Day 03: Your Favorite Series

Favourite** /CanadianProblems.

There are a bajillion series, so choosing my favourite series is HARD. I mean, I love Harry Potter, because, honestly, who hasn’t at one point. However, as classic as that series has become, it’s not my favourite at the moment. I love the Bloodlines series, by Richelle Mead, but for some reason wasn’t too satisfied with The Indigo Spell. I also LOVE The Infernal Devices Trilogy, though that’s subject to change seeing as the last book has yet to be released (Clockwork Princess is in stores on March 19th, 2013), as well as The Mortal Instruments Series, by Cassandra Clare. With all those series on my top ten list, I think my favourite, at the moment, is A Song of Ice and Fire, known to most as Game of Thrones, by George R.R. Martin:

GOT

I know some people hated this series. They hated the male-dominance that was depicted throughout the book, the sex, the nudity, the rape. I’m not a feminist, but I also do not condone most of what happened in this novel. However, I love the adventure, the scheming, the violence. Maybe I’m a bloodthirsty non-feminist, but I love this series. It’s gritty, nightmare-ish, and by gods do I want to chop off Joffrey’s head. UGH.

I first heard about the HBO series of the books, Game of Thrones, from my grade eleven crush. At 11 o’ clock at night, I asked/begged him to edit my essay. In exchange, he told me that I had to watch the first episode of Game of Thrones. Slightly wary, I did as I was told and almost immediately became obsessed. Needless to say, my academics were not a priority in the weeks in which I was totally addicted to the show. In the end, this led to buying the series, then reading the series, and even attempting some sort of fan art (i.e. I copied a chibi of Sansa and made a chibi of Joffrey looking like the douche he is… my fanart ends there (who knows, maybe one day I’ll post it… don’t hold your breath though)). Heck, I even read a fanfiction of Arya’s life in a world that had taken a different root. Took me two days to read it, but it was insanely well done.

This series, as demeaning as it is at some points, captivated me, and still has me hooked. Season three of Game of Thrones is out March 31, 2013 and I can’t wait ! (The actors for this show are freaking amazing… they play their parts insanely well)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,022 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    This cute cottage is a replica of the house Shakespeare shared with his wife Anne Hathaway!
-
Beautiful print from @nerdyaddictionshop's It's the Nerdy Life box!
---
#bookstagram #books #shakespeare #shakespearegarden #annehathaway #history #print #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #poster #postcard #art #bookblog I'm in love with the section pages of Caraval. I've heard so many great things about the book and now a part of me is afraid to read it... I mean, look at ACOTAR and where I ended up...
-
QOTD: What's a series that was super hyped up but just ended up disappointing you?
-
Candle by @wanderlightscandleco
Bookmark by @markingdreams
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #caraval #stephaniegarber #ya #youngadult #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #openbook #bibliophile #bookmark #candle The Avon River cuts through Stratford and it's surrounded by a lovely pathways and patches of flowers! This place would kill me if it were spring time haha 💦
-
Bookmark by @nerdy.post 😍
---
#bookstagram #books #green #flowers #garden #shakespeare #shakespearegarden #avonriver #thehobbit #nerdypostbox #bookmark #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
