Review: A Want So Wicked

Title: A Want So Wicked
Author: Suzanne Young

Synopsis:

Elise is a normal seventeen-year-old girl until the day she wakes up in a desert park, with no idea who she is. 

After that episode, her life takes a bizarre turn. She’s experiencing unexpected flashes of insight into people’s lives—people she’s never met before. Strangers frighten her with warnings about the approaching Shadows. And although Elise has never had a boyfriend, she suddenly finds herself torn between two handsome but very different young men: Abe, the charming bad boy whose effect on her both seduces and frightens her, and the mysterious Harlin, who’s new to town but with whom Elise feels an urgent, elemental connection—almost as if they are soul mates.

Now Elise begins to question everything about her life. Why do these guys both want her so desperately? What are the Shadows? Why does the name Charlotte inspire a terrifying familiarity? And who is Elise, really?

As I said in my review of the first novel, this book had what the other didn’t and vice versa.

List time!

1. A Need So Beautiful, I found, contained a lot more emotion, more anguish. There was more of a fire between Charlotte and Harlin than there was with the two characters in A Want So Wicked. This book had emotions, but they were more like self-hatred and regret than loss of life and memories. There’s not that much of a difference, but you see it (i.e. The first book managed to make me cry, while the second one didn’t, it did, however, make me pity Onika…)

2. Where A Need So Beautiful had the idea of ‘light’ and angelic beauty, A Want So Wicked showed the courser side of everything – it told Onika’s story and what she had to do in order to survive. It gave us the dark side to the Forgotten, and what happens when they stay. This kind of completed the ideas that were tossed out into the open in A Need So Beautiful.

3. Memories. Where Charlotte had none before a certain age, Elise remembered her childhood, her present self, and everything in between.

4. The End. I liked the end of A Need So Beautiful a lot more than A Want So Wicked. I actually found that the end of AWSW was a lot more confusing and rushed, almost, than ANSB. (Yeah I gave up on typing the titles…). Maybe I missed something? But AWSW didn’t really feel finished. It felt like there were supposed to be a few more pages, maybe even an epilogue, but there was nothing.

I really liked both books of this series, and each one had its merits. Though I loved seeing the darker side of everything, I didn’t like that the emotional connection wasn’t as strong. Also, the ending bothers me. I feel like there’s still a few answers that were left unsaid, and a lot of questions that were never answered. I don’t know… I feel like there should be more to AWSW or at least a novella or something answering some of the questions posed in AWSW that were never truly answered.

Plot: 4.5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 3.5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 4/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.06/5

Quotes:
“It’s nice to meet you, Elise,” he says, a slow, sexy smile pulling at his lips. “I’m Harlin.”

“Are you sure this is okay?” he asks. “I mean, did your dad really invite the handsome stranger who’s dating his daughter to sleep on the couch?”
“I like how you added in the ‘handsome.”

“Thought you said this was just dinner?”
Abe opens the glass door and holds it for me. As I pass by him, he lowers his head so that his voice is close to my ear. “It’s never just dinner.”

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,016 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I finally got Fire! I read it years ago after I first read Graceling and I loved it! Excited to read it again!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #fall #fallintofall #ya #youngadult #fantasy #series #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks When the weather is against you, and the lighting sucks...
-
So in love with this cover by the way. I need to put myself on a book ban. I don't have enough money for all these books... Either that or I need a job.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #thestrangecaseofthealchemistsdaughter #ebook #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #tea Check out this awesome giveaway by @thecaffeinatedbook #thecaffeinatedgiveaway 😄 I just dropped a puddle of water on this book, so here it is when it was still pretty 😫
-
Thanks everyone for entering my giveaway! It's closed now 😊 I'll tally up the entries and play the random number game. Good luck! 🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #theboneseason #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookstairs Two more days! Check out my original post for details!
---
#bookstagram #books #giveaway #bookishgiveaway #bookgiveaway #internationalgiveaway #withoutmerit #colleenhoover Our Dark Duet still remains on my TBR list. School makes reading for fun really hard...
-
QOTD: What's your favourite time of day?
AOTD: 7AM, though I'm rarely conscious at that time, when I am the world is so beautiful 🌅
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #ya #youngadult #dystopian #paranormal #ourdarkduet #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #thissavagesong #veschwab #victoriaschwab #reddoorstudio It's a gloomy day today, but I need to get stuff done. There's something about cold weather and fog that just makes me want to curl up in bed and never leave!
-
QOTD: What's your favourite bookstore?
AOTD: Mine is either Fanfare Books or BMV. I love Indigo too, but I enjoy supporting the smaller companies!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #asteptowardsfalling #cammiemcgovern #youngadult #ya #contemporaryromance #romance #contemporary #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #openbook I've never read anything by Samantha Young, but this cover strong armed me into buying the book 😋. I'm excited to get started! 📖📚
-
Also, happy Canadian Thanksgiving friends 😄🍁
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #playon #samanthayoung #candle #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookstairs #ebook #jojomoyes #rosamundhodge #nakedbooks #thanksgiving I'm excited for the next book in @coracarmack's Stormheart series! And this cover is so beautiful 😍😍
-
Less than a week left to enter my giveaway btw! Check my feed for the post!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #orange #rage #roar #stormheart #series #sequel #fall #giveaway #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #ebook
  • Twitterley-Do-Da

  • Facebook

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • Web
Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter
