Review: The Trylle Trilogy

Title: Switched, Torn, Ascend
Author: Amanda Hocking

Synopsis:

When Wendy Everly first discovers the truth about herself—that she’s a changeling switched at birth—she knows her life will never be the same. Now she’s about to learn that there’s more to the story…

She shares a closer connection to her Vittra rivals than she ever imagined—and they’ll stop at nothing to lure her to their side. With the threat of war looming, her only hope of saving the Trylle is to master her magical powers—and marry an equally powerful royal. But that means walking away from Finn, her handsome bodyguard who’s strictly off limits…and Loki, a Vittra prince with whom she shares a growing attraction.

Torn between her heart and her people, between love and duty, Wendy must decide her fate. If she makes the wrong choice, she could lose everything, and everybody, she’s ever wanted…in both worlds.

That synopsis, basically, summarizes the entire series, haha.  Finn Holmes is the newest student at Wendy’s school, however, as she gets to know him, she finds that he’s her key into the world of Trylle, a fancy name for trolls (who aren’t actually as ugly as I pictured). Thrust into a world of war, and death, Wendy finds that the world of Trylle is more than meets the eye. Stuck in the middle of a fight for power and trying to gather her bearings on her own new-found lineage, Wendy is also, of course, having boy trouble. There’s Finn, who Wendy is not allowed to be with based on Trylle society rules, and then there’s Loki, a mysterious Vittra (an enemy troll community) whom Wendy finds herself growing attracted to throughout the trilogy.

This trilogy caught my eye. The covers here in Canada are different from the ones above (I really liked there ones… so I used them, haha), but they caught my attention nonetheless. The story was pretty well written. Although I did find that it was really romance based, it leads to other plot twists, which, in the end, add to the story itself. There were some moments that were really redundant, and that annoyed me, haha. People come to capture her, then she runs away, repeat with a twist, then repeat again…

However, that said, there was still something that seriously got me hooked to this trilogy. I really liked Tove (a royal in the Trylle society) and Loki. They’re funny and cool. They also balance out Finn’s stormy intensity. The story itself isn’t bad either: Amanda Hocking has created her own little world with these characters, and they’re fun, interesting, and different. Full of intense (sometimes random) romance, quirky jokes, sarcastic remarks, interesting twists, and a fair amount of action, this trilogy was addicting, to say the least, totally getting me hooked from the first prologue to the last epilogue. Yes, there are somethings that I’d like to change about the series, but they weren’t big enough to result in books being tossed against the wall. Do I recommend this trilogy? Definitely.

Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4.5/5
World Building: 4.5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 4.5/5
GoodReads Rating: ~4/5

Quotes:
I had called him out on being creepy, justifiably so, and it didn’t faze him at all. He didn’t stammer an apology or flush with shame and regret. He just kept looking at me evenly. Most likely, he was a damn sociopath, and for whatever reason, I found that endearing.
-Narrator [Wendy about Finn] [Switched]

“Did you think you could treat me like shit at a dance, then sneak into my room in the middle of the night and tell me that I’m a troll with magical powers, and I’d just be like, yeah, that sounds right.”
-Wendy [Switched]

“I don’t care where I come from or who you are. I can make you happy, and you make me happy. We could have a happily ever after.”
-Loki [Torn]

“Will you… I mean, do you want to get married?” Tove asked. “To me?”
“I, um…” I didn’t know what to say.
“If you don’t want to, nothing has to change between us,” Tove said hurriedly. “I asked because it sounds like a good idea to me.”
“Yeah,” I said, and I didn’t know what I would say until it was coming out of mouth. “I mean, yes. I do. I will. I would… I’ll marry you.”
“Yeah?” Tove smiled hopefully, and I nodded.
“Yes.” I swallowed hard and tried to smile back.
-Tove and Wendy (dun dun dunnnn~) [Torn]

“You should get married more often,” Loki teased. “It makes you feisty.”
-Loki [Ascend]

“Everything I went through,” he said. “For you. It was worth it.”
-;) [Ascend]

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Any Avatar fans out there? The blue people, not the benders.
-
What luck! We're at Animal Kingdom today and Pandora is doing a surprise soft opening! The rides are A M A Z I N G and the world is so beautiful 🌍 Just went on the Flight of Passage and it was so cool! I'm so happy right now 😄😄😄😄
-
Follow my story for more pics of Pandora!
---
#avatar #disney #pandora #animalkingdom #worldofavatar #vacation #disneyworld #flightofpassage #waltdisneyworld A long time ago in a galaxy far far away...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #starwars #series #trilogy #yoda #disney #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #epcot #missionspace Where fairytales are born 👑👠🎆
---
#disney #cinderellascastle #happilyeverafter #wishuponastar
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
