Review: Point of Retreat

13496084– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 17848167 Title: Point of Retreat [#2 Slammed] Author: Colleen Hoover Synopsis:

Hardships and heartache brought them together…now it will tear them apart. Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’

This book was so butterflying fantastic, I just… dashjfdfjhfjdshafkjh /epiclove.

“…Like, take the word “butterfly” for example. What if someone decided one day that butterfly is a cussword? People would eventually start using butterfly as an insult, and to emphasize things in a negative way. The actual WORD doesn’t mean anything. It’s the negative association people give these words that make them cusswords. So if we all just decided to keep saying butterfly all the time, eventually people would stop caring. The shock value would subside…and it would just become another word again…”

Point of Retreat was equally as amazing as Slammed, if not more so. As with Slammed, I loved the ideas brought to the table. They were butterflying awesome, especially the butterfly thing. The idea with the stars was absolutely ingenious as well, and I loved that even though Julia was kind of gone, she really wasn’t.

“Life’s hard. It’s even harder when you’re stupid.” ― John Wayne I sigh. I miss Julia’s sense of humor.

As with the last book, emotions were running high, and if books could exude power, this one would be glowing with it. The doubts, the reassurances, and even the loss of friendship and the forging of new ones were realistic and perfectly placed. Lake doesn’t run, not for no reason, and I absolutely love Hoover for completely covering the bases, leaving no stone unturned, because I’ve been put out with all these books where the girls and guys go all insta-love on us and then it’s just happily ever after. We get to see every aspect of Will and Layken’s devotion to each other, their insecurities, and their absolute inability to communicate with each other when they’re carving pumpkins. It’s perfectly dysfunctional and I loved it! Once again, Hoover’s poetry was always perfectly placed, well versed, amazingly written, and positively breathtaking. If anyone ever makes a “Because of You” kind of poem for me, well, you’ll have me for life. Until then, I’m fine sharing Will with Layken, ’cause MY GOD that was the most romantic thing I’ve ever read/seen/heard of.

But the best advice she ever gave me? The best advice she ever gave us? (I read the quote in my hands) “Sometimes two people have to fall apart, to realize how much they need to fall back together.”

Back to the butterflies, I really liked the new characters introduced in this book. Kiersten and Sherry made the book all the more quirky and fantastic. This book also made me appreciate Eddie and Gavin’s relationship too, with each other and with Lake, Will, Caulder, Kel, and now Kiersten and Sherry as well. The totally different family base built in this trilogy of books shows that family reaches way past blood, and can encompass so many people, even the unexpected, fairly odd, grade school girl who’s your diagonal neighbour. Point of Retreat was breathtaking. After reading the Slammed trilogy, as well as Hopeless, I can’t help but feel like I’ll love anything and everything Colleen Hoover publishes. Absolutely riveting, this book with open your eyes to a totally different perspective on life, love (family, friendship, and relationship alike), and learning that sometimes actions can speak louder than words, but you need both to gain someone’s total trust and love.

Plots: 5/5 Character: 5/5 Writing: 5/5 Cover: 4.5/5 Overall: 5/5 GoodReads Rating: 4.39/5

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,022 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I have a problem with finishing series. I don't want it to be over and so I loaf on it forever. I haven't finished a lot of series I've started, now that I think about it...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #ya #youngadult #dystopian #paranormal #ourdarkduet #dodocase #dodo #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks I bought an almost full set of Sherlock Holmes in traditional Chinese. I have no clue how to read them, but they're so cute and pretty, I decided I could always learn! (This coming from a person who studied French for 8 years and still doesn't know beans...)
-
QOTD: Which languages are you fluent in, and/or what language do you want to be fluent in?
-
I wish I were fluent in French and Canto (though I've been told that Mando is more useful), but I've barely mastered English and I majored in it...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #sherlockholmes #traditionalchinese #comicbook #series #ya #youngadult #middlegrade #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #wanderlightscandleco School is getting busy so no more exploring for me! I'll probably run around more later in the term, but for now it's time to hit the books!
-
QOTD: Which city has been your favourite to travel to?
-
Mine would be Stratford, haha, I'm having a blast here (despite the school aspect).
-
Postcard by @nerdy.post
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #openbook #art #handwritten #handlettering #postcard #illustration #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #gameofthrones #nerdypostbox
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
