Day 09: A Book You Thought You Wouldn’t Like But Ended Up Loving

Yes, yes, I know -rolls- I’ll TRY to do BETTER… but I guarantee NOTHING (a)

I usually don’t start books that I think I won’t like… ’cause… I just don’t. So finding this book was hard.

I was “forced” to read this book back in grade eight for English class. I already had a copy of the book ’cause I had ordered it from Scholastic… okay, that’s a lie. My parents ordered something else and Scholastic was all like “Yo man… we’re sorry but we don’t have that book anymore even though we PUT IT IN OUR CATALOG…. so here ya go. Hope this makes up for it!” Now eight year old me was just like, “… what is this?!” and then it proceeded to sit on my shelf for five years. I finally cracked the cover when my teacher said, “We’re going to be reading Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli.”

Thirteen year old me was quite pleased since I could use my own book instead of the school’s hacked up version, but I can’t say that I started reading the book happily. It was more of a force of will.

22232

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Conformity. Me and it are best friends because that’s exactly what I played into five years ago. Sure, at first I hated the book as much as everyone else in my class did. But as I read more, I loved the ideas within the novel, and loved that it was telling everyone not to be a carbon copy of everyone else. However, while I started liking the novel, loving it even, everyone else still hated it. They hated the story. They hated Stargirl. They all wondered why she couldn’t be “normal”. Unlike Stargirl, I caved in. I hated on this book as much as every other kid in my class, words poured out of my mouth, all of them lies. All to fit in.

I look back now and wonder why I did it. Since then, I’ve grown so much, changed my ways. Now, I’m not afraid to stand up for what I believe in, to have my opinion heard by others, no matter how much they oppose “normal”. This book was merely a stepping stone to that change.

Stargirl was probably the first Nerdfighter. Creating her own normal on her own terms. Now-a-days, people will probably pick up this book and love it because of the concept of it all, the ideas that Spinelli had way before the very same ideas because ‘mainstream’.

Back to the point. I hated this book, at the beginning. I was bored out of my mind and walked into it with the thought of just getting through it as fast as possible, because how often are school books fun to read? (I kid, I actually loved most of the ones I’ve been assigned. Except for Lord of the Flies… and 1984. Great ideas, but LOTF was not my thing, and 1984 was drier than the Atacama Desert.(But, of course, I ‘hated’ most of them when asked my opinion of the novels… ’cause peer pressure… and life sucks when you’re a kid)). I wasn’t looking forward to this book, and thought I’d hate it, but I ended up loving it, relating to the characters – to Stargirl’s quirkiness, to Leo’s fear of standing out, to his need to fit in. Even now, I look back and wonder why everyone seemed to have hated the book with such a passion. Did they really mean it? Or were they simply trying to fit in too?

Being the same as everyone else is boring, and I love Spinelli for pointing this out. As Oliver James said, “Why are trying so hard to fit in when you were born to stand out?” [What A Girl Wants (2003)]

As with that movie, I seriously recommend this book, if you haven’t read it yet. It’s a real eye opener.

I want to hear your stories though. Have you ever said something you didn’t mean, or stated an opinion that was never yours, just to fit in? Would you still do that, if you had the chance to relive that/those moment(s)?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Day 29: A Book Everyone Hated But You Liked | Between Printed Pages

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,029 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    Hiya @nerdyaddictionshop ! My name is Alicia and I'm from Canada 🍁 First off, I want to say how much I love your shop! I fell in love with your work from your It's the Nerdy Life box and I've been loving your new line of watercolour bookmarks. They're so unique and beautiful 😍 I have a slight obsession with your new designs so I'd love to rep them for you and help you share your beautiful art with the world!
.
As for posting, now that I'm done with my job and am back in school, I'll be posting everyday! Throughout the fall months I want to go and explore the city I'm now calling home and I would love to take your bookmarks with me (thus the inclusion of the image staring Five Ways to Fall). It would be a weekly endeavour where I'd walk around town and capture something that I love, with a book and your bookmark (or your bookmark alone). Further, I'll be taking photos similar to the others featured here and would be willing to promote only your bookmarks during the time I'm rep. I feel like my feed matches your bookmark aesthetic. I love vibrant colours and the most I adjust my photos is using sharpening and changing lighting. With the myriad of colours you use, I think your bookmarks would pop on my feed 😄 Lastly, I'm happy to host giveaways and post about sales on my feed, as well as my blog, Twitter, and Facebook page. My Instagram feed also shows up on my blog's homepage!
.
As Taheri Mafi is expanding her Shatter Me series, I would love to see bookmarks with quotes from her series, as well as symbolic representations of each character's ability (ex. A symbol of healing for the twins, or of invisibility for Kenji). I think your watercolour art would be a beautiful backdrop for these or can be incorporated within the designs themselves. I'd love to see your take on this series (it's one of my favourites 😜)
.
Thanks again for the wonderful opportunity and good luck to everyone who has entered!
.
Thanks all for reading! Wish me luck friends 😄🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #repsearch #nafall2017reps #nerdyaddiction #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan Good morning and happy Friday! I will be MIA the next few days as I pack and move out to school. I'm excited to get started with my program, but I'm also worried I won't have enough time to finish packing everything before Sunday 😅 I'll be back next week! Thanks for all the love 😘 Have a good weekend!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #orange #yellow #starwars #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog This is something I struggle with on a daily basis. What should I attribute value to? What should I invest my time and money in? I guess it's just the thoughts of a recent grad floating around me, but investments in the future are becoming more and more important to me and I'm at a loss. All I know is that I will always invest money and time into my book collection 😅
-
QOTD: Looking to the future, what are some of your greatest fears?
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookishrainbow #bookishheart #bookspines #bookstack #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #worldliness
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
