Review: Soulbound

Title: Soulbound [Legacy of Tril #1]
Author: Heather Brewer

Synopsis:

What’s worse than being blackmailed to attend a hidden school where you’re treated like a second-class citizen? How about nearly getting eaten by a monster when you arrive? Or learning that your soulmate was killed in a centuries-old secret war? And then there’s the evil king who’s determined to rule the world unless you can stop him…

Meet Kaya, a young woman with the power to heal and the determination to fight. But struggle as she will, she remains tied to three very different men: a hero who has forsaken glory, a tyrannical ruler who wants to use Kaya, and a warrior who’s stolen her heart. Kaya learns the hard way that some ties can’t be broken…and blood is the strongest bond of all.

First thing’s first: Thank you to Razorbill for sending me this book (:

On to my review…

Brewer’s world is split into two: the Skilled and the Unskilled. Among the Skilled, there are two types: Barrons and Healers. Barrons are the fighters, the badasses of the story. They’re the ones who fight the Skilled’s enemies, Kind Darrek and his Graplars (ugly blue scaled, dog/wolf like creatures). The Healers on the other hand are meant to… well, heal. With the touch of their hands they can heal their Barron in a matter of seconds. However, this society has been ravaged.

King Darrek is trying to rid the world of healers, to make Barrons even more susceptible to his attacks. In doing so he has killed many Soulbound healers (healers and barrons are soulbound through birth. They are born at the exact same moment and are connected at such time). As such, many Barrons are relying on Bound healers (not as effective as Soulbound).

Enter Kaya. Headstrong, scared out of her wits, but a ready to fight Healer. The only problem? Her Soulbound Barron is dead and Healers are not allowed to fight. Now, she is to to be Bound to Trayton, a rich and popular Barron, as also best friends with Darius, a silver-haired enigma, and also the only Unskilled person at Shadow Academy. As Kaya strives to learn to fight, and ticking off half her teachers, she is also caught between her Bound and the mysterious pull that she feels towards Darius.

Ah, love triangles. How I love them and the frustration they bring. Let me start with what bugged me about this book, there were three things. (I like making lists now, I don’t know why)

1. The Cover. Look at the cover, now what was the first thing you saw when you looked at it? Because I, I DID NOT notice the actual title of the book. Communication tech 101: the title should be the most prominent thing on a book/poster. Just looking at it, I thought the title was “Legacy of Tril”. Like, even Brewer’s name is more dominant on the cover than the actual title of the book… It just bothers me s’all.

2. Trayton. He just bugged me, I don’t think there’s really much reason to it. Maybe it’s just ’cause I don’t like rule abiding citizens. Laws, sure, but rules? Psht.

3. The end. Don’t get me wrong, it was awesome and relatively surprising, but my first thought was: if someone’s Soulbound to another, shouldn’t they feel some kind of tug or connection?! There was little to no clues that led to that ending. Well, there was half a clue… Er…

Honestly? I REALLY liked this book. I liked Kaya’s strong personality and her determination to fight. Also, I like her attitude (reminded me of me, haha). I liked the history that Brewer made for this society and the overall concept of the book. Sure, it wasn’t a perfect book, but my thoughts by the end were just “Wow”.

This book was a mix of Vampire Academy (Richelle Mead) + Eon (Alison Goodman) + Graceling (Kristin Cashore). It kept me hooked from beginning to end. Noted, there were some parts that were a little random, hints that weren’t so subtle, or things that just popped out of nowhere and it’s just like “HOW IN THE O_O?” But overall, I was satisfied with this book, and can’t wait to read the next novel~ Too bad I have to wait (like every other book I’ve read this year (it seems)).

Plot: 4.5/5
Characters: 4.5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 4/5
Overall: 4.5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.14/5

Quotes:
My jaw hit the floor. “Maddox, I can’t go out there alone! What about the Graplars?”
“I don’t know if you noticed when you got here,” she said with a smirk, “but the whole school is surrounded by a big fakkin’ wall.”
-Kaya and Maddox

When he lifted his eyes to meet mine, I felt a spark of electricity. It was brief, but very, very real. Suddenly I was incredibly aware of his hand on my thigh, of the way he smelled, and the warmth coming off his skin.
-Narrator [Kaya]

“I’ll owe you one. Seriously.”
“By one do you mean a new head? Because if we get caught, mine’s getting bitten off.”
-Trayton and Maddox

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Ah! It was so good! I love the little guy who kept grabbing all the shiny things. I think it might be my spirit animal haha!
----
#fantasticbeasts #movie #harrypotter #fantasticbeastsandwheretofindthem #ticket I went out to support my friend at her fourth year Fine Arts exhibition today! The art was beautiful and I couldn't resist purchasing the catalogue containing all of their artist statements and pieces!
-
Check out her work @shairyourstory!
---
#uwaterloolife #uwaterlooarts #ignite #finearts #leaves #catalog #nailart #bookstagram #books #foilprint I've never actually lit a candle for fear of setting the house on fire. So my roommate lit this one.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #flowers #openbook #paper #candle #bookstagrammer #ballsy #scaredycat
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
