Day 10: Favorite Classic Book

Oh… This is hard. Not because I have a billion to list, but because I really don’t know which books fall under the category “Classic” these days.  And, in all honesty, I’ve never read anything by Jane Austen, Emily Bronte, or any of those authors. Nothing by Charles Dickens, and the only book I read by Mark Twain I did not enjoy… I loved The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde, does that count? What about Shakespeare plays? Do those count? ‘Cause I loved A Midsummer Night’s Dream. According to Goodreads, they count as “Classics”. Also under that list, I adored A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett and I liked Homer’s Odyssey, as well, ‘course I think I read the short version of it… I read The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis and loved that book too… never did finish the rest of the series though…

So… I guess I don’t have a specific favourite because I’m not even sure any of those count… In short…

I loved The Importance of Being Earnest because it was funny, and quite cleverly written. The play/movie was well done as well.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream was hilarious. My favourite play by Shakespeare.

A Little Princess was heartbreaking, yet beautiful in it’s own way.

I love Greek Mythology, and so I loved The Odyssey.

And since second grade, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe has been one of my favourite books. I also read the preceeding book and found it extremely interesting as well. C.S. Lewis just created such a magical world and I got sucked in.

Most people have fallen in love with Pride and Prejudice… since I’ve never read that, these are my favourites, hopefully at least one of those counts as an answer…. (yn)

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Seriously, you never know what’s “classic” these days! I remember a friend telling me how she overheard this girl saying, “Oh my god! You never read Twilight?! It’s like a classic!”

    No hate on Twilight, but… gurl, no.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,036 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    "I simply remember my favourite things..." 🎶
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #rainbow #bookishrainbow #tsumtsum #stitch #pikachu #flowers #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd Such beautiful end pages! These are found in the Collection of Charles Dickens, Perfect Ruin, Carry On, Talon, and Soldier. I am also in love with the Red Queen end pages! 😍
-
#literaryjune17 : Day 27
End pages
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #blue #charlesdickens #carryon #perfectruin #talon #soldier #juliekagawa #endpages #endpaper #openbook #paper #candle #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #junebookchallenge #junephotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads Happy 20th Anniversary to Harry Potter 😄
-
Bookmarks from @oriandle and @inapaperforest 😘
-
QOTD: Which house are you in? I'm a Hufflepuff 🐝 (there's no badger emoticon haha)
-
#summerbookishcovers17 : Day 26
Book
---
#bookstagram #books #harrypotter #ya #youngadult #middlegrade #paranormal #fantasy #series #bookmarks #book #slytherin #hufflepuff #gryffindor #ravenclaw #goldensnitch #bookishlove #goodreads #bookishjewelry #harrypotter20 #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
