Review: The Night Circus

Title: The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern

Synopsis

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night. 

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands. 

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead. 

Written in rich, seductive prose, this spell-casting novel is a feast for the senses and the heart.

In this novel, it’s survival of the fittest. Marco and Celia are thrust into this ‘game’ that Celia’s father and a man named Alexander toss them into without their knowledge. Neither of them understand that in the end, one must die while the other lives (sounds so Harry Potter). Competing against each other, unaware of the real stakes within the unwritten rules, Celia and Marco battle ’til the end.

It’s safe to say that this book enchanted me and I read non-stop until about page 280 when my mind kicked in and told me that it utterly sucked. However, I pushed on and in the end I found myself feeling like that book was pretty good. The description is absolutely vivid, but that also means that it takes up a fair amount of the book. There isn’t much dialogue and the story, to a lot of readers, might just drag on forever. I felt that it was cool, but hey, that’s just me. I liked that there was some second person narration (which you don’t really see much) and the fact that I had this image of EVERYTHING by the end of the novel. If you’re okay with A LOT of description then this is the book for you. I can’t say that it sucked, because honestly, it didn’t. To a lot of people though, they’ll hate it. I’ll admit, at some points it felt like the book was infinite but I liked the little tricks, the magic, the illusions and thought that the overall concept was enthralling and enchanting. Do I recommend this book for everyone? Definitely not. Those who are patient and like vivid and detailed descriptions will think this book is amazing. Those who like illusions will find it interesting. Those who like fast paced novels with a lot of action, expecting a duel to the death, well… you probably want to steer clear of this book and try something else.

Overall, I thought this book was good. I thought it was tied together well and that it was enjoyable. As with every book, this book depends solely on your taste in literature because I know that a fair amount of people will not be pleased while the others will be thoroughly impressed, but I guess you’ll just have to read the book to find out which category you fall under, haha~

Plot: 4/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 4/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.99/5

Quotes:
“She won’t tell me anything, and she barely listened to me when I tried to explain what we were asking. I could have told her we wanted to bring a flying hippopotamus along to keep as a pet and she would have said that was fine.”
-Widge

“‘There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy,” Celia quotes at him.
“Please, no Shakespeare.”
“I am haunted by the ghost of my father, I think that should allow me to quote Hamlet as much as I please. You used to be quite fond of Shakespeare, Prospero.”
-Celia and Hector

The face of the clock becomes a darker grey, and then black, with twinkling stars where the numbers had been previously. The body of the clock, which has been methodically turning itself inside out and expanding, is now entirely subtle shades of white and grey. And it is not just pieces, it is figures and objects, perfectly carved flowers and planets and tiny books with actual paper pages that turn. There is a silver dragon that curls around part of the now visible clockwork.
-Narrator (Detailed, no? Haha, this paragraph’s longer but I didn’t want to type the whole thing out.. but I thought this was the coolest description~)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,029 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    #bookishmusicals : Day 25
Annie Get Your Gun - Female sharpshooter
-
The first female sharpshooter I thought of was Ringer. I really liked the 5th Wave, and this sampler is what sold me on the series. I still haven't read the second or third book though...
---
#bookstagram #books #paper #5thwave #movieadaptation #movie #trilogy #rickyancy #ya #youngadult #dystopian #sciencefiction #scifi #fan #candle I'm at my sister's year-end showcase and all the models look so cool. Made me think of the Diamond Sisters covers with the geometric design. So of course I pulled out my copy and snapped a picture haha.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #architecture #models #ryersonuniversity #michellemadow #diamondsintherough #bookishmusicals : Day 24
King and I - Royal and a commoner
-
Doesn't a killing machine count as a commoner? For the sake of this post, I'd say yes. Really loved this book, but I was kind of sad that it was turned into a series... I hope it's not simply because the book did well that it got a sequel...
---
#bookstagram #books #recommendation #ya #youngadult #fantasy #series #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #aprilbookchallenge #prompts
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
