elizabeth May
September 22nd
Sandwich Making Book Bitches – Anne Applegate
Little Bookwork Reviews – Jennifer Iacopelli
September 23rd
Moosubi Reviews – Megan Shepherd
Little Miss Trainwreck – Julianna Scott
September 24th
Fictionators – Emma Trevayne
September 25th
Breath of Books – Steven dos Santos
Jennzah – Chelsea Pitcher
September 26th
Nightly Reading – Liz Coley
Pandora’s Books – Kelly A. Barson
September 27th
Forever 17 Books – Amie Kaufman
My Bookopolis – Jamie Blair
September 28th
Nick’s Book Blog – Jennifer McGowan
Curling Up with a Good Book – Leila Howland
September 29th
Ex Libris – Mindy Raf
September 30th
YaReads – J.J. Howard
Fiction Freak – Kate Karyus Quinn
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. The Sea of Tranquility and Slammed make my list as well! I loved the question about ideas which can drag you away from a WIP, I have this problem usually at the 50,000 word mark and it cripples me – I shall definitely be trying out the solution posted here! Thanks guys. :-)

    Reply
  2. Phillip Phillips, Maroon 5, and Robin Thicke are 3 of my favorites! I dance like a moron every time the new Phillip Phillips song comes on!

    Great post! Thanks for hosting [=

    Reply
    • Maroon 5 is one of my faves too! Glad you enjoyed the interview! Follow L.M. Augustine on his Facebook or Twitter, and definitely check out his books! Happy reading :D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,022 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    This cute cottage is a replica of the house Shakespeare shared with his wife Anne Hathaway!
-
Beautiful print from @nerdyaddictionshop's It's the Nerdy Life box!
---
#bookstagram #books #shakespeare #shakespearegarden #annehathaway #history #print #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #poster #postcard #art #bookblog I'm in love with the section pages of Caraval. I've heard so many great things about the book and now a part of me is afraid to read it... I mean, look at ACOTAR and where I ended up...
-
QOTD: What's a series that was super hyped up but just ended up disappointing you?
-
Candle by @wanderlightscandleco
Bookmark by @markingdreams
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #caraval #stephaniegarber #ya #youngadult #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #openbook #bibliophile #bookmark #candle The Avon River cuts through Stratford and it's surrounded by a lovely pathways and patches of flowers! This place would kill me if it were spring time haha 💦
-
Bookmark by @nerdy.post 😍
---
#bookstagram #books #green #flowers #garden #shakespeare #shakespearegarden #avonriver #thehobbit #nerdypostbox #bookmark #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
