Review: I am Number Four

Title: I Am Number Four
Author: Pittacus Lore

Synopsis:

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books—but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. we have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four.

I am next.

So I gave into the hype. I just had to see what this book was about and I have to say, I really liked it. Nothing insane or stupid (for the most part) and everything in the book connects well. I really enjoyed the book because of it’s concept. It’s interesting. If you haven’t noticed, I’m a sucker for this supernatural kind of thing. I loved the way the author weaved the story line, layering it in such a way that it makes sense, but it’s still a mystery.

In the book, Pittacus Lore is the head elder of the Loriens. However, he and the other nine elders upped and disappeared one day. At that point, a savage species from another planet attacked the Loriens, killing off everybody and, later, destroying the planet. Only eighteen people got away, and they were given the task to lead the Loriens to a new future and begin replenish their race. Nine kids with powers and nine guides to show them the way. At least, that’s what all of them think. However, when Four begins to see images of another ship, another escapee, he begins to wonder, what else managed to survive?

It was an enjoyable book, and it deserves this hype. I definitely can’t wait to see where else Pittacus Lore, the strongest elder of the Lorien people, will take us next.

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 4/5
World Building: 4.5/5
Cover: 4/5
Overall: 4/5
GoodReads Rating: 3.90/5

Quotes:
“When you have lost hope, you have lost everything. And when you think all is lost, when all is dire and bleak, there is always hope.”
-Henri?

“We don’t have to be defined by the things we did or didn’t do in our past. Some people allow themselves to be controlled by regret. Maybe it’s a regret, maybe it’s not. It’s merely something that happened. Get over it.”
-Again… Henri? (I can’t tell!)

There is a crucifix, a few cloves of garlic, a wooden stake, a hammer, a blob of Silly Putty, and a pocketknife.
“You do realize these people aren’t vampires, right?” I say when Sam walks back in.
“Yeah, but you never know. They’re probably crazy, like you said.”
“And even if we were hunting vampires, what the hell is the Silly Putty for?” He shrugs. “Just want to be prepared.”
-Four and Sam

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,036 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I seem to have abandoned this month's challenge. I cannot adult and bookstagram simultaneously. It doesn't work for me. Luckily, I'm going back to school in a month!
---
#bookstagram #books #summer #flowers #outside #buryingwater #katucker #newadult #currentlyreading #bookishlove #goodreads Happy weekend everyone!
-
Oh man, I'm so not used to using my brain - two months of rest has made me soft. I come home from work everyday dead tired. I'm just going to put it out there that I will be pretty MIA the next two months thanks to my short term job, so sorry in advance!
-
QOTD: What was the weirdest thing that happened to you this week?
-
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookrainbow #bookishrainbow #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd One of my favourite series as a kid. Rereading it with my younger brother has been fun. The Heaps are just as chaotic as I remember haha 😄
-
#lyricallybookishjuly : Day 11
Paranormal books
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #blue #green #childhood #middlegrade #favourite #currentlyreading #series #openbook #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #julybookstagramchallenge #julyphotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
