Review: Bloodlines

Title: Bloodlines
Author: Richelle Mead

Synopsis:

I wasn’t free from my past, not yet.

Sydney’s blood is special. That’s because she’s an alchemist—one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives. But the last encounter Sydney had with vampires got her in deep trouble with the other alchemists. And now with her allegiances in question, her future is on the line.

When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse.  Jill Dragomir—the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir—is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the unlikeliest of places—a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. The last thing Sydney wants is to be accused of sympathizing with vampires. And now she has to live with one.

The Moroi court believe Jill and Sydney will be safe at Amberwood Prep, but threats, distractions, and forbidden romance lurk both outside—and within—the school grounds. Now that they’re in hiding, the drama is only just beginning.

Okay, I absolutely loved, loved, loved this book. Starring Sydney Sage, a character first introduced to Mead fans in the Vampire Academy series, this book was way better than the VA series… in my opinion… Is it because there’s more action? Not really… actually, there might have been less. Is it because there’s a LACK of love? HAHAHA no way man, I’m a sucker for a good romance. Is it ’cause there A LOT more ADRIAN? Yes… yes indeed /blush. Of all the male characters I’ve read about and grown to love, Adrian is probably my only fictional, absolutely unattainable crush, haha.

Anyways… the book. We see Sydney, Eddie, Jill, Adrian, and even a little bit of Rose and her father, Abe, at the beginning of the novel. We’re also introduced to Keith, an irritating guy whom seems to hate Sydney as much as Sydney hates him. We also meet Lee and Clarence, two Moroi (full vampires), who have taken refuge in Palm Springs from the vampire council. Jill is on someone’s hit list and Sydney and Eddie have been directed to keep her safe. Secrets are exposed as well as necks and blood, and this book is just awesome (: There’s not too much violence in this book, though I’m sure there’ll be more later on. Right now, I think Mead’s setting up everything, readying the triggers that’ll set off a chain reaction through the series. There’s a lot of part many would consider ‘slow’ or ‘boring’ or ‘useless’ even, but in my opinion it was all necessary. I can not wait for the next book! More Adrian SYDNEY ! (:

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.28/5

Quotes:
“Is that really your brother?” he demanded.
“Yes,” I said, hoping I sounded convincing.
“When you said he was looking for a job, I pictured a male version of you. I figured he’d want to color code the cups or something.”
“What’s your point?” I asked.
Trey shook his head. “My point is that you’d better keep looking. I was just back there and overhead him talking with my manager. She was explaining the cleanup he would have to do each night. Then he said something about his hands and manual labor.”
-Trey and Sydney

“I think we both know,” said Adrian cunningly. “I want the color. I want the ‘bonus effects.’ And I want it to look badass. You probably can’t even do the design I want.”
“That’s the least of your worries,” said the guy. “I’ve been doing this for years. I can draw anything you want.”
“Yeah? Can you draw a skeleton riding a motorcycle with flames coming out of it? And I want a pirate hat on the skeleton. And a parrot on his shoulder. A skeleton parrot. Or maybe a ninja skeleton parrot? No, that would be overkill. But it’d be cool if the biker skeleton could be shooting some ninja throwing stars. That are on fire.”
-Adrian and a tattoo artist

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,016 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I finally got Fire! I read it years ago after I first read Graceling and I loved it! Excited to read it again!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #fall #fallintofall #ya #youngadult #fantasy #series #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks When the weather is against you, and the lighting sucks...
-
So in love with this cover by the way. I need to put myself on a book ban. I don't have enough money for all these books... Either that or I need a job.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #thestrangecaseofthealchemistsdaughter #ebook #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #tea Check out this awesome giveaway by @thecaffeinatedbook #thecaffeinatedgiveaway 😄 I just dropped a puddle of water on this book, so here it is when it was still pretty 😫
-
Thanks everyone for entering my giveaway! It's closed now 😊 I'll tally up the entries and play the random number game. Good luck! 🍀
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #theboneseason #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookstairs Two more days! Check out my original post for details!
---
#bookstagram #books #giveaway #bookishgiveaway #bookgiveaway #internationalgiveaway #withoutmerit #colleenhoover Our Dark Duet still remains on my TBR list. School makes reading for fun really hard...
-
QOTD: What's your favourite time of day?
AOTD: 7AM, though I'm rarely conscious at that time, when I am the world is so beautiful 🌅
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #ya #youngadult #dystopian #paranormal #ourdarkduet #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #thissavagesong #veschwab #victoriaschwab #reddoorstudio It's a gloomy day today, but I need to get stuff done. There's something about cold weather and fog that just makes me want to curl up in bed and never leave!
-
QOTD: What's your favourite bookstore?
AOTD: Mine is either Fanfare Books or BMV. I love Indigo too, but I enjoy supporting the smaller companies!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #asteptowardsfalling #cammiemcgovern #youngadult #ya #contemporaryromance #romance #contemporary #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog #igbooks #openbook I've never read anything by Samantha Young, but this cover strong armed me into buying the book 😋. I'm excited to get started! 📖📚
-
Also, happy Canadian Thanksgiving friends 😄🍁
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #playon #samanthayoung #candle #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookstairs #ebook #jojomoyes #rosamundhodge #nakedbooks #thanksgiving I'm excited for the next book in @coracarmack's Stormheart series! And this cover is so beautiful 😍😍
-
Less than a week left to enter my giveaway btw! Check my feed for the post!
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #orange #rage #roar #stormheart #series #sequel #fall #giveaway #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #ebook
  • Twitterley-Do-Da

  • Facebook

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • Web
Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter
