Review: Prom Nights From Hell

Title: Prom Nights From Hell
Author: Stephenie Meyer, Kim Harrison, Meg Cabot, Lauren Myracle, Michele Jaffe

Another collaborated book, made of short stories that are, as the title states, about Prom nights that basically equal to hell. Filled with demons, devils, vampires, werewolves, oracles, deaths, and romance, these short stories are sure to blow you away. I really loved the other collaborated books that were made, and decided to read this one as well.

My favourite of the stories was probably Meg Cabot’s.

Lauren Myracle’s short was created with another short story in mind, The Monkey’s Paw by W.W. Jacobs. As the school curriculum required, I read the Monkey’s Paw in grade 9. Not the toughest nut in the shell, that story scared me. Lauren’s remix of the story was well done, and portrayed the original idea well.

Kim Harrison’s story was like a Prologue to her book ‘Once Dead, Twice Shy’. It worked out well, considering the horror actually started off at the Prom.

Michele Jaffe’s story was pretty good. It reminded me slightly of L.J. Smith’s Night World series, where it had a special team to help important night worlders. Alike to that, Michele Jaffe’s story is about a girl with supernatural powers who helps a girl she assumes is in danger. Not knowing who the girl is or what the crazy people around her wanted, she helps out. I really liked this story too!

Stephenie Meyer’s story, maybe it’s because I’m biased and I really didn’t like Twilight as much as other people did, but I didn’t love her short story. It wasn’t bad, no, but it wasn’t great. There was a mysterious air to it, but it was also slightly boring. Maybe it’s just me, and the fact that I don’t expect much from Stephanie Meyer’s writing, but it definitely wasn’t my favourite story in this book.

Leave a comment

Filed under Novels

Leave a Reply

