Review: Eon

Title: Eon; Eon: Dragoneye Reborn; Eon: Rise of the Dragoneye; Two Pearls of Wisdom
(Different Titles/Publishers, but all the same book)
Author: Alison Goodman

Eon has been studying the ancient art of Dragon Magic for four years, hoping he’ll become apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune. But he also has a dark secret. He is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been living a dangerous lie for the chance to become a Dragoneye, the human link to an energy dragon’s power. It is forbidden for females to practice the Dragon Magic and, if discovered, Eon faces a terrible death. But after a brilliant sword ceremony, Eon is catapulted into the treacherous world of the Imperial court, where his desperate lie comes to light …

Eon is the lowest of the low before the Dragoneye Ceremony. Crippled and poor, Eon is pressured to show his worth at the ceremony. Unbeknownst to him, he unlocks something unseen in the ceremony circle in more than 500 years. Suddenly praised for his amazing power, he is thrust unto the Dragoneye Council, clueless, and to his own confusion, powerless. Unable to control his power as the other Dragoneyes can, he panics and begins to search for a solution. Through his journey, Eon is confused as his true self, Eona, is held at bay, but only at the cusp of it. Trying his best to gain his power, Eon finds out that the only way to be truly powerful is to embrace himself, even though he has not been Eona for many many years.

This books is captivating. I loved it through and through because it wasn’t your cliche book. There wasn’t this stupid love triangle thing, nor was there any girlish idiocy. It was clear cut and amazing. There was a tonne of action and the book was fast paced and exciting. I couldn’t put it down. Yes, that phrase is rendered pretty much useless seeing as it took me a month and a half to finish the novel, but can you blame me? Exams + summer school = not much time to read. I didn’t even do that well on my exams … (self pity moment). However, this book was amazing. I know I say that about every book but this… it was different, refreshing. With series like The Mortal Instruments, or Shade, or Evermore, there is a story line, but it’s clouded by the romance. In this novel, there isn’t much romance because she is hiding her true identity. However, this book is empowering and intensely interesting. I definitely recommend it for guys and girls.

My favourite part of this book was the fact that Alison Goodman captured each character so well and was able to make them unique, interesting, and memorable. This book was extremely well done~!

Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
World Building: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Overall: 5/5
GoodReads Rating: 4.02/5

Quotes:
“I found power in accepting the truth of who I am. It may not be a truth that others can accept, but I cannot live any other way. How would it be to live a lie every minute of your life.”
-Lady Dela

“He grunted. ‘You have the courage of a warrior.’
I watched him turn away and gather the clothes from the ground. He thought me courageous? But I was terrified – always terrified.
‘No,’ I said flatly. ‘I don’t.”
He paused from stuffing the invaluable robe between two bales. ‘Are you frightened now?’
I nodded, shame flushing my skin.
‘Is it going to stop you?’
‘No.’
‘That is the courage of a warrior.”
-Ryko and Eon (Eona)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,036 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I seem to have abandoned this month's challenge. I cannot adult and bookstagram simultaneously. It doesn't work for me. Luckily, I'm going back to school in a month!
---
#bookstagram #books #summer #flowers #outside #buryingwater #katucker #newadult #currentlyreading #bookishlove #goodreads Happy weekend everyone!
-
Oh man, I'm so not used to using my brain - two months of rest has made me soft. I come home from work everyday dead tired. I'm just going to put it out there that I will be pretty MIA the next two months thanks to my short term job, so sorry in advance!
-
QOTD: What was the weirdest thing that happened to you this week?
-
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #bookrainbow #bookishrainbow #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd One of my favourite series as a kid. Rereading it with my younger brother has been fun. The Heaps are just as chaotic as I remember haha 😄
-
#lyricallybookishjuly : Day 11
Paranormal books
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #blue #green #childhood #middlegrade #favourite #currentlyreading #series #openbook #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #julybookstagramchallenge #julyphotochallenge #bookishlove #goodreads #bookstack #pileofbooks #bookblog
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
