Cover Reveal: This Side of Salvation

clip_image002

Title: This Side of Salvation
Author: Jeri Smith-Ready

Synopsis:

Everyone mourns differently. When his older brother was killed, David got angry. As in, fist-meets-someone-else’s-face furious. But his parents? They got religious. David’s still figuring out his relationship with a higher power, but there’s one thing he does know for sure: The closer he gets to new-girl Bailey, the better, brighter, happier, more he feels.

Then his parents start cutting all their worldly ties in to prepare for the Rush, the divine moment when the faithful will be whisked off to Heaven…and they want David to do the same. David’s torn. There’s a big difference between living in the moment and giving up his best friend, varsity baseball, and Bailey—especially Bailey—in hope of salvation.

But when he comes home late from prom, and late for the Rush, to find that his parents have vanished, David is in more trouble than he ever could have imagined…

I am in love with this cover and this synopsis! I loved the Shade Trilogy, and I can’t wait to read it! The cover was revealed on GReads along with the title, the synopsis, and the first page of the novel. Ahh! ~ I’m so excited :D

The first page, if you don’t mind waiting 10 months for the rest ;P

Chapter 1
Now

If this were the last night of my life, I could be at peace with that.

That, and everything else, as I walk hand-in-hand with Bailey out of the pool house and back into the blare of the party. Her long hair brushes my elbow, stirring memories of reaching, fumbling in the dark, memories so fresh they feel more like dreams, not etched as events in my past, but posed as possibilities in my future.

Future. A word that stumbles off my tongue lately, like a phrase in a new foreign language.

The sandstone clock on the side of the pool house shows four minutes after two. The final hour.

I try to put myself in the place of my parents and the others who think the Rapture will take place in fifty-six minutes. They’re waiting for that moment when the true believers, living and dead, will be raised up from earth before all hell literally breaks loose.

Are they scarfing their favorite foods—pizza, cheesesteaks, TastyKakes—or are they already dreaming of that heavenly banquet? Are they playing their favorite tunes on infinite loop, or are they dreaming of that angelic choir? Are they having sex (not my parents—the thought makes me gag), or are they dreaming of that divine embrace?

This Side of Salvation is to be released in April 2014!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,022 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I have a problem with finishing series. I don't want it to be over and so I loaf on it forever. I haven't finished a lot of series I've started, now that I think about it...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #ya #youngadult #dystopian #paranormal #ourdarkduet #dodocase #dodo #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks I bought an almost full set of Sherlock Holmes in traditional Chinese. I have no clue how to read them, but they're so cute and pretty, I decided I could always learn! (This coming from a person who studied French for 8 years and still doesn't know beans...)
-
QOTD: Which languages are you fluent in, and/or what language do you want to be fluent in?
-
I wish I were fluent in French and Canto (though I've been told that Mando is more useful), but I've barely mastered English and I majored in it...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #sherlockholmes #traditionalchinese #comicbook #series #ya #youngadult #middlegrade #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #wanderlightscandleco School is getting busy so no more exploring for me! I'll probably run around more later in the term, but for now it's time to hit the books!
-
QOTD: Which city has been your favourite to travel to?
-
Mine would be Stratford, haha, I'm having a blast here (despite the school aspect).
-
Postcard by @nerdy.post
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #openbook #art #handwritten #handlettering #postcard #illustration #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #gameofthrones #nerdypostbox
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
