Day 01: Best Book You Read Last Year

First off… MY BAD. Yesterday, I got back to Toronto and MAN WAS I TIRED… so I kind of just… fell asleep… haha, sorry !

I read a hundred books last year and I loved (and hated) a number of them. Honestly, the best of 2012 could be Shine by Jeri Smith-Ready, Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry or even Slammed by Colleen Hoover. But I have to say, the best book I read last year was Easy by Tammara Webber.

You can read my review of Easy here

Well, you may be asking yourself “Why Easy? Of all those books, why that one?”

In all honestly, there’s so much about Easy that just blew me away. I first saw it on Goodreads when I was trying to vote for best fiction. As with many others, I chose The Fault in Our Stars. Of course, the year had been far from over when this contest was running, and I thought, “Hmm… all these books made it this far in the ‘competition’, there must be something to them.” One of those books, if you haven’t figured it out already, was Easy:

Rescued by a stranger.
Haunted by a secret
Sometimes, love isn’t easy…

He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior…

The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he’d worked so hard to overcome, and the future she’d put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.

Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth—and find the unexpected power of love.

A groundbreaking novel in the New Adult genre, Easy faces one girl’s struggle to regain the trust she’s lost, find the inner strength to fight back against an attacker, and accept the peace she finds in the arms of a secretive boy.

This book was like a blooming flower, it started off slow (after the first crazy intense scene) but once everything was revealed, it was totally worth the wait. Webber is great at plot development, as well as character development. I also loved her writing style because you could feel everything the characters felt, see everything they saw. The novel was extremely vivid.

And the romance scenes. By gods. Every time there was a kiss between Jacqueline and Lucas, -shivers-. The chemistry between the characters was practically tangible and their romance was epic. I absolutely loved the characters and how they made each other stronger, it was just… -sigh ~ –

I also loved this book because it was set in university, the educational institution in which I am now a part of, as a student. That helped me connect a lot better with the characters, and Jacqueline’s issues in economics class had me rooting for her ’cause I hated econ when I took it last semester. My mark did the opposite of her though… but nonetheless, it was nice reading about characters in a university setting.

The last thing I loved about this book is that it wasn’t just a book  that dealt with one main issue, and it wasn’t just a book that was just romance-la-la-la fluff. It was a book that had one main problem, sure, but under all that were other issues among other characters that helped the book develop amazingly.

Ugh, this book also gave me the longest hangover ever. Even now, four months after reading it for the first time, on nights that I could be spending reading something new, I go back to Easy and scan through the book, sometimes reading large chunks. They’re not even the romantic bits (at least not all the time, that is), but like just things here and there. Conversations at parties, interactions between Jaqueline and Landon, or her and Lucas, bits of her raging against Kennedy. It’s such a great book that I still haven’t left it’s literary clutches.

I recommend anyone and everyone to read it, especially girls/women. It’s an eye opener, but at the same time, it’s just an amazing read. Hands down, Easy was definitely the best book I read in 2012.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    I'll play catch up on my challenges next week! I'll be home in two days 😄 Any Avatar fans out there? The blue people, not the benders.
-
What luck! We're at Animal Kingdom today and Pandora is doing a surprise soft opening! The rides are A M A Z I N G and the world is so beautiful 🌍 Just went on the Flight of Passage and it was so cool! I'm so happy right now 😄😄😄😄
-
Follow my story for more pics of Pandora!
---
#avatar #disney #pandora #animalkingdom #worldofavatar #vacation #disneyworld #flightofpassage #waltdisneyworld A long time ago in a galaxy far far away...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #starwars #series #trilogy #yoda #disney #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #epcot #missionspace
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
