Review: Renhala – Book Tour and Giveaway

RenhalaTourBanner

Welcome to one of the first stops on Xpresso Book Tours for Renhala by Amy Joy Lutchen~!

Renhala

Title: Renhala [#1 Renhala]
Author: Amy Joy Lutchen
Publication: September 27th 2012
Genre: Adult Fantasy
Goodreads – Renhala [#1 Renhala]

Synopsis:

Kailey Rooke, timid accountant, dedicated to philanthropic work, finds herself spiraling into a deep depression after she suffers a horrifyingly odd and humiliating assault, to only discover more of these freakish assaults occurring across the globe.

A chance discovery leads Kailey to a meeting with elderly Gunthreon, actual master of persuasion. Gunthreon, who seems to know too much of Kailey’s history for her liking, opens Kailey’s eyes to a coexisting realm she never knew existed: Renhala, while entrusting her with the knowledge of her newfound power as karmelean, serving as a beacon to the Higher Ones. Kailey slowly starts revealing new talents, and Gunthreon is fascinated with what she starts achieving.

She soon discovers that Renhala is in danger, and this danger has been leaking into her own realm. As she uncovers secrets within herself, and attempts to toughen up, she fuses with an unlikely band of fellow travelers (including a dragon, woodsprite, six-hundred-pound greble, her faithful female canine companion, and a “giver”), falls into an unexpected love triangle, deals with her sexy and flirtatious best friend’s “issues,” and finds the courage to master a new deadly weapon.

On her mission to save Renhala, Kailey will find herself running from life-threatening disasters, such as greble Tartarin, who likes to remind Kailey that when he catches her, he plans on eating her brains with ice cream; she’ll run from the deadly meeples: small cute bunnies with talons and an undeniable thirst for imposing self-destruction on others. Kailey will also run into the possibility that a centuries-old Renhalan rumor is true, that advanced technology existing in Kailey’s realm shortens all life spans.

As blood is shed and puzzles near completion, Kailey pulls from deep within herself, conjuring up mystical qualities that enable her to astonish as once predicted at her birth, but despite the newfound strength, Kailey will discover that monsters not only come in ugly packages, but can be easily disguised as those she has come to love and trust.

Hey all, it’s been a while, eh? Not since I last posted, maybe, but definitely since I last wrote an actual review (note, my last one was queued). I actually forgot how I format these things… Anyways, I have a treat for you today, but first, my review:

I really enjoyed this novel, overall, it was exciting, it had action, and Amy Joy Lutchen’s world-building is fantastic. However, I didn’t quite enjoy some of the writing, or the main character. Throughout the novel, I felt a disconnect between myself, the main character, and her actions, especially at the beginning ’cause I didn’t have a clue as to what was going on. I must say though that as the book went on, I grew to like Kailey, though in all honestly, I liked the supporting characters a lot better.

Ladimer, oh sweet Ladimer. I am in love with him. I felt his character’s pain and joy more than I did Kailey’s. Reading about Ladimer, Gunthreon, Conner, Russell, and all the other supporting characters really brought various personalities to the table and excitement to the novel, as did the dragon and the six-hundred-pound greble mentioned in the synopsis. In my opinion, the supporting characters made the book. Through Kailey’s eyes we see a lot more of their history than we do of hers. I wish that Lutchen had showed more of Kailey’s training, or gave a straight description of her attack. As it is though, you get an overall sense of her fear and anxiety, of her attack and the scars it left on her, both mentally and physically. Lutchen went through the motions, but I wish there had been something more gripping about all of it.

Back to all the secondary/main-ish characters, I loved Lutchen’s ability to create such intricate histories, weaving all of their past and present together well. Authors who manage to do this always leave me in a state of awe, and I can’t help but admire them for their talent. In addition to this, Lutchen created characters that were all different. Not one character shared the same story, not the same personality as another. Kailey’s friends were all diverse in species, power, and personality. I find that many authors have trouble with this and tend to recreate their characters over again, sometimes within the same novel, other times within others. I liked that each character brought something new to the table, whether it was their own history, or a tale about the land, these characters are what really captivated me and pulled me into the book.

