Review: The Moon and More

16101126 Title: The Moon and More
Author: Sarah Dessen

Synopsis:

Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough. Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby. Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby? Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

I’ve been a big fan of Sarah Dessen since my friend convinced me to read This Lullaby back in ninth grade (and it remains as my favourite novel by Sarah Dessen). There’s always something real about the characters that’s hard to find in other books. The Moon and More was no different~! Although the first 50 (?) pages were a little slow, in my opinion, I REALLY enjoyed this book ! Especially the way it all wraps up, leaving the characters with a world of potential and open doors (:

Emaline is spending her summer working at her family’s house rental company, whilst having a lot some guy problems, and worrying about college and moving away from home for the first time. This was me last summer (minus the job… and the guy problems (anyone out there want to hire me ?)), and I really related to Emaline’s constant worry-and-avoid mind set. I also loved Emaline’s friends, my favourite being Morris, because of his epic slowness, as well as his character development throughout the novel. I love that her characters have such mundane, real world problems – like parental divorce, awkward relations with ex-boyfriends, or not so there fathers – as well as simple everyday joys – like taking your little brother out to play mini golf, or have fun at an arcade, and even just having a heart to heart with your best friends. Sarah Dessen’s characters really pop out of the page to me, and I love how she builds up their world and their lives.

On another note, can I just mention how much I didn’t like Theo (and Margo .. ish, ended up loving her by the end though). ERGH. Too bad, outside of fiction, annoying people exist too… If anything, I think Theo was what I like least about the book. Unfortunately, he’s present for much of it. Fortunately, I love the way the story ended, in terms of his character.

Something else I absolutely LOVE about Sarah Dessen’s books, is the fact that she connects them with her other novels. In this one, we get to see Auden and Heidi again, from Along for the Ride~ Wes and Bert, from The Truth About Forever,  are also mentioned, as well as their game of Gotcha! which I was really excited about (like I literally hopped around and squealed excitedly at the fact that THEY STILL EXIST!). Spinnerbait was also mentioned in passing, which I appreciated, as I’m a HUGE This Lullaby fan~ In reading all of her other books, you really see how everything’s connected. Less philosophically, it makes you feel in the know, haha~

Overall, I really enjoyed this book~ A great summer read (:

Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4/5
Writing: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 4/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.83/5

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,029 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    Hiya @nerdyaddictionshop ! My name is Alicia and I'm from Canada 🍁 First off, I want to say how much I love your shop! I fell in love with your work from your It's the Nerdy Life box and I've been loving your new line of watercolour bookmarks. They're so unique and beautiful 😍 I have a slight obsession with your new designs so I'd love to rep them for you and help you share your beautiful art with the world!
.
As for posting, now that I'm done with my job and am back in school, I'll be posting everyday! Throughout the fall months I want to go and explore the city I'm now calling home and I would love to take your bookmarks with me (thus the inclusion of the image staring Five Ways to Fall). It would be a weekly endeavour where I'd walk around town and capture something that I love, with a book and your bookmark (or your bookmark alone). Further, I'll be taking photos similar to the others featured here and would be willing to promote only your bookmarks during the time I'm rep. I feel like my feed matches your bookmark aesthetic. I love vibrant colours and the most I adjust my photos is using sharpening and changing lighting. With the myriad of colours you use, I think your bookmarks would pop on my feed 😄 Lastly, I'm happy to host giveaways and post about sales on my feed, as well as my blog, Twitter, and Facebook page. My Instagram feed also shows up on my blog's homepage!
.
As Taheri Mafi is expanding her Shatter Me series, I would love to see bookmarks with quotes from her series, as well as symbolic representations of each character's ability (ex. A symbol of healing for the twins, or of invisibility for Kenji). I think your watercolour art would be a beautiful backdrop for these or can be incorporated within the designs themselves. I'd love to see your take on this series (it's one of my favourites 😜)
.
Thanks again for the wonderful opportunity and good luck to everyone who has entered!
.
Thanks all for reading! Wish me luck friends 😄🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #repsearch #nafall2017reps #nerdyaddiction #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan Good morning and happy Friday! I will be MIA the next few days as I pack and move out to school. I'm excited to get started with my program, but I'm also worried I won't have enough time to finish packing everything before Sunday 😅 I'll be back next week! Thanks for all the love 😘 Have a good weekend!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #orange #yellow #starwars #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog This is something I struggle with on a daily basis. What should I attribute value to? What should I invest my time and money in? I guess it's just the thoughts of a recent grad floating around me, but investments in the future are becoming more and more important to me and I'm at a loss. All I know is that I will always invest money and time into my book collection 😅
-
QOTD: Looking to the future, what are some of your greatest fears?
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookishrainbow #bookishheart #bookspines #bookstack #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #worldliness
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
