Review: The Hunger Games Trilogy

Title:The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Mockingjay
Author: Suzanne Collins

So the Hunger Games Trilogy. It’s amazing. All the ‘hype’ and total excitement for it actually can be credited to the books. Unlike some popular, but not so great series, the hype is placed just right. This series is amazing.
I got these books for X-mas, and I was immediately hook, just from reading the first page.

Hunger Games:
In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlaying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one girl and one boy between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has also resolved to outwit the creators of the games. To do that she will have to be the last person standing at the end of the deadly ordeal, and that will take every ounce of strength and cunning she has.

Katniss Everdeen is a sixteen year old girl who finds herself as a contestant in the annual hunger games. This trilogy is about Panem, the new name for America, after the world had fallen to ruins. The Capitol was in charge of all thirteen districts around it. However, after a rebellion long ago, district thirteen had been destroyed. Every year, to remind the districts who is in charge, the capitol holds the hunger games. In the games, they collect 24 tributes, all kids from the age 12 to 18, 2 from each district, one male and one female. They then put these kids in an arena. They’re job? To kill off one another until only one tribute stands. Their reward? Riches for the victor, and food for their district for the next twelve months (until the next hunger game)

*Spoilers ahead*

Catching Fire:
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

The Quarter Quell nears. The seventy-fifth anniversary of the Hunger Games. So what’s going to happen? Who’s going to find themselves thrust into the arena. Katniss finds herself in another dilemma, and needs to find her way out of this, while sparing the lives of those that mean the most to her. This time, however, there’s more than herself, more than Peeta. Unsure of what she started, Katniss has to finish it, and hopefully, she’ll live to tell the tale.

*Spoilers*

Mockingjay:
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

Katniss is in District 13. The one that was destroyed. The one that rebuilt itself on its own. The one that now leads the rebellion. With Katniss as the face of the rebellion, the story continues. New characters are introduced, old ones are brought back. Sadness, anger, and hatred rule over the story as the characters take charge and prepare to overthrow the Capitol. A truly amazing story.

This series is about survival, change, fatal experiences, and love. All the books I read have love in them… or at least the relationship is implied. Suzanne Collins does an amazing job intertwining love into this deathly story. She also creates a different world from the one we know today, even though it is our own.

They are also thinking of making this trilogy into a movie, the cast and premiere to be announced.

Quotes from the Hunger Games:
I’m coming back into focus when Caesar asks him if he has a girlfriend back home.
Peeta hesitates, then gives an unconvincing shake of his head.
“Handsome lad like you. There must be some special girl. Come on, what’s her name?” says Caesar.
Peeta sighs. “Well, there is this one girl. I’ve had a crush on her ever since I can remember. But I’m pretty sure she didn’t know I was alive until the reaping.”
Sounds of sympathy from the crowd. Unrequited love they can relate to.
“She have another fellow?” asks Caesar.
“I don’t know, but a lot of boys like her,” says Peeta.
“So, here’s what you do. You win, you go home. She can’t turn you down then, eh?” says Caesar encouraging-ly.
“I don’t think it’s going to work out. Winning . . . won’t help in my case,” says Peeta.
“Why ever not?” says Caesar, mystified.
Peeta blushes beet red and stammers out. “Because . . . because . . . she came here with me.”
-Caesar, Peeta, Narrator (Katniss)

‘Destroying things is much easier than making them.’
-Katniss

“I don’t want to lose the boy with the bread.”
-Katniss

“You’ve got about as much charm as a dead slug.”
-Haymitch

“Peeta, you said at the interview you’d had a crush on me forever. When did forever start?”
“Oh, let’s see. I guess the first day of school. We were five. You had on a red plaid dress and your hair…it was in two braids instead of one. My father pointed you out when we were waiting to line up.”
“Your father? Why?”
“He said, ‘See that little girl? I wanted to marry her mother, but she ran off with a coal miner.’”
“What? You’re making that up!”
“No, true story. And I said, ‘A coal miner? Why did she want a coal miner if she could’ve had you?’ And he said, ‘Because when he sings…even the birds stop to listen.”
-Katniss, Peeta

*Spoilers*

Quotes from Catching Fire:
“So it’s you and a syringe against the Capitol? See, this is why no one lets you make the plans.”
-Haymitch

Really, the combination of the scabs and the ointment looks hideous. I can’t help enjoying his distress.
“Poor Finnick. Is this the first time in your life you haven’t looked pretty?” I say.
“It must be. The sensation’s completely new. How have you managed it all these years?” he asks.
“Just avoid mirrors. You’ll forget about it,” I say.
“Not if I keep looking at you,” he says.
-Katniss, Finnick

“I’m so sorry,” I whisper. I lean forward and kiss him.
His eyelashes flutter and he looks at me through a haze of opiates. “Hey, Catnip.”
“Hey, Gale,” I say.
“Thought you’d be gone by now,” He says.
My choices are simple. I can die like a quarry in the woods or I can die here beside Gale. “I’m not going anywhere. I’m going to stay right here and cause all kinds of trouble.”
“Me, too,” Gale says. He just manages a smile before the drugs pull him back under.
-Katniss, Gale

*Spoilers*

Quotes from Mockingjay:
“You love me. Real, or not real?”
I tell him, “Real.”
-Katniss, ????

“Finnick?” I say, “Maybe some pants?”
He looks down at his legs as if noticing his outfit for the first time. Then he whips off his hospital gown leaving him in just his underwear. “Why? Do you find this”- he strikes a ridiculously provocative pose -”distracting?”
-Katniss, Finnick

“Ally.” Peeta says the words slowly, tasting it. “Friend. Lover. Victor. Enemy. Fiancee. Target. Mutt. Neighbor. Hunter. Tribute. Ally. I’ll add it to the list of words I use to try to figure you out.”
-Peeta

“Ladies and gentlemen…..”
His voice is quiet, but mine rings through the room.
“Let the Seventy-sixth Hunger Games begin!”
-Finnick, Katniss

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,022 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    I have a problem with finishing series. I don't want it to be over and so I loaf on it forever. I haven't finished a lot of series I've started, now that I think about it...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #ya #youngadult #dystopian #paranormal #ourdarkduet #dodocase #dodo #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks I bought an almost full set of Sherlock Holmes in traditional Chinese. I have no clue how to read them, but they're so cute and pretty, I decided I could always learn! (This coming from a person who studied French for 8 years and still doesn't know beans...)
-
QOTD: Which languages are you fluent in, and/or what language do you want to be fluent in?
-
I wish I were fluent in French and Canto (though I've been told that Mando is more useful), but I've barely mastered English and I majored in it...
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #sherlockholmes #traditionalchinese #comicbook #series #ya #youngadult #middlegrade #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #wanderlightscandleco School is getting busy so no more exploring for me! I'll probably run around more later in the term, but for now it's time to hit the books!
-
QOTD: Which city has been your favourite to travel to?
-
Mine would be Stratford, haha, I'm having a blast here (despite the school aspect).
-
Postcard by @nerdy.post
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #openbook #art #handwritten #handlettering #postcard #illustration #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #gameofthrones #nerdypostbox
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
