Review: Shine

Title: Shine
Author: Jeri Smith-Ready

Synopsis

No other love has burned so bright 

Life can change in an instant, and no one understands that better than Aura. It’s been almost a year since her boyfriend tragically died. She’s finally letting go of Logan’s violet-hued ghost, but not her search to uncover the truth about her past. As the first in a generation that can see ghosts, Aura is convinced that she has a connection to the Shift. She’s trusted Zachary, ever patient and ever by her side, with all that she knows. But when the government threatens his life in an attempt to learn Aura’s secrets, she will stop at nothing to protect herself and the one she loves…even if that means betraying her own heart. 

I know I’ve reacted to a lot of books like this, but… OH. MY. GOSH.

Honestly, this was on crazy ending to one crazy series. Like, I don’t even…

I read this book about two months ago and every time I think about it, I can feel my mind blowing again.

Before I get to the novel though, can we just talk about this cover, because… WHY!? Not only does this new cover NOT match the other two original covers, but it’s not that pretty, I’m sorry. I don’t like the girl’s make-up and I’m honestly just not particular about this girl just like staring at me, her eyes dead… I just … no.

‘Kay, back to the book. The novel starts out with Aura at the cemetery as we left her at the end of Shift, minus a Logan, add in a phone, subtract flight info, and we’ve got the beginning to Shine. Now add in a suicide bomber, a number of DMP agents, and a crashed plane [highlight to see spoiler] and your first thoughts will be: “HOLY HELL. NO. NO. NO!” and then once you’ve calmed down: “Only Jeri Smith-Ready can start out her books like that /dies.”

This novel was dramatic, mind-blowing, suspenseful, and don’t worry, there’s romance in there too. Also a little blood and a few ghosts. This really fuelled my ‘THE GOVERNMENT SUCKS’ mentality, which may not be a good thing in some cases… There is a lot of scenes where you’re waiting for news, or listening to Aura think about Zach, wish he was with her, praying for him, etc, etc. It took up a lot of the book, honestly. However, it also made sense. Aura already lost one guy she loved. A teenage girl can only take on so much grief at once before going crazy.

In all honestly, the first two books were pretty much Logan and Aura’s, with his death, getting over their relationship, and him passing on. But then Zach kind of slipped in there and brought another factor into the novels, leading up to this one. This book is Zach’s, through and through. And not just because Aura thought about him 24/7. It’s ’cause in this novel, he opens up, let’s the world see him at his worst. Though sometimes, the love/relationship between him and Aura overpowered the real plot of the story, where they’re supposed to be blowing up the world and try to stop people from seeing ghosts. But I did love seeing Zach as raw as he was, making his character seem real and damaged.

Add (I’m really into the math directions today) that to the interesting end of the novel and the shock of a new generation, and we’ve got ourselves a winner.

Amazingly written, Shine captured me from the very beginning to the end. An excellent finale to a fantastic series!

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 1/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.22/5

Quotes:
Instead I crawled next to him, snuggling close. “Zach, wake up.”
“Can’t. Sleeping.”
I pressed my mouth to his in a full, deep kiss.
“Second thought, not sleeping.”
-Aura and Zach

“Are you afraid someone might come in?”
His whisper twisted. “I’m afraid no one will ever come in again.”
-Aura and Zach

Flaming wreckage, one of several pieces of what was once Flight 346, floated in a Chesapeake Bay tributary. A sheen of jet fuel lay atop the river, so it looked like the water itself was on fire.
-Narrator [Aura]

And unlike the DMP and MI-X, Nighthawk could go anywhere, even Ireland. They followed no laws.
Zachary drew himself up and looked back toward the visitor center. “Fucking hell.”
-Zach

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Blue! I love blue! 💙💙
-
#bookishbox : Monday
Blue books!
-
#maddiewalimay : Day 28
Blue ombre
-
I'm terrible at the colour wheel, so there's a kind of ombre thing going on to the left of this photo. Kind of.
-
I liked blue so much I decided to play catch up for the May 28th's challenge prompt hehe.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #maybookchallenge #prompts #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #flowers #openbook #paper #bookishombre #book #favourite After a two week vacation in Florida, it's time to head home! I'm excited to get back to my book challenges and spring time weather. I don't know how y'all do it in Florida, it so hot 😰 Anyways, regular programming should be restored in the next few days, so look out for new posts and my June challenge choice! Have a good weekend friends~
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #universal #universalorlando #universalstudios #universalislandsofadventure #islandofadventure #disney #disneyhollywoodstudios #disneymagickingdom #disneyepcot #disneyanimalkingdom #pandora #avatar #harrypotter #littleinklings #cocacola #booksofinstagram #booknerd I'll play catch up on my challenges next week! I'll be home in two days 😄
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
