Review: Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

13477676 Title: Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock
Author: Matthew Quick
Release Date: August 13, 2013

Synopsis:

In addition to the P-38, there are four gifts, one for each of my friends. I want to say good-bye to them properly. I want to give them each something to remember me by. To let them know I really cared about them and I’m sorry I couldn’t be more than I was—that I couldn’t stick around—and that what’s going to happen today isn’t their fault.

Today is Leonard Peacock’s birthday. It is also the day he hides a gun in his backpack. Because today is the day he will kill his former best friend, and then himself, with his grandfather’s P-38 pistol. But first he must say good-bye to the four people who matter most to him: his Humphrey Bogart-obsessed next-door neighbor, Walt; his classmate Baback, a violin virtuoso; Lauren, the Christian homeschooler he has a crush on; and Herr Silverman, who teaches the high school’s class on the Holocaust. Speaking to each in turn, Leonard slowly reveals his secrets as the hours tick by and the moment of truth approaches. In this riveting book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick unflinchingly examines the impossible choices that must be made—and the light in us all that never goes out.

Leonard Peacock is determined to kill his ex-best friend. I know I’ve hated people, but killing them hasn’t yet crossed my mind. With his gun in his backpack, Leonard heads off to say goodbye to his four “friends” (friends being a relative word) and as Leonard’s day progresses, we begin to understand Leonard, his life, and even those around him.

Leonard is an extremely insightful person. Throughout the novel, we get to see Leonard observe others and wonder why this? Why don’t people do that? Why is this not appreciated? What makes him or her so special? Ever felt this? What about that? It’s these questions that really open our eyes to our own world. For many of us, we live the atypical life: we go to school, maybe even university, get a job we aren’t happy with ’cause we couldn’t get the one we would’ve been happy with, and continue through life monotonously without even being aware of it. Leonard epitomizes different, and he shows that through his ability to see the world as it is. While he accepts it, he doesn’t think it’s worth living to see. It was a real experience getting to run through this kid’s mind and I thoroughly enjoyed observing the world from Leonard’s point of view.

I think I can speak for practically everyone when I say that I wish I had a teacher like Herr Silverman at my schools. In my experience, teachers rarely, if ever, give a flying butterfly about their students outside of the school. Someone had scars on their wrist, they’d look the other way. Someone stopped social interaction with everyone, they’d ask if their okay, and accept the quiet “I’m fine” without hesitation. The fact that Herr Silverman played a large part in some of Leonard’s decisions and choices gave me hope with regards to teachers. I hope someone out there, someone who needs a teacher, parent, or role model like that, will be able to find one. ALL MY LOVE TO HERR SILVERMAN.

This novel dealt with an issue that very few people have yet accepted as an actual issue. I think many people should read this book to open their eyes to this problem. Such an experience, as one can see from this novel, is traumatic and shouldn’t be taken lightly. Matthew Quick blew up the secret perfectly and managed to hit me right in the butterflying feels. That said, the plot’s execution was phenomenal and extremely well done. This novel managed to make me laugh as much as I sobbed uncontrollably.

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock is an eye opening novel about growing up and dealing with traumatic memories. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s 13 Reasons Why, this novel blew me away and is definitely a must read!

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Writing: 4.5/5
Cover: 3/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.08/5

Buy Links:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Kobo

A copy of this book was provided by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I actually love this cover lol! It’s wonderful to hear that what’s inside of it might be even better. I shall definitely keep an eye out for this one. Cool review, thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Blue! I love blue! 💙💙
-
#bookishbox : Monday
Blue books!
-
#maddiewalimay : Day 28
Blue ombre
-
I'm terrible at the colour wheel, so there's a kind of ombre thing going on to the left of this photo. Kind of.
-
I liked blue so much I decided to play catch up for the May 28th's challenge prompt hehe.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #maybookchallenge #prompts #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #flowers #openbook #paper #bookishombre #book #favourite After a two week vacation in Florida, it's time to head home! I'm excited to get back to my book challenges and spring time weather. I don't know how y'all do it in Florida, it so hot 😰 Anyways, regular programming should be restored in the next few days, so look out for new posts and my June challenge choice! Have a good weekend friends~
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #universal #universalorlando #universalstudios #universalislandsofadventure #islandofadventure #disney #disneyhollywoodstudios #disneymagickingdom #disneyepcot #disneyanimalkingdom #pandora #avatar #harrypotter #littleinklings #cocacola #booksofinstagram #booknerd I'll play catch up on my challenges next week! I'll be home in two days 😄
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
%d bloggers like this: