Review: Catching Liam

Liamfinalwithblurblg

Title: Catching Liam [#1 Good Girls Don’t]
Author: Sophia Bleu

Synopsis:

Twenty-one year-old Jillian Nichols only has one rule when it comes to boys: catch and release. Boy-catching isn’t just a game for Jillian and her friends, it’s a lifestyle. After all, boys might be good for a dance or a drink and certainly a little under-cover action of the scandalous variety, but expect much else and you’re bound for heart ache.

So when her best friends and fellow boy catchers start dropping like flies junior year, Jillian is determined to keep boys in her bedroom and out of her heart. Until she meets Liam McAvoy, the kind of guy that sticks around to make waffles and who can’t—or perhaps won’t—take a hint.

Study abroad student Liam doesn’t want to be another notch on Jillian’s bedpost. Actually he has much more interesting ideas for Jillian and her bedposts, but his student visa’s set expiration date means he can’t promise her forever. That doesn’t mean he’s going to walk away from the challenge of discovering why Jillian is hell-bent at keeping people at a distance.

Before long, neither is sure who is catching who—or if they’re playing for keeps. Jillian knows one thing though: falling in love will not only break the only rule of boy-catching, it could also break her heart.

Catching Liam was a fun, sexy, new adult contemporary novel about learning to let people in and learning to love. However, as much as I enjoyed reading it, there were things I wish were different about the book, and because I’m really in a listy mood, here’s another list.

What I loved:

1. Liam. Because he was sweet, caring, and loved Jillian unconditionally (which at times seemed like a harrowing task). Sexy as hell, he could cook, make a reader swoon, and was Scottish (not like that really makes a difference if you can’t hear it but the idea of a sexy Scotsman cooking waffles for you makes Liam pretty darn enticing).

2. Jess. She’s probably the best friend you could possibly have. Even though she does judge Jullian (rightfully), she’s always willing to back her up no matter what, and has seen Jillian at her absolute worse. My respect for her knows no bounds and I loved her character.

3. Some of the dialogue and internal quips killed me. I was definitely entertained throughout the novel, that’s for sure.

4. Jillian was a Game of Thrones fans. Automatic love.

5. The lesson in the end. Acceptance among your peers is a hard thing to come by, but accepting yourself for who you are can sometimes be harder. I was proud of Jillian at the end and loved Liam and Jess for helping her get to that point. Where she ran from everything, she was finally able to face her demons.

What I wish had been different:

1. I wish we hadn’t met Liam right off the bat. I would have liked to see her passiveness before him, get to know the heartless character and then see Jillian grow throughout the novel.

2. I wish there had been more growth instead of such a sudden BAM kind of thing at the end. I would have liked to see her settle a few things before the end, like see her stop taking advantage of her friends and her boyfriend, of her doing something nice for them. Jillian was a very hard character to love ’cause she was constantly pushing aside her emotions, her friends, her parents (though I understood her reasoning when it came to her mother), and Liam.

3. Overall, I wish there had been more development of the characters, of the background/secondary stories, of her family situation, of her mother even. I just wish there was something… more. More depth, more emotional descriptions. Even when we see Jillian struggle to do something, we don’t really get to see much of what she’s feeling, which definitely would’ve made me feel something MORE for her.

Catching Liam was a fun read, because, honestly, as heart-breaking as the main plot idea should have been, it wasn’t really the main plot anymore, and thus wasn’t as heart-breaking or even as monumental as it could have been. Even so, it was, all in all, an enjoyable read, and I’ll definitely be reading Jess’s story Teaching Roman when it’s released.

Plot: 3/5
Characters: 3.5/5
Writing: 4/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 3.5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.21/5

Quotes:

“Listen up. You may not tell me anything about clothes. I don’t care how phat their pants are.”
There was a collective grown at his use of “phat”.
“Do you guys say wicked?” he asked.
“Sick!” someone yelled from the back of the room.
“Okay, I don’t care how sick their pants are…”
-Markson

Stacey sounded a bit like a drowned cat although she was gyrating her hips like she was Gwen Stefani.
“This is why I don’t sing,” I told him as I finally turned to face him.
“Because you sound like someone is murdering you?” he asked.
“Definitely.”
-Jillian and Liam

“Maybe he could come down with the Plague or something?” Jess suggested.
“Do you have access to the Plague? He’d probably have to be quarantined to keep Tara away.”
-Jess and Jillian

“Oh my god, I can go to the bathroom and come back. I’m not going to get lost.” I reached for the stack of coasters on the table and held them up. “I can drop these behind me and find my way back to you.”
-Jillian

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,036 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    I loved The Odyssey, so reading a modern retelling of it in The Sea of Monsters was a lot of fun for me. Probably my favourite random change was the guinea pig part, instead of pigs, on Circe's Island 😆🐹🐷
-
#literaryjune17 : Day 24
Retelling
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #orange #rickriordan #seaofmonsters #theodyssey #odyssey #homer #middlegrade #retelling #openbook #paper #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #junebookchallenge #junephotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads Another book on my #tbr. Yet again, I was drawn to the beautiful cover. Why are books so pretty 😰!?
-
#summerbookishcovers17 : Day 24
Mask
-
Also, last day to enter my giveaway! Check out the original post for details!
Open internationally.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #purple #openbook #paper #candle #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #junebookchallenge #junephotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookishstack #bookstack #pileofbooks #incarnate #jodimeadows As a kid, 13 Little Blue Envelopes was one of my favourite books. I loved that I could travel across Europe just by reading it. I reread it recently and it kind of killed the magic for me. I noticed editing errors, odd aspects that I just didn't get, and I sat here kicking myself for giving it a reread.
-
#summerbookishcovers17 : Day 23
Blue
-
QOTD : What's a book that you loved until you read it again?
-
Bookmark from @inapaperforest!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #green #ya #youngadult #romance #contemporary #contemporaryromance #booksofinstagram #booknerd #junebookchallenge #junephotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstagrammer
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
