Review: The Golden Lily

Title: The Golden Lily
Author: Richelle Mead

Synopsis

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

Sydney would love to go to college, but instead, she’s been sent into hiding at a posh boarding school in Palm Springs, California–tasked with protecting Moroi princess Jill Dragomir from assassins who want to throw the Moroi court into civil war. Formerly in disgrace, Sydney is now praised for her loyalty and obedience, and held up as the model of an exemplary Alchemist.

But the closer she grows to Jill, Eddie, and especially Adrian, the more she finds herself questioning her age–old Alchemist beliefs, her idea of family, and the sense of what it means to truly belong. Her world becomes even more complicated when magical experiments show Sydney may hold the key to prevent becoming Strigoi—the fiercest vampires, the ones who don’t die. But it’s her fear of being just that—special, magical, powerful—that scares her more than anything. Equally daunting is her new romance with Brayden, a cute, brainy guy who seems to be her match in every way. Yet, as perfect as he seems, Sydney finds herself being drawn to someone else—someone forbidden to her.

When a shocking secret threatens to tear the vampire world apart, Sydney’s loyalties are suddenly tested more than ever before. She wonders how she’s supposed to strike a balance between the principles and dogmas she’s been taught, and what her instincts are now telling her.

Should she trust the Alchemists—or her heart?

First off, thank you to Razorbill for sending me a copy (: It is greatly appreciated~!

Oh. My. GOSH. Richelle Mead has rendered me speechless (and if you know me, that’s hard to do). To be honest, I don’t even care what happened during the book, it was the end, THE VERY END, that killed me. Stick a fork in me and I’m done.  You don’t even know how much I was reeling when the book finished. My gosh.

Throughout the novel, Sydney is stuck between herself as she gets closer and closer to her Moroi and Dhampir friends, she finds herself questioning her Alchemist ties. This becomes even more prominent when she finds herself tangled in the Alchemist history: something often censored to her. With the disappearance of a Moroi, Sydney must find a way to save them, all while trying to stay true to her Alchemist bonds, to wade through the long and tedious history of the Alchemists, and to get through a date with her new boyfriend Brayden without Adrian interrupting.

This book keeps you on the edge of your seat anticipating what’ll happen next. Full of betrayal, first time romances, totally surprising events, and a history so complicated, it’d be easier finding a needle in the Pacific Ocean (okay… maybe that’s a slight exaggeration, but you know…), this book will get you hooked from the start, and the end will leave you wanting and begging for more, or will result in you screaming, pulling your hair out, or violent acts towards the physical novel itself. I seriously LOVED every second of this book (maybe it’s ’cause I LOVE Adrian, or just ’cause all of Richelle Mead’s novels seem to just blow me away… regardless, it was awesome!).

If you hate cliffhangers/that hyper feeling where you just want to jump to the next book RIGHT AFTER you’ve finished the previous one, well you might want to wait until next January-March to read the book, I’m just saying.

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.43/5

Quotes:
“I tried to be a better person for her– but it was to impress her, to get her to want me. But when I’m around you, I want to be better because… well, because it feels right. Because I want to. You make me want to become something greater than myself.”
-Adrian

“I did it because he wasn’t fair to you. Because you deserve credit for what you’ve done. Because he needs to realize you aren’t the person he’s always thought you were. He needs to see you for who you really are, not for all the ideas and preconceptions he’s built up around you.”
-Sydney

“You know Latin?” I asked.
“Sure,” he said. “Who doesn’t?”
Trey rolled his eyes. “Only the rest of the world,” he muttered.
-Sydney, Brayden, Trey

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,029 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    Hiya @nerdyaddictionshop ! My name is Alicia and I'm from Canada 🍁 First off, I want to say how much I love your shop! I fell in love with your work from your It's the Nerdy Life box and I've been loving your new line of watercolour bookmarks. They're so unique and beautiful 😍 I have a slight obsession with your new designs so I'd love to rep them for you and help you share your beautiful art with the world!
.
As for posting, now that I'm done with my job and am back in school, I'll be posting everyday! Throughout the fall months I want to go and explore the city I'm now calling home and I would love to take your bookmarks with me (thus the inclusion of the image staring Five Ways to Fall). It would be a weekly endeavour where I'd walk around town and capture something that I love, with a book and your bookmark (or your bookmark alone). Further, I'll be taking photos similar to the others featured here and would be willing to promote only your bookmarks during the time I'm rep. I feel like my feed matches your bookmark aesthetic. I love vibrant colours and the most I adjust my photos is using sharpening and changing lighting. With the myriad of colours you use, I think your bookmarks would pop on my feed 😄 Lastly, I'm happy to host giveaways and post about sales on my feed, as well as my blog, Twitter, and Facebook page. My Instagram feed also shows up on my blog's homepage!
.
As Taheri Mafi is expanding her Shatter Me series, I would love to see bookmarks with quotes from her series, as well as symbolic representations of each character's ability (ex. A symbol of healing for the twins, or of invisibility for Kenji). I think your watercolour art would be a beautiful backdrop for these or can be incorporated within the designs themselves. I'd love to see your take on this series (it's one of my favourites 😜)
.
Thanks again for the wonderful opportunity and good luck to everyone who has entered!
.
Thanks all for reading! Wish me luck friends 😄🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #repsearch #nafall2017reps #nerdyaddiction #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan Good morning and happy Friday! I will be MIA the next few days as I pack and move out to school. I'm excited to get started with my program, but I'm also worried I won't have enough time to finish packing everything before Sunday 😅 I'll be back next week! Thanks for all the love 😘 Have a good weekend!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #orange #yellow #starwars #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog This is something I struggle with on a daily basis. What should I attribute value to? What should I invest my time and money in? I guess it's just the thoughts of a recent grad floating around me, but investments in the future are becoming more and more important to me and I'm at a loss. All I know is that I will always invest money and time into my book collection 😅
-
QOTD: Looking to the future, what are some of your greatest fears?
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookishrainbow #bookishheart #bookspines #bookstack #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #worldliness
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
