Review: Eona: The Last Dragoneye

Title: Eona: The Last Dragoneye
Author: Alison Goodman

[If you have not read Eon, don’t read on, unless you like spoilers…]

Eon is now Eona, the Mirror Dragoneye, on the run from High Lord Sethon’s army. She is also struggling to bear the anguish of the ten dragons whose Dragoneyes were murdered by Lord Ido; as they focus their grief through her, she becomes a dangerous conduit for their power.
The three renegades are on a quest for two things: first, the black folio, stolen by the drug-riddled Dillon. And then they must also find Kygo, the young Pearl Emperor, who needs Eona’s power and the black folio if he is to wrest back his throne from the self-styled “Emperor” Sethon

The sequel to Eon, this book was like the first one, striking. It is now known to a selective few that Lord Eon is actual Lady Eona. However, whether male or female, she is still a Dragoneye, and one of the last ones at that. As she journeys with the resistance force, she must face challenges and hurdles far greater than those faced in ‘Eon’. Balancing his safety with a burning feeling for him, she must ensure that Kygo gets the throne. However, as they travel, she begins to feel something stirring within her, a voice telling her that she needs to do something that will kill Kygo, but will free the land and the dragons forever.

In this book, the plot is equally intense as the first novel. There is a partial love issue in this novel, however, it is a great part of the story line that helps the story along instead of forcing it to slow down. Yes, there are sometimes in the novel where I felt like tossing an anvil at Eona’s head, but it is her insecurity and mistakes that create a ’cause and effect’ sort of thing that carries the story well. It’s intense and crazy, and at some parts quite sickening and torturous. Is it worth it in the end? Yes. It truly is. I loved this book and Eon. A great duo of books in my opinion~!

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.15/5

Quotes:
“I have never heard a lady say ‘arse,’” the emperor said mildly.
“I haven’t been a lady for long,” I reminded him. A little demon–made of exhaustion and the emperors smile– pushed me into adding, “For five years I’ve been saying ‘arse.’ It’s hard to stop saying ‘arse’ after that many years. I suppose I should stop saying ‘arse,’ since ladies don’t say-”
“‘Arse’,” he finished for me.
I met his grin.
-Kygo and Eona

There was a saying that the strength of a man’s steel was only known under the hammer of circumstance. If anyone had asked me a few hours ago, I would have said that nearly five years of boyhood had hammered me into constant fear and excessive caution. But now I realised it had done the opposite. It had shaped me into someone who stepped forwards and reached for what she wanted. It was too late for me to tuck my hands behind my back and wait like a good woman.
-Narrator (Eona)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Ah! It was so good! I love the little guy who kept grabbing all the shiny things. I think it might be my spirit animal haha!
----
#fantasticbeasts #movie #harrypotter #fantasticbeastsandwheretofindthem #ticket I went out to support my friend at her fourth year Fine Arts exhibition today! The art was beautiful and I couldn't resist purchasing the catalogue containing all of their artist statements and pieces!
-
Check out her work @shairyourstory!
---
#uwaterloolife #uwaterlooarts #ignite #finearts #leaves #catalog #nailart #bookstagram #books #foilprint I've never actually lit a candle for fear of setting the house on fire. So my roommate lit this one.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #flowers #openbook #paper #candle #bookstagrammer #ballsy #scaredycat
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
