Review: Where She Went

Title: Where She Went
Author: Gayle Forman

Synopsis:

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future-and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

So for those who haven’t read If I Stay, it’s an excellent read. If I Stay was taken from Mia’s perspective after she and her family had gone through a fatal crash. As she tries to decide whether to stay in this world or to simply let go, we get a glimpse into her past memories and get to understand her.

Where She Went, on the other hand, is taken from Adam’s point of view. It is three years after the accident and Adam’s on a semi-self-destructive rage in New York. Unwilling to face the facts of his past, he never really moved on from Mia. His anger is now part of his music and burns through him. Virtually alone, Adam is fighting with his inner demons still trying to get past a love that left him behind.

See, some people are like ‘OMFG he’s so emo now’ blah blah blah. He kinda has a right? I know it’s been three years, but after the first year of wallowing in his depression, he finally picked up his instruments again and began writing songs. However, as time went on, he got more publicity than his band mates who blamed him for their lack of spotlight. That screwed that friendship over. Plus, he never really got the ‘I’m breaking up with you speech’ which left him wondering why. Add in a bunch of nosy reporters and stupid paparazzi crazies and I give him the pass to be as emo and self-destructive as he’d like.

I really liked this book, I don’t care what anyone else says. It was written well, I loved the story and the characters again, it was just great. The story is breathtaking, and it shows that sometimes stardom isn’t all its cut out to be. A quick read, but also a sad one (yeah I teared up), but I definitely recommend it.

Plot: 4.5/5
Characters: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Cover: 4/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.19/5

Quotes:
“You were so busy trying to be my savior that you left me all alone.”
-Mia Hall

‎”But still, I find the need to remind myself of the temporariness of a day, to reassure myself that I got through yesterday, I’ll get through today.”
-Adam Wilde

“But I’d do it again. I know that now. I’d make that promise a thousand times over and lose her a thousand times over to have heard her play last night or to see her in the morning sunlight. Or even without that. Just to know that she’s somewhere out there. Alive.”
-Adam Wilde

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Any Avatar fans out there? The blue people, not the benders.
-
What luck! We're at Animal Kingdom today and Pandora is doing a surprise soft opening! The rides are A M A Z I N G and the world is so beautiful 🌍 Just went on the Flight of Passage and it was so cool! I'm so happy right now 😄😄😄😄
-
Follow my story for more pics of Pandora!
---
#avatar #disney #pandora #animalkingdom #worldofavatar #vacation #disneyworld #flightofpassage #waltdisneyworld A long time ago in a galaxy far far away...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #starwars #series #trilogy #yoda #disney #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #epcot #missionspace Where fairytales are born 👑👠🎆
---
#disney #cinderellascastle #happilyeverafter #wishuponastar
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
