Review: The Darkest Powers Trilogy

Title(s): The Summoning, The Awakening, The Reckoning
Author: Kelley Armstrong

The Summoning
After years of frequent moves following her mother’s death, Chloe Saunders’s life is finally settling down. She is attending art school, pursuing her dreams of becoming a director, making friends, meeting boys. Her biggest concern is that she’s not developing as fast as her friends are. But when puberty does hit, it brings more than hormone surges. Chloe starts seeing ghosts-everywhere, demanding her attention. After she suffers a breakdown, her devoted aunt Lauren gets her into a highly recommended group home.

At first, Lyle House seems a pretty okay place, except for Chloe’s small problem of fearing she might be facing a lifetime of mental illness. But as she gradually gets to know the other kids at the home-charming Simon and his ominous, unsmiling brother Derek, obnoxious Tori, and Rae, who has a “thing” for fire-Chloe begins to realize that there is something that binds them all together, and it isn’t your usual “problem kid” behaviour. And together they discover that Lyle House is not your usual group home either…

This book was awesome. It really caught my attention from the beginning. Chloe is your average girl, however, one day, she starts seeing people that aren’t actually there. Thinking that she’s gone crazy, she gets put into a group home with a bunch of other kids: Liz, Victoria (Tori), Rachelle, Simon, and Derek. Each one with their own problem, and their own insanity. No, they’re not INSANE but who makes furniture fly and think that they’re being haunted by ghosts?

There’s the tiniest bit of romance (hardly even there), action, some horror, and a really awesome story line.

*spoilers ahead*
The Awakening
Book II in the Darkest Powers trilogy takes us deeper into a world where the supernatural intrudes on the everyday with riveting effect.

If you had met me a few weeks ago, you probably would have described me as an average teenage girl – someone normal. Now my life has changed forever and I’m as far away from normal as it gets. A living science experiment – not only can I see ghosts, but I was genetically altered by a group of people who call themselves The Edison Group. What does that mean? For starters, I’m a teenage necromancer whose powers are out of control: I raise the dead without even trying. Trust me, that is not a power you want to have. Ever.

I’m running for my life with three of my supernatural friends – a charming sorcerer, a cynical werewolf, and a disgruntled witch – and we have to find someone who can help us gain our freedom back before The Edison Group finds us first. Or die trying.

This is the highly anticipated sequel to The Summoning. It has a tonne of action and adventure, as the teens run for their lives from the Edison Group. They make their way from Buffalo to the fringes of New York, avoiding death and other inconveniences. Again, another awesome book by Kelley Armstrong!

The Reckoning
Only two weeks ago, life was all too predictable. But that was before I saw my first ghost. Now along with my supernatural friends Tori, Derek, and Simon, I”m on the run from the Edison Group, which genetically altered us as part of their sinister experiment. We”re hiding in a safe house that might not be as safe as it seems. We”ll be gone soon anyway, back to rescue those we”d left behind and take out the Edison Group . . . or so we hope.

The amazing finale to the Darkest Powers Trilogy. Another action packed book, where trust is put into the wrong hands. Where danger is around every corner for the four of them. Where a budding romance finally makes its entrance. Where running for your life is the only possible way to escape the danger chasing at your tail.

Kelley Armstrong completes a supernatural trilogy with a bang as The Reckoning makes it’s debut. This series is one of my favourites, and the favourite among many of my peers.

Quotes:
‘Derek caught my arm again as I started to move–at this rate, it was going to be as sore as my injured one.
“Dog,” he said, jerking his chin toward the fenced yard. “It was inside earlier.”
Expecting to see a Doberman slavering at the fence, I followed his gaze to a little puff of white fur, the kind of dog women stick in their purses. It wasn’t even barking, just staring at us, dancing in place.
“Oh, my God! It’s a killer Pomeranian.” I glanced up at Derek. “It’s a tough call, but I think you can take him.”‘
-Derek and Chloe

He pivoted, gaze following me as I crossed to the shower and turned on the cold water, so it would drown out our conversation without steaming up the room.
“Great,” he muttered.”Now they’re going to think we’re showering together. Maybe we can just tell them we were washing off the crawl space dirt and trying to conserve water.”
-Derek and Chloe

Simon: “Anyone ever tell you your sense of timing really sucks?”
Derek: “That’s why I don’t play the drums. Now what’s up?”
-Simon and Derek

Simon whispered to me, “But is everything okay?”
“No,” Tori said. “I kidnapped her and forced her to escape with me. I’ve been using her as a human shield against those guys with guns, and I was just about to strangle her and leave her body here to throw them off my trail. But then you showed up and foiled my evil plans. Lucky for you, though. You get to rescue poor little Chloe again and win her undying gratitude.”
“Undying gratitude?” Simon looked at me. “Cool. Does that come with eternal servitude? If so, I like my eggs sunnyside up.”
I smiled. “I’ll remember that.”
-Simon, Tori, and Chloe

*spoiler ahead*
“You were just worried about me”
An exhale, relieved that I had understood. “Yeah”
I turned. “Because you think I’m worth it”
He put his fingers under my chin. “I absolutely think your worth it”
“But you don’t think you are”
His mouth opened. Shut.
“That’s what this is about, Derek. You won’t let us worry about you because you don’t think you’re worth it. But I do. I absolutely do”
-Chloe and Derek

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,022 other followers

  • Upcoming

  • Goodreads

  • #bookstagrammer

    This cute cottage is a replica of the house Shakespeare shared with his wife Anne Hathaway!
-
Beautiful print from @nerdyaddictionshop's It's the Nerdy Life box!
---
#bookstagram #books #shakespeare #shakespearegarden #annehathaway #history #print #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #poster #postcard #art #bookblog I'm in love with the section pages of Caraval. I've heard so many great things about the book and now a part of me is afraid to read it... I mean, look at ACOTAR and where I ended up...
-
QOTD: What's a series that was super hyped up but just ended up disappointing you?
-
Candle by @wanderlightscandleco
Bookmark by @markingdreams
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #caraval #stephaniegarber #ya #youngadult #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #fan #bookblog #igbooks #openbook #bibliophile #bookmark #candle The Avon River cuts through Stratford and it's surrounded by a lovely pathways and patches of flowers! This place would kill me if it were spring time haha 💦
-
Bookmark by @nerdy.post 😍
---
#bookstagram #books #green #flowers #garden #shakespeare #shakespearegarden #avonriver #thehobbit #nerdypostbox #bookmark #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #bookishlove #booklover #bookblog
  • Twiddley-Do-Da

  • Facebook Page

  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
