Review: Clockwork Princess

2400

Title: Clockwork Princess [#3 The Infernal Devices Trilogy]
Author: Cassandra Clare
Synopsis:

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy. Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?
Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.
A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

Okay to start this off, I must note that this was probably the best possible conclusion Cassandra Clare could have made for this trilogy. I just can’t… Jem… and Will… and Gabriel… but THAT DAMN WAYLAND. I JUST…. ALL MY FEELS.

Before you begin the book, I have two suggestions for you.

1. DO NOT LOOK AT THE FAMILY TREE. WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT LOOK AT IT. NOT EVEN A GLANCE. ‘CAUSE THAT WILL RUIN EVERYTHING.
2. Brace yourself.

We left demon pox, yin fen, and a number of things hanging there at the end of Clockwork Prince, and this is where we start from in Clockwork Princess. Apparently, demon pox doesn’t just stop at making your skin funny. I was as surprised as everyone else (save for Will) about what happens to Benedict Lightwood. Let’s just say it’s gets a little slimy. But can I just mention that Cecily is a freaking badass. She just OWNS it out on the field and as annoying as I found her, I also couldn’t help but respect her. Her character really grew on me as the book went on.

OH MY GOD THOUGH can we just talk about Gideon. His character is adorable in this book. He was just not meant to be a suitor, but by Jove, when it came down to it, his speech and declaration of love was just perfect. -sighs happily-

Then there’s Gabriel. LORD knows that kid needed some taming. But I was really proud of both him and Gideon in this book. They really proved themselves in my eyes, and their characters really came out in this novel.

THEN THERE’S CONSUL WAYLAND. CAN HE JUST … well… But honestly, he was such a HUGE douche in this novel. From him, we don’t even really see him much. Most of his ‘appearances’ are in letters going between him and the … Clave? was it? But yeah, just from LETTERS, I was extremely pissed off at his character. How did we go from this douche to the ‘kind’ Michael Wayland that everyone talks about in TMI?

Anyways, on to what you really want to hear. Jem or Will? Honestly, I’ve always been team Jem ’cause he’s just so sweet and perfect and stuff, but then Will is reckless and sometimes a douche too (“but he’s like that ’cause reason!!”). Yeah, yeah, I know, but he didn’t click for me. However, in this book, I really couldn’t hate either of them. They were so damn perfect in every respect I just couldn’t… but then Jem… and then Will… and the Silent Brothers… worm… yin fen… Mortmain… UGH. I JUST COULDN’T HANDLE IT.

AND OH MY GOD… WILL… AND… UGH… THAT HURT MY HEART. AND THEN JEM… AND THE BRIDGE AND UGH….

But honestly, what slayed me was the damn epilogue. THAT. FUCKING. HURT. CASSANDRA. CLARE.

MOVING ON TO EVERYTHING ELSE THOUGH. I like how Cassandra tied everything together in the end. We understand the clockwork angel, we understand Mortmain (kind of… there’s only so much you can understand about someone if they’re like him…), and we get to see who Tessa does and doesn’t end up with. Here’s a hint. It’s not…. BENEDICT. ‘Cause… honestly, ain’t nobody want to get with that…

In all seriousness though, I absolutely loved how Clare tied it all off. And then she also cliffhangered it for TDA, which I think is pretty darn devious. In my honest opinion, Clockwork Princess has topped my list of favourite fantasy novels. Amazing book and amazing story. Absolutely loved it ~

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.61/5

Also, once you’re done reading, I found this video extremely entertaining and totally relatable after:

1 Comment

Filed under Trilogies

One response to “Review: Clockwork Princess

  1. Hello! I have nominated you for the Sunshine Award! I always enjoy your posts! You can read about the Sunshine Award here: http://deerereadergirl.wordpress.com/2013/04/21/sunshine-award/.
    Have a wonderful day!
    DeereReaderGirl

Leave a Reply

