Review: Raven

Title: Raven
Author: Allison Van Diepen

Zin dances with fire in every step, speaks in a honey-sweet voice, and sees with eyes that can peer into your soul. Nicole”s friendship with him is the only thing that saves her from the boredom of school and the turmoil of her family life. It”s no wonder she is madly in love with him. But she can”t understand why he keeps her at a distance, even though she can feel his soul reaching out for hers.

Zin is like no man Nicole has ever met, and he carries with him a very old secret. When Nicole uncovers the truth, her love may be the only thing that can save him from it.

Allison Van Diepen used the concept of Jiang Shi, Chinese for ‘stiff corpse’, in her story as the cover people made for immortals. It was very interesting, because well, I didn’t know what Jiang Shi were, and I’m Chinese. Anyways. This book was really good, and well written. There were a lot of parts in the book about dancing and the battles they had between dance groups. I could totally see this being a cool movie, kind of like Step Up but with a twist~

The story line was really well written, with smooth transitions between various parts. I really enjoyed this book.

Quotes:
‘Nothing ever goes back to normal. All that happens is your concept of normal changes.’
-Narrator (Nicole)

‘Ex-girlfriends are like car wrecks. You shouldn’t want to know the details, but you do.’
-Narrator (Nicole)

‘I approach customers and start taking drink orders. I like that he called me Raven. I like the darkness of it.’
-Narrator (Nicole)

‘I look up at the stars, drinking in a breath of cold air, exhaling white mist. “You’re a bartender, a dancer, a philosopher, and now an astronomer. Am I missing anything?”
“You’re missing a lot of things.”‘
-Nicole and Zin

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Ah! It was so good! I love the little guy who kept grabbing all the shiny things. I think it might be my spirit animal haha!
----
#fantasticbeasts #movie #harrypotter #fantasticbeastsandwheretofindthem #ticket I went out to support my friend at her fourth year Fine Arts exhibition today! The art was beautiful and I couldn't resist purchasing the catalogue containing all of their artist statements and pieces!
-
Check out her work @shairyourstory!
---
#uwaterloolife #uwaterlooarts #ignite #finearts #leaves #catalog #nailart #bookstagram #books #foilprint I've never actually lit a candle for fear of setting the house on fire. So my roommate lit this one.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #flowers #openbook #paper #candle #bookstagrammer #ballsy #scaredycat
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
