Review: The Calling

Title: The Calling
Author: Kelley Armstrong

Maya Delaney’s paw-print birthmark is the sign of what she truly is—a skin-walker. She can run faster, climb higher, and see better than nearly anyone else. Experiencing intense connections with the animals that roam the woods outside her home, Maya knows it’s only a matter of time before she’s able to Shift and become one of them. And she believes there may be others in her small town with surprising talents. 

Now, Maya and her friends have been forced to flee from their homes during a forest fire they suspect was deliberately set. Then they’re kidnapped, and after a chilling helicopter crash, they find themselves in the Vancouver Island wilderness with nothing but their extraordinary abilities to help them get back home.

Posting this earlier than I expected ’cause my computer decided to cooperate…

I got the opportunity to go to Kelley Armstrong’s signing for The Calling, and the Indigo location (Yorkdale) was selling the books so people could get them signed. The book’s set to release on April 10th 2012 (Tuesday!). Anyways, I’ve finished the novel so here we go~

The book starts our where The Gathering left off: on the helicopter. Maya and her friends are seriously freaked out after that forest fire (remember that?) and are anticipating to land and reunite with the rest of their family. However, they notice something’s off. They’re not going the right way. After knocking out the pilot, accidentally opening the door (resulting in someone falling out plunging to their ‘death’ (remember there’s always room for doubt)), and crash landing the helicopter, the characters find themselves in what they think is northern B.C. Now they’re trying to find their way back to Salmon Creek, back to their families. Dealing with the loss of their friends and run-ins with the people who are supposedly trying to kill them, they begin to unlock/discover their powers.

This sequel is another hit, filled with action, adventure, self discovery, and loss. There is definitely less romance than the first novel, but it’s just as amazing! The only thing that kills me is that the last book won’t be released until NEXT YEAR /dead. Ah well, I’ll just re-read this a million times (:

Plot: 4.5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.11/5

Quotes:
(The BACK of the book (I’m not revealing anything you won’t read on the cover (Nothing important at least)))
A crack and a rush of air. Nicole shrieked. This time, Hayley joined her.
“The door!” Corey said. “The door’s open!”
“Hang on!” Daniel yelled at him. “Maya, grab Kenjii!”
I lunged for the dog’s collar, and just then I heard a gasp. Everyone was yelling and wind rushed through the half-open door and I shouldn’t have heard anything. But I heard that gasp.
“Rafe!” I screamed.
I shouted at Nicole to grab him. But as I turned, I saw a blur of motion. Rafe, sailing across the floor of the helicopter.
Out the open door.
-Nicole, Daniel, Maya, Hayley, and Corey

“Ariel sang in The Little Mermaid,” Corey said.
Sam came over to join us. “Do I even want to know why you remember her name?”
-Corey and Sam

“I screwed up,” I said. “I’m sorry.”
“You got the truck,” Corey said. “Seems like it worked to me.”
“Yes, please make her stop,” Sam called from the truck. “She’s been apologizing since we got away and it’s really getting on my nerves.”
-Maya, Sam, and Corey

Leave a comment

Filed under Trilogies

Leave a Reply