Something that drew me in completely (before all the wonderful characters jumped in to save the day) was the idea of Renhala, with Neda and Velopa, as well as Lutchen’s ideas behind the creation of our society. On top of the stories told about the creation of Renhala and our world, there is the world of Renhala itself. I loved the descriptions and how this mythical world popped out of the pages. Everything, from the scenery to the odd species and creatures to the magical lakes and the magical skills, captured me and pulled me into the pages of the book.

Overall, I really enjoyed Renhala, though the cliffhanging end is now taunting me. Lutchen has the ability to weave together her characters’ histories, past lives, and present actions, creating captivating characters, and new, unexplored worlds. I just can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel, Golden Dunes of Renhala, which is to be released sometime this year.

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 3.5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 3/5
Overall: 3.5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.14/5

Amy

About the Author:

Born in Chicago, Illinois, a few days prior to watching her first movie, at a drive-in theater. Yes, drive-in theater. And yes, her mother believed she was possessed by the devil after said first movie.Grew up in the Chicagoland area and graduated from the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, where she simply became a number, but decided it was a good number.Loves cooking (mostly candy-cooking), gardening (putting holes in the ground for perennials, DONE!), designing and constructing jewelry (everything from silversmithing to lampworking), and living with her wonderful husband, two children, black Labrador, and frog—and maybe even the chipmunk family that likes to destroy her aforementioned perennials.Also hopes that you enjoy her writings, and won’t criticize her for her aversion of eating things in multiples of three.
Author links:
And now, what you’ve all been waiting for, the giveaway:
Open internationally, the winner will receive a $100 gift card to Amazon, two Renhala magnets, and Goodies, which includes Blackberry Sage tea by Republic of Tea and Mighty Leaf’s Organic African Nectar tea.

Enter Now!

Don’t forget to use a valid email address, as the winner will be emailed, and must respond within 72 hours.

If you like what you’ve seen, buy Renhala now!

Buy Links:
Kobo
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords

Check out the rest of the tours stops this week for more chances to win and see some exclusive content~

May 13th
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. The title is kind of weird. What does it mean?

    Reply
    • Renhala is a magical realm separate from ours and houses both humans as well as strange creatures. War is pending there, and the main characters, humans (for the most part), who have access to this realm, may just have the ability to save Renhala. Hope this helps! ~ Have fun reading (:

      Reply
  2. Hi there! So, unlike some new terms in the book that have a sort of latin-base, Renhala was actually an item that suddenly popped in my head. After rolling it around in my head for a bit, I thought it was perfect for the name of our secret realm :). Thanks again, Alikiya. You were a most wonderful host.

    Reply
  3. Lindsey V.

     /  May 22, 2013

    Thank you so much for offering this giveaway! I’d love to be able to win, so fingers crossed! :-)

    Best Wishes,
    Lindsey V.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,036 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I seem to have abandoned this month's challenge. I cannot adult and bookstagram simultaneously. It doesn't work for me. Luckily, I'm going back to school in a month!
---
#bookstagram #books #summer #flowers #outside #buryingwater #katucker #newadult #currentlyreading #bookishlove #goodreads Happy weekend everyone!
-
Oh man, I'm so not used to using my brain - two months of rest has made me soft. I come home from work everyday dead tired. I'm just going to put it out there that I will be pretty MIA the next two months thanks to my short term job, so sorry in advance!
-
QOTD: What was the weirdest thing that happened to you this week?
-
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookrainbow #bookishrainbow #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd One of my favourite series as a kid. Rereading it with my younger brother has been fun. The Heaps are just as chaotic as I remember haha 😄
-
#lyricallybookishjuly : Day 11
Paranormal books
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #blue #green #childhood #middlegrade #favourite #currentlyreading #series #openbook #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #julybookstagramchallenge #julyphotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
