Review: The Iron Fey

Title: The Iron King, The Iron Daughter, The Iron Queen
Author: Julie Kagawa

It’s really late on my side of the earth, so I will not do a separate part for each book. Just saying, so you don’t get confused.

The Iron Fey Series is about Meghan Chase, your everyday girl: she doesn’t stand out, she gets made fun of at school, and her best friend is Robbie Goodfell, a hilarious guy that can make her laugh easily. Sounds pretty normal, no? That is, until she turns sixteen. Suddenly she’s seeing people, or things, that were never there before, never should have been there in the first place. The worst shock of her sixteenth birthday is that her little brother, Ethan, has been kidnapped. However, to get him back is going to be much harder than she thought. Meghan learns from Robbie, who turns out to be Robin Goodfellow, also known as Puck from ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’, that Ethan has been taken by one of his kind; one of the fey. Venturing into this unknown world of Nevernever with Puck at her side, she is determined to find her brother. As they wander, they meet a very sardonic cat, Grimalkin, and a very cold winter prince, Ash. Through her journey, Meghan learns that she is half human and half fey, her father being the King of the Seelie Court. However, she doesn’t allow anything to slow her down from finding her brother.

As she ventures on her quest, she unearths a great secret: a new court is forming and the inhabitants are made of iron.

(This cuts on the drama a little, but if you’re not familiar with the faerie lore, then I figure I should fill you in: Iron is like the faeries’ kryptonite, they’re extremely weakened by it and if they come in contact with it, they have a high chance of dying.)

I found this series intriguing as Julie Kagawa weaves the intense world of Nevernever. With her new species, the Iron fey, she also brings a new land for readers to explore. Basing some of her characters from Shakespeare’s ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’, she creates interesting characters and an interesting story line.

The thing I loved about this series is that it’s different. The world of Nevernever is created through the dreams of mortals, by their stories and lore, the world delicately weaved through the mortal minds. It’s a unique concept, and it captured my attention immediately. The way she developed her characters was well done too. She made them all unique and gave them each something that would differentiate them from one another. To Puck, she gave him an entertaining wit that kept readers laughing as well as an interesting ability. On the other hand, she kept Ash quiet and brooding as he follows them all on their adventure. To Meghan, she gave the most unique power, though I’m not going to reveal them here, that’d ruin the fun.

I heard of this series from a contest a blog site was holding. They were trying to determine the hottest book character of 2011, and Ash was one of the contestants. As I read through his character description, I became curious and went out to get the books. Upon reading them, I was instantly hooked.

My mind’s not the sanest at 1 AM in the morning, but I must say that I enjoyed this series immensely.

Before I start posting random quotes, I’d like to point out that Kagawa released two novellas, “Winter’s Passage” which is book ’1.5′ of the series, and it is taken from Ash’s point of view. The other novella is “Summer’s Crossing” which is taken from Puck’s point of view and is books ’3.5′ of the series. Also, the final book of the series, “The Iron Knight”, which is taken from Ash’s point of view, is coming out October 25th, 2011.

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: ~4.17/5

Quotes:
“Oh, we’re playing nice now? Shall we have tea first? Brew up a nice pot of kiss-my-ass?”
-Puck [The Iron King]

“Bravo,” said Grimalkin, peering down from Cold Tom’s chest. “The Winter prince and Oberon’s jester agreeing on something. The world must be ending.”
-Grimalkin [The Iron King]

“You are my heart, my life, my entire existence.”
-Ash [The Iron Queen]

“Looks like nobody’s home,” Puck said, turning in a slow circle. “Hellooooooooo? Anybody here?”
“Be quiet, Goodfellow,” Ash growled, peering into the shadows with narrowed eyes. “We’re not alone.”
“Yeah? How do you figure that, prince? I don’t see anyone.”
“The cait sith has disappeared.”
“ … Crap.”
-Puck and Ash [The Iron Queen]

Puck whispered, smiling to soften his words. “I wouldn’t defy Oberon for just anyone. But, for you…” He leaned forward, touching his forehead to mine. “I’d come back from the dead for you.”
-Puck [The Iron Daughter]

“Don’t leave,” I whispered, tightening my hold. “Never leave me again. Stay with me. Forever.”
-Meghan [The Iron Daughter]

Leave a comment

Filed under Series

Leave a Reply

