Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Title: The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now. 

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault. 

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

Hazel is a cancer patient. She relies on an oxygen tank to feed her oxygen because (her words) her lungs just sucked at being lungs. After a battle with cancer, scientists had come up with a medication that could stop the growth of her tumor. Saved by this phenomenon, Hazel lives life (almost) like any normal teenager. She takes college classes, has a few friends, and watches America’s Next Top Model. As the summary says “ENTER AUGUSTUS WATERS”. A cancer patient in remission, Augustus helps Hazel see the world from a different perspective. Obsessed with the metaphoric meanings behind his every action, Augustus is a bright, sarcastic, and likable character.

The Fault in Our Stars: a novel about kids with cancer. Also, a novel that I could not help but laugh due it’s words, marvel at due to its knowledge, and cry because of, well, the character’s lives and the end of them. As per usual, John Green created a great novel. What I loved (personally) was that he used a lot of stuff that I knew. “The Red Wheelbarrow” by William Carlos Williams was mentioned, which I read and analyzed in my Writer’s Craft class, and he mentioned existentialism, and Søren Kierkegaard, a philosopher whom I studied a little. It was cool that I knew so much (made me feel a bit smarter and helped me connect).

On another note, I thought that, for a book about teenagers with cancer, it was quite funny, a lot of fun, somewhat depressing, and quite a good novel. I love this book. Sure, the idea’s not original, but what ideas are these days. (I’m addressing that, because people have noted it on other sites that it’s not ‘original’) But stories don’t have to be original. What makes a story great (in my opinion) is that it makes you feel something. So, not, it’s not original, but I thought it was a fantasmic books (;

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 4/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.52/5

Quotes:
(I didn’t tell him that the diagnosis came three months after I got my first period. Like: Congratulations! You’re a woman. Now die.)
-Narrator [Hazel]

Even so, I told Augustus. “My favorite book is probably An Imperial Affliction,” I said.
“Does it feature zombies?” he asked.
“No,” I said.
“Stormtroopers?”
I shook my head. “It’s not that kind of book.”
He smiled. “I am going to read this terrible book with the boring title that does not contain stormtroopers,” he promised.
-Augustus and Hazel

“It’s Thursday, March twenty-ninth!” she basically screamed, a demented smile plastered to her face.
“You are really excited about knowing the date!” I yelled back.
-Hazel and her mother

“All salvation is temporary,” Augustus shot back. “I bought them a minute. Maybe that’s the minute that buys them an hour, which is the hour that buys them a year. No one’s gonna buy them forever, Hazel Grace, but my life bought them a minute. And that’s not nothing.”
-Augustus

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I wish I could go through books like these. Mind, it’s not that I don’t see any merit or worth in them; it’s just that sometimes I feel too much. If you put a book like this in front of me it’s like an invitation to get depressed. Nonetheless, it’s something I could recommend to my students. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,036 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    I loved The Odyssey, so reading a modern retelling of it in The Sea of Monsters was a lot of fun for me. Probably my favourite random change was the guinea pig part, instead of pigs, on Circe's Island 😆🐹🐷
-
#literaryjune17 : Day 24
Retelling
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #orange #rickriordan #seaofmonsters #theodyssey #odyssey #homer #middlegrade #retelling #openbook #paper #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #junebookchallenge #junephotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads Another book on my #tbr. Yet again, I was drawn to the beautiful cover. Why are books so pretty 😰!?
-
#summerbookishcovers17 : Day 24
Mask
-
Also, last day to enter my giveaway! Check out the original post for details!
Open internationally.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #purple #openbook #paper #candle #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #junebookchallenge #junephotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookishstack #bookstack #pileofbooks #incarnate #jodimeadows As a kid, 13 Little Blue Envelopes was one of my favourite books. I loved that I could travel across Europe just by reading it. I reread it recently and it kind of killed the magic for me. I noticed editing errors, odd aspects that I just didn't get, and I sat here kicking myself for giving it a reread.
-
#summerbookishcovers17 : Day 23
Blue
-
QOTD : What's a book that you loved until you read it again?
-
Bookmark from @inapaperforest!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #green #ya #youngadult #romance #contemporary #contemporaryromance #booksofinstagram #booknerd #junebookchallenge #junephotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstagrammer
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
