Review: This Girl

15784909

Title: This Girl [Slammed #3]
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publisher: Atria Publishing Group (an imprint of Simon and Schuster)

Warning, spoilers ahead for those who haven’t read Slammed and Point of Retreat yet (like, literally, the spoilers are in the synopsis)

Synopsis:

There are two sides to every love story. Now hear Will’s.

Colleen Hoover’s New York Times bestselling Slammed series has brought countless readers to their knees with a whirlwind of love, passion, and heartache. 

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from his point of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

This book was perfect. There’s really no other way to describe it. P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Perfect.

This Girl continues from the end of Point of Retreat, and while enjoying each others’ company, Lake asks Will what went through his head throughout the events in Slammed. From first sight, to first kiss, Will brings us back to where it all began.

“What was it like the first time you saw me?” she asks. “What was it about me that made you want to ask me out? And tell me everything, even the bad thoughts.”

I laugh. “There weren’t any bad thoughts. Naughty thoughts, maybe. But not bad.”

She grins. “Well then tell me those, too.”

As with Losing HopeThis Girl is way more than just Slammed 2.0. Untold secrets are revealed, and through that short time, we see Will and Lake’s relationship grow. I have to say though, while it was awesome getting to see everything from Will’s point of view, I think Gavin also really got to shine in this book. We learn a lot about him and see that he knew WAY more than he was letting on. This is also where we got to see Will and Gavin’s friendship grow as much as we got to see Eddie and Lake become close friends in Slammed.

Did he really just threaten to blackmail me?

I pick up my pen and pull my lesson plan in front of me, breaking eye contact with him. “Gavin, you won’t tell,” I say, laughing.

He groans at my response, because he knows he would never stoop that low. “You’re right. I’d never tell. But don’t you think you owe it to me for being so trustworthy?” he says.

In this novel, we also get to see some new slams, and some old ones. As I’ve said before, I love the spoken word poems that Colleen Hoover came up with for this series. They’re just perfect, fitting, and are just amazingly written. I’ve always loved spoken word, but often times, the feelings get lost without hearing the actual performance. Colleen Hoover made it work though. Not just in This Girl, but all three books. The emotions translated into the poems were fueled by the books context leading up to the pieces and in the end, it didn’t matter that I couldn’t hear or see Will, Lake, or anyone on that stage, I still felt every single one of those words spoken.

Those are the hardest pieces of all to accept.
The pieces of our puzzle
That just don’t belong

Lastly, when I found out the meaning behind the title of this book my heart broke a little, but then in the end I was so happy and was legitimately jumping with joy. Ahh~~ Forever an emotional roller coaster with this series, like MY GOODNESS. And the stars OMFG the stars and, ugh, just love. So much love for this series!

With all the new slams, the present day tomfoolery, and that final epilogue and poem, I think This Girl was the perfect conclusion to the series. Absolutely breathtaking and captivating, I loved this book!

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.39/5

An ARC of this book was provided by Simon and Schuster Canada through GoodReads First Reads in exchange for an honest review.

This Girl is currently purchasable as an ebook. Paperback copies will be in stores August 13, 2013!

Leave a comment

Filed under Trilogies

Leave a Reply

