Review: The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window

13628209

Title: The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window
Author: Kirsty Moseley

Summary:

Amber Walker and her older brother, Jake, have an abusive father. One night her brother’s best friend, Liam, sees her crying and climbs through her bedroom window to comfort her. That one action sparks a love/hate relationship that spans over the next eight years.

Liam is now a confident, flirty player who has never had a girlfriend before. Amber is still emotionally scarred from the abuse she suffered at the hands of her father. Together they make an unlikely pair.

Their relationship has always been a rocky one, but what happens when Amber starts to view her brother’s best friend a little differently? And how will her brother, who has always been a little overprotective, react when he finds out that the pair are growing closer? Find out in The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window.

Okay this book… I can probably tear it to shreds just based on the writing ’cause DAYUM that was some not so great writing… I’m not saying I’m amazing, but if you’re going to publish a book, it shouldn’t sound like something I had written, and scrapped, back in eighth grade.

There are two factors to this novel that I’d like to talk about, the writing and the plot/storyline. One was really good, and really well done, the other? Not so much. From my intro, you’ve probably deduced which is which.

Let’s start with the writing.

Liam laughed as I cringed getting out of the car, trying to avoid the horde of skanks that banged into me because they were trying to throw themselves at him. One girl elbowed me on purpose. I looked at her in her tiny skirt that looked more like a belt and her top that showed her stomach, and grimaced. Jeez, she is such a ho!

“Holy crap, Jessica, did you know you left your skirt at home?” I asked with mock horror.

She scowled at me and I heard Liam and Jake laugh. “Whatev’s, you do know that the emo look doesn’t work for you, right?” she spat back.

I just laughed and walked off. It was usual for Jessica and I to have these sort of comments for each other.

There are so many things in that one little snippet alone that bothered me. I think Moseley used the words ‘slut’, ‘ho’, ‘whore’, etc. in this book more than the word ‘the’ (that’s not actually true, but she used it A LOT). As well as ‘man-whore’, ‘jerk’, and ‘asshole’ to describe the love interest in the book. GRANTED, he did sleep around a lot, but this dude has been chilling with you every night to keep your nightmares away, and he’s sweet to you and all that jazz, especially after you start dating and stuff, so like… RUDE.

Also, that last sentence there, “have these sort of comments for each other”. That bothered me immensely. Those aren’t just comments, their insults. And it’s not like your shooting them around for fun, you hate each other. LIKE. No.

In addition to all of that… EMO? REALLY? She wears black. I wear black. Does that give me an ’emo look’ ? No, it doesn’t.

Anyways, throughout the novel, this girl considers practically every girl in her school a slut, even herself. This isn’t even because of sex (well kind of). She thinks that her friends are sluts ’cause they like flirting with her supposedly super hot brother and his best friend. UM. No. Flirting does not equate to being slutty, and the whole idea Moseley has going on about being a slut and slutty behaviour and such is degrading, demeaning, and wrong on so many levels. The fact that there are not any other girls except for the ‘slutty’ ones in the school is unrealistic, as well as the idea that all these girls are so damn insane that they CROWD around their car when Liam, Jake, and Amber get to school just to see Liam and Jake. They’re not celebrities. This does not happen in real life. It’s stupid that Moseley portrays girls as such, and the fact that it’s so utterly unrealistic adds to my irritation.

That barely skims the surface of the number of passages that irked me, but that covers the main things.

TO THE PLOT !

The overall idea of the book is good, amazing, in fact.

This girl, who grew up with an abusive father, doesn’t trust men. After being physically and sexually abused, she’s mentally scarred by the experience. The only person who seems to keep her sane is Liam, a guy who has slept in her bed since she was eight. In moments of panic, she turns to him, when she can’t sleep he’s always there for her. As per usual, she doesn’t know that the poor man is in love with her.

She also has her brother Jake, who is overly protective of his little sister. He’s willing to beat up anyone who looks at her funny, and his only weakness is probably his family, namely his sister. However, I do believe that he’s a LITTLE domineering in the sense that she’s afraid that he’ll get angry at somethings (for example, the fact that his best friend has been sleeping in her room since forever). In the end though, you can see how much they care for each other.

This story shows the emotional scars that sexual and physical abuse can leave on people, not just children, though that is the case here. It shows the fear that embeds itself under victims’ skin. But it also shows that even with those memories, people can still live and be happy as long as they find the right people to be there for them in their time(s) of need.

The message in this novel is powerful, but there is also so much about this book that holds it back from it’s full potential.

Moseley constantly placed Amber, the MC, in threatening situations, where she would face the same fears that haunt her each day. Men would crowd her, or offer to screw her, etc. etc.. While that can happen in real life, it happens one too many times to Amber in this book, making it seem unrealistic, or the she lives in a really shitty neighbourhood. Although this may display her fear for men, Moseley overused the idea, leaving the plot to fall flat on its face.

I can go on and on criticizing the book, but in all honestly, it could have been worse. However, it also could have been a lot better. The idea, as a whole, was there, but it was over crowded by other things. The emotional part should have come out more, in a novel such as this, instead of the constant criticism that spewed from the narrator about all the other girls around her. The focus in this book kept diverting, and, although I loved the overall idea, the the novel left me sitting under my line of expectations.

Writing: 1.5/5
Plot: 4/5
Characters: 3/5
Overall: 2.5/5
Goodreads Rating: 4.11/5

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,036 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I seem to have abandoned this month's challenge. I cannot adult and bookstagram simultaneously. It doesn't work for me. Luckily, I'm going back to school in a month!
---
#bookstagram #books #summer #flowers #outside #buryingwater #katucker #newadult #currentlyreading #bookishlove #goodreads Happy weekend everyone!
-
Oh man, I'm so not used to using my brain - two months of rest has made me soft. I come home from work everyday dead tired. I'm just going to put it out there that I will be pretty MIA the next two months thanks to my short term job, so sorry in advance!
-
QOTD: What was the weirdest thing that happened to you this week?
-
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookrainbow #bookishrainbow #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd One of my favourite series as a kid. Rereading it with my younger brother has been fun. The Heaps are just as chaotic as I remember haha 😄
-
#lyricallybookishjuly : Day 11
Paranormal books
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #blue #green #childhood #middlegrade #favourite #currentlyreading #series #openbook #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #julybookstagramchallenge #julyphotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
