Review: If I Should Die

16065589

 

Title: If I Should Die [Revenants #3]
Author: Amy Plum

Synopsis:

I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.

Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France’s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn’t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he’s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we’ve already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying—to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others—so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me?

Before I even begin… Don’t read a number of predictions on GoodReads. Just, don’t.

And before you ask if I read them, I did, and this made the book fairly boring in comparison to what it would’ve been if I had followed my own advice. But really, what was the possibility that they’d be right… Ah well.

Spoilers aside, I thought that Amy Plum twirled together the ending really well. Even with said spoilers that were actually just accidental, REALLY ACCURATE, guesses, I was still surprised by a lot of things in this novel. The first was a surprise that awaited readers in New York, along with the departure of a loved character, the return of another, and the death of two or three that I really wish hadn’t happened (well, at least one of them I was alright with).

Can I just say though, that I felt really bad for Jules? Like throughout this entire trilogy, he’s always gotten the short end of the stick, and this book was just like a dagger to my heart when it came to Jules. Even though Vincent and Kate were pretty much together from the start (and I appreciate her unwavering love for the guy), a part of me really liked her with Jules. Heck, I even loved her with Ambrose, but he was always meant for another (which speaking of, all my props to Plum for making that happen in the end).

Throughout this novel, I was continuously surprised, and I loved that the book was not really ruined by my own curiosity. All and all, an excellent conclusion to a great trilogy. I’m going to really miss these characters. However, I can’t wait to see what Amy Plum has next for us ~

Plot: 4.5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.34/5

Leave a comment

Filed under Trilogies

Leave a Reply

