Review: Fire Study

Title: Fire Study
Author: Maria V. Snyder

[Again, SPOILERS from the last two books will be here (there’s not much I can do to filter it…] though I can say, I liked the first one the best… the second and the third were alright, but could’ve been better on some fronts)

When word that Yelena is a Soulfinder—able to capture and release souls—spreads like wildfire, people grow uneasy. Already Yelena’s unusual abilities and past have set her apart. As the Council debates Yelena’s fate, she receives a disturbing message: a plot is rising against her homeland, led by a murderous sorcerer she has defeated before….

Honor sets Yelena on a path that will test the limits of her skills, and the hope of reuniting with her beloved spurs her onward. Her journey is fraught with allies, enemies, lovers and would-be assassins, each of questionable loyalty. Yelena will have but one chance to prove herself—and save the land she holds dear.

Now this is where most of the action SHOULD happen. There’s betrayal, hurt, anger, and actually a fair amount of action. However, at this point, Yelena’s trying to deal with the idea of being a Soulfinder, the only one in the past 125 years (though many ‘Soulfinders’ were actually Soulstealers, so…) and now the rebel Sandseed clan is trying to take over Sitia. But who’s their leader? And how can Yelena and her friends defeat someone who they don’t know?

Exciting, action packed, and yet mildly irritating. Don’t get me wrong, I burned through this book like fire (haha…see what I did there? (yeah, I’m a loser)), but Yelena was so irritating. She has this insane power and instead of exploring it, she shuts it out. I noticed that as the trilogy progressed, she was getting more needy, more dependent on others (though that might just be building trust, but I liked the independant Yelena), and less confident in both fighting and magic. I hate those needy female leads, and in this one, she was edging on it. However, the awesomeness of her friends slightly made up for her lacking character. I really liked the end of the trilogy though. Not the VERY end per say [ ;) ] but the resolution of all these issues. I definitely didn’t expect the bad guy to be the bad guy (it was unexpected… and yet not, haha).

Something that I really loved Snyder for doing is creating novellas. Assassing Study was book 1.5 while Power Study was book 3.5 and Ice study was listed as book 3.6/4. It was nice being able to catch up on the characters after the series was finished and kind of kept the world alive.

It was a great series and I do recommend it. In the end, it was a good series, and it definitely keeps you thinking of it long after you’ve finished.

Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 4/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.96/5

Quotes:
The others had taken Valek’s return in stride, although Janco made a comment about Valek’s lack of hair.
“You ever notice how couples start to look alike?” he asked.
In a deadpan, Valek replied, “Yes. In fact I was just thinking how much you and Topaz resemble each other. It’s uncanny.”
-Valek and Janco

“Did you live here?” Leif asked.
I nodded, “For two years.”
“Where did you stay?”
“I had a room in Valek’s suite.”
Leif shot me an incredulous look. “Boy, you worked fast.”
-Leif and Yelena

He saw the inner glow. Impossible. Only magicians could see the light.
-Narrator [Yelena] (dun dun dun, who has magic powers now :o !?)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Review: Shadow Study | Between Printed Pages

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Ah! It was so good! I love the little guy who kept grabbing all the shiny things. I think it might be my spirit animal haha!
----
#fantasticbeasts #movie #harrypotter #fantasticbeastsandwheretofindthem #ticket I went out to support my friend at her fourth year Fine Arts exhibition today! The art was beautiful and I couldn't resist purchasing the catalogue containing all of their artist statements and pieces!
-
Check out her work @shairyourstory!
---
#uwaterloolife #uwaterlooarts #ignite #finearts #leaves #catalog #nailart #bookstagram #books #foilprint I've never actually lit a candle for fear of setting the house on fire. So my roommate lit this one.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #flowers #openbook #paper #candle #bookstagrammer #ballsy #scaredycat
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
